Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Rest Is Noise Series: Dance of the Earth: The Rite, the Folk, le Jazz

by Alex Ross

Rest Is Noise Series: Dance of the Earth: The Rite, the Folk, le Jazz Synopsis

This is a chapter from Alex Ross's groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, 'The Rest is Noise'. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.Against the background of the carnage and upheaval of WWI, Europe saw the violent birth of a new musical avant-garde. Ross examines the search for novelty and authenticity by Stravinsky, Ravel, Bartok and Janacek.Now a major festival running throughout 2013 at London's Southbank, The Rest is Noise is an intricate commentary not just on the sounds that defined the century, but on art's troublesome dance with politics, social and cultural change.Alex Ross is the New Yorker's music critic, and the winner of the Guardian First Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award for The Rest is Noise, which was also shortlisted for the Samuel Johnson and Pulitzer prizes for non-fiction.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007519576
Publication date: 17th January 2013
Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Fourth Estate
Format: eBook

About Alex Ross

More About Alex Ross

More Books By Alex Ross

Cover for The Rest is Noise Listening to the Twentieth Century by Alex Ross
View All Books By Alex Ross

Share this book