Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Michael Morpurgo

Ebook edition released 07/06/2012

by Maggie Fergusson

Michael Morpurgo Synopsis

The life of Michael Morpurgo OBE, as a biography, and autobiographical stories. Michael Morpurgo OBE is a national treasure. With books such as `Private Peaceful', `Kensuke's Kingdom' and `The Wreck of the Zanzibar' he has enchanted a whole generation of children, weaving stories for them in a way that is neither contrived nor condescending. His is a rare gift. In 2007, Michael's novel `War Horse' was adapted for the stage by the National Theatre. Five years on, it continues to play to packed audiences of all ages and has been turned into a blockbuster film by Steven Spielberg, propelling Morpurgo to household-name status. Michael's own story is as strange and surprising as any he has written, and is shot through with the same thread of sadness found in almost all his work. How did this supremely unbookish boy who dreamed of becoming an army officer become a bestselling author and Children's Laureate instead? What personal price has he paid for success? And why, amidst his triumphs, is he now haunted by regret? In a unique collaboration, Maggie Fergusson explores Michael Morpurgo's life through seven biographical chapters, to which he responds with seven stories. The portrait that emerges is one of light and shade: the light very bright, the shade complex and often painful.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780007478064
Publication date: 7th June 2012
Author: Maggie Fergusson
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Fourth Estate Ltd
Format: Ebook

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780007531769
Publication date: 12/09/2013
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007478064
Publication date: 07/06/2012
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

More Books By Maggie Fergusson

Michael Morpurgo
Michael Morpurgo
View All Books By Maggie Fergusson

Share this book