tudor queens series
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Dust and Steel by Patrick Mercer


Dust and Steel by Patrick Mercer

Thrilling military history from the author of To Do and Die.As the ship docked in Bombay, the shocking news of the rising by the Indian mutineers and their massacre of women, children and civilians reached Anthony Morgan and his company. Even so, they were hardly prepared for what they now faced in this country, so unknown to them, where they found it hard to understand who was friend or foe among the native troops.Morgan himself has another quest. On discovering that the son he had fathered, his child's mother and her husband, Morgan's old sergeant, are captives up in the hills where the enterprising Rhani of Jansi is building up her force against old comers, he is determined to find a way to rescue them and lead them to safety.A gripping tale of one of the great challenges to the Victorian Empire, and the difficult dilemmas of a soldier torn between orders and honor.


Praise for To Do and Die:'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war
Daily Mail

`A tremendous achievement by a storyteller who knows the humour, the fear and the frenzy of men in battle.
Bernard Cornwell

`Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth . His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed'Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn`An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?'Military Illustrated`Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel'Soldier magazine

About the Author

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army. He commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, Patrick Mercer accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme. In the 2001 election, he won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

6th January 2011


Patrick Mercer

More books by Patrick Mercer
Author 'Like for Like'


HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


400 pages


Historical fiction



The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman