LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Ice Child

Hardback edition released 10/03/2016

by Camilla Lackberg

Translated Fiction Thriller and Suspense eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Ice Child

A startling, clever and intensely dark tale set in a small Swedish town. This is the ninth novel with Detective Patrik Hedstrom and his crime writing wife Erica at the helm. Although you could read this as a standalone, it really is best to start at the beginning of the series with The Ice Princess. In ‘The Ice Child’ a number of girls have gone missing, one suddenly reappears with horrific injuries, Patrik and his team try to piece together the scant information they have. Right from the offset Camilla Lackberg allows insidious whispers and suggestions to creep into your mind, to set you thinking and considering possibilities. The writing is matter of fact, yet feelings and thoughts sit on the surface, to be tasted and explored. This feels like a jigsaw puzzle with the last piece sitting within sight but just out of reach. With cunning writing waiting to trip you up, ‘The Ice Child’ is a dramatic, sinister and enthralling tale.

Liz Robinson

The Ice Child Synopsis

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedstrom and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. January, Fjallbacka. A semi-naked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn't manage to stop. By the time Detective Patrik Hedstrom receives word of the accident, the girl has already been identified. Four months ago she disappeared on her way home from the local riding school, and no one has seen her since. It quickly becomes clear that she has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment. And it's likely she's not the only one. Meanwhile, Patrik's wife, crime writer Erica Falck, is looking into an old case - a family tragedy that led to a man's death. His wife was convicted of murder, but Erica senses that something isn't right. What is the woman hiding? As Erica digs deeper, the past starts to cast a shadow over the present and Patrik is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780007518333
Publication date: 10th March 2016
Author: Camilla Lackberg
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Collections: 100+ Female Led Crime Fiction,
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/06/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! Not only is a bundle of Orenda Books up for grabs, we also have a £15 voucher for the winner to use on Orenda's new look website! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to June. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Source be Sarah Sultoon - Published 15th April Facets of Death by Michael Stanley - Published 29th April The Assistant by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 13th May This is How We Are Human by Louise Beech - Published 10th June Everything Happens for a Reason by Katie Allen - Published 10th June One Last Time by Helga Flatland - Published 24th June This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Betrayal
The Man Who Died
Snare
The Crow Girl

Camilla Lackberg Press Reviews

Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

'The hottest female writer in Sweden
Independent

'Heart-stopping and heart-warming ... a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing'
Val McDermid

'Pacy ... with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche'
Sunday Times

'Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror'
Guardian

'Both chilling and thrilling'
Sun

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008165260
Publication date: 20/10/2016
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007518364
Publication date: 20/10/2016
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007518333
Publication date: 10/03/2016
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Camilla Lackberg

Born in 1974, Camilla Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University of Economics, before moving to Stockholm where she worked for a few years as an economist. However, a course in creative crime writing became the trigger to a drastic change of career. Her first six novels all became Swedish No 1 bestsellers. She lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her three children.   Author photo © Alma Alexander

More About Camilla Lackberg

More Books By Camilla Lackberg

The Ice Child
The Ice Child
The Ice Child
View All Books By Camilla Lackberg

Share this book