join us on facebook desmond elliott 2017 likeyoulove
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Skull and Bones by John Drake
  

Skull and Bones

RRP £9.99

Synopsis

Skull and Bones by John Drake

The third in the rip-roaring adventure series of Treasure Island prequels for fans of Pirates of the Caribbean and FlashmanWhen infamous 'gentleman of fortune' Captain Flint is captured by the Royal Navy and condemned to hang for mutiny and piracy, it seems that the secret location of his buried treasure will die with him. But Flint has an audacious plan to gain command of ship and crew before they reach London and escape the hangman's noose.Meanwhile, aboard Flint's former vessel The Walrus, Long John Silver seeks one final prize before retiring from privateering. However his wife Selena has jumped ship to pursue a career on the London stage - only to fall into a trap - so Silver must give chase to save the woman he loves.Once more Flint and Silver's paths are converging ... and it will bring them a vast fortune or certain death.

Reviews

Praise for Flint & Silver:`Flint & Silver contains the essential ingredients to attract a worldwide following
Western Morning News

`An epic tale of friendship and treason
The Sea

`Swashbuckling adventure on the high seas doesn't get much better than this. If you loved Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island as a kid - and who didn't? - then you will absolutely love this not-for-kids prequel. John Drake writes beautifully, and you'll be torn between savoring the words and quickly flipping the pages. Any favorable comparison to Stevenson or Patrick O'Brian is totally justified
Nelson DeMille

About the Author

John Drake lives in Cheshire with his family. His hobbies and interests include muzzle-loaded shooting, history and politics. The Flint and Silver series was inspired by the many unanswered questions left by Robert Louis Stevenson's much-loved classic, Treasure Island.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2011

Author

John Drake

More books by John Drake
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Historical adventure

ISBN

9780007268993

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools