LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Christmas on the Mersey

by Annie Groves

Christmas on the Mersey Synopsis

An emotional and compelling wartime drama from the author of Only a Mother Knows and A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn. The phoney war is over and Hitler's bombs are raining down on the city of Liverpool. Rita Kennedy is forced to face some unpalatable truths about her husband, Charlie. But she must still play the part of dutiful wife, while her childhood sweetheart, Jack Callaghan, has shown her nothing but kindness. Can they keep a check on their emotions or will their friendship develop into something more? For Kitty Callaghan, burying herself in her work distracts from the constant worry about her brothers. Tommy is back from his evacuee posting after falling ill, but now he faces danger in another guise. And what about Danny, always ducking and diving and up to no good? And then there's Frank Feeny, the man she adores. Will they ever be together? With a Christmas of rationing and `going without' to look forward to, the women of Empire Street are being tested like never before. But their troubles are only just beginning...

Christmas on the Mersey Press Reviews

Praise for Annie Groves: `Heartwrenching and uplifting in equal measure - a tragic indictment of what can happen when you swap passion for duty. Roll on the sequel!' Take a Break `A stirring and heartrending family saga...Against a backdrop of change when the suffragette movement was coming to the fore, the choices and dreams of a generation of women combine to create this passionate story' Liverpool Daily Post `Written from the heart' My Weekly `An engrossing story' My Weekly

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007550821
Publication date: 20th October 2014
Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 400 pages
Categories: Sagas,

About Annie Groves

Annie Groves was a pseudonym of the much-loved writer, Penny Halsall, who was an international bestselling author of over 180 novels with sales of over 84 million copies. Sadly, Penny died in 2011. The final books in the Article Row series, Only a Mother Knows and A Christmas Promise, were completed posthumously by Sheila Riley. Born and raised on Merseyside, Sheila Riley is the eldest of seven children. At school Sheila quickly discovered her English exam grades could be improved by writing tales in the back of her exercise book, and so began her lifelong love of story-telling. Happily married to Tony, they ...

More About Annie Groves

More Books By Annie Groves

Cover for The Mersey Daughter by Annie Groves
Cover for Child of the Mersey by Annie Groves
Cover for A Christmas Promise by Annie Groves
View All Books By Annie Groves

Share this book