Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

Skull and Bones by John Drake


Skull and Bones by John Drake

The third in the rip-roaring adventure series of Treasure Island prequels for fans of Pirates of the Caribbean and Flashman When infamous 'gentleman of fortune' Captain Flint is captured by the Royal Navy and condemned to hang for mutiny and piracy, it seems that the secret location of his buried treasure will die with him. But Flint has an audacious plan to gain command of ship and crew before they reach London and escape the hangman's noose. Meanwhile, aboard Flint's former vessel The Walrus, Long John Silver seeks one final prize before retiring from privateering. However his wife Selena has jumped ship to pursue a career on the London stage - only to fall into a trap - so Silver must give chase to save the woman he loves. Once more Flint and Silver's paths are converging ... and it will bring them a vast fortune or certain death.


Praise for Flint & Silver:

`Flint & Silver contains the essential ingredients to attract a worldwide following
Western Morning News

`An epic tale of friendship and treason
The Sea

`Swashbuckling adventure on the high seas doesn't get much better than this. If you loved Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island as a kid - and who didn't? - then you will absolutely love this not-for-kids prequel. John Drake writes beautifully, and you'll be torn between savoring the words and quickly flipping the pages. Any favorable comparison to Stevenson or Patrick O'Brian is totally justified
Nelson DeMille

About the Author

John Drake lives in Cheshire with his family. His hobbies and interests include muzzle-loaded shooting, history and politics. The Flint and Silver series was inspired by the many unanswered questions left by Robert Louis Stevenson's much-loved classic, Treasure Island.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

31st March 2011


John Drake

More books by John Drake
Author 'Like for Like'


HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


400 pages


Historical adventure



The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper