Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

book price comparison rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Skull and Bones by John Drake
  

Synopsis

Skull and Bones by John Drake

The third in the rip-roaring adventure series of Treasure Island prequels for fans of Pirates of the Caribbean and Flashman When infamous 'gentleman of fortune' Captain Flint is captured by the Royal Navy and condemned to hang for mutiny and piracy, it seems that the secret location of his buried treasure will die with him. But Flint has an audacious plan to gain command of ship and crew before they reach London and escape the hangman's noose. Meanwhile, aboard Flint's former vessel The Walrus, Long John Silver seeks one final prize before retiring from privateering. However his wife Selena has jumped ship to pursue a career on the London stage - only to fall into a trap - so Silver must give chase to save the woman he loves. Once more Flint and Silver's paths are converging ... and it will bring them a vast fortune or certain death.

Reviews

Praise for Flint & Silver:

`Flint & Silver contains the essential ingredients to attract a worldwide following
Western Morning News



`An epic tale of friendship and treason
The Sea



`Swashbuckling adventure on the high seas doesn't get much better than this. If you loved Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island as a kid - and who didn't? - then you will absolutely love this not-for-kids prequel. John Drake writes beautifully, and you'll be torn between savoring the words and quickly flipping the pages. Any favorable comparison to Stevenson or Patrick O'Brian is totally justified
Nelson DeMille

About the Author

John Drake lives in Cheshire with his family. His hobbies and interests include muzzle-loaded shooting, history and politics. The Flint and Silver series was inspired by the many unanswered questions left by Robert Louis Stevenson's much-loved classic, Treasure Island.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2011

Author

John Drake

More books by John Drake
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Historical adventure

ISBN

9780007268993

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools