LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Second Sister

Paperback edition released 04/05/2017

by Claire Kendal

Thriller and Suspense Crime and Mystery Family Drama eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Second Sister

A sublimely intense, and heart-pumping psychological thriller. Ten years on from the disappearance of her older sister, Ella begins to uncover some potential leads, yet she feels that someone is watching her, waiting. The story is set over 20 days, I was immediately captivated as my mind started to try to piece together the information alongside Ella. Claire Kendal keeps the tension at an almost unbearable level, yet she writes with such beautiful compassion. The family story is as powerful as the fast paced action, and my brain was working on several levels as I evaluated the various strands. I found myself on high alert throughout, as I devoured the words, I quite simply suspected everyone and almost tied myself in knots! ‘The Second Sister’ is a clever and dramatic read, provoking minds into fevered action and striking at the very centre of your heart, highly recommended… ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

The Second Sister Synopsis

The chilling new psychological thriller from the author of the top ten bestseller, THE BOOK OF YOU, which was selected for Richard and Judy in 2015. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and DISCLAIMER. It is ten years since Ella's sister Miranda disappeared without trace, leaving her young baby behind. Chilling new evidence links Miranda to the horrifying Jason Thorne, now in prison for murdering several women. Is it possible that Miranda knew him? At thirty, Miranda's age when she vanished, Ella looks uncannily like the sister she idolized. What holds Ella together is her love for her sister's child and her work as a self-defence expert helping victims. Haunted by the possibility that Thorne took Miranda, and driven by her nephew's longing to know about his mother, Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth - no matter how dangerous...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780007531714
Publication date: 4th May 2017
Author: Claire Kendal
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Collections: 100+ Female Led Crime Fiction,
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/06/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! Not only is a bundle of Orenda Books up for grabs, we also have a £15 voucher for the winner to use on Orenda's new look website! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to June. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Source be Sarah Sultoon - Published 15th April Facets of Death by Michael Stanley - Published 29th April The Assistant by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 13th May This is How We Are Human by Louise Beech - Published 10th June Everything Happens for a Reason by Katie Allen - Published 10th June One Last Time by Helga Flatland - Published 24th June This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

The Missing
Behind Closed Doors
The Disappearance
The Kingdom

Claire Kendal Press Reviews

'THE SECOND SISTER is both a twisty thriller and a sensitively written story of a family stricken by loss and the fear of not knowing the worst. The strife between the remaining sister and her mother especially is depicted with heart-rending warmth and insight.'
Isabelle Grey, author of THE BAD MOTHER

PRAISE FOR THE BOOK OF YOU:

'Any thriller that has you checking over your shoulder and peeking from behind your curtains must be gripping so hats off to Claire Kendal's hard-hitting debut THE BOOK OF YOU for doing just this'
Stylist

'Both brutal and unbearably tense, THE BOOK OF YOU announces the arrival of a fierce new talent, a writer not afraid to grasp a woman's fears in stark detail and to invoke nightmares'
Daily Mail

'Clever, claustrophobic and chillingly good'
Good Housekeeping

'THE BOOK OF YOU starts with breathtaking brilliance and then just gets better with every page. Already my book of the year'
Elizabeth Haynes (author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER)

'Gripping with some very smart twists'
Woman Magazine

'A gripping read!'
Closer

'Addictive ... I literally hardly breathed as I raced to the end. It's a terrifying thriller'
Samantha Hayes (author of UNTIL YOU'RE MINE)

'Creepy and compelling . what happens when the wrong guy won't take no for an answer?'
Paula Daly (author of JUST WHAT KIND OF MOTHER ARE YOU?)

'Chilling, raw, and utterly addictive, THE BOOK OF YOU is the kind of psychological thriller that you will want to read in one gulp, only to find yourself terrified once the lights are off
Alafair Burke (New York Times bestselling author of IF YOU WERE HERE)

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780007531714
Publication date: 04/05/2017
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007531691
Publication date: 04/05/2017
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Claire Kendal

Claire Kendal was born in America and educated in England, where she has spent all of her adult life. The Book of You is her first novel. It will be translated into over a dozen languages. Claire teaches English Literature and Creative Writing, and lives in the South West with her family. She is working on her next psychological thriller.  

More About Claire Kendal

More Books By Claire Kendal

The Second Sister
The Second Sister
The Second Sister
View All Books By Claire Kendal

Share this book