Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Angel of the North by Annie Wilkinson
  

Angel of the North

Family Drama   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

Hull, World War II, the angel is the eldest daughter, Marie, of an ordinary family. She is an auxiliary nurse. Her younger sister and brother are evacuated to escape the terrible bombings. Indeed the bombing devastates the family. Marie has love problems, sibling problems, life problems. All is very tough and yet, as this sort of book demands, she must pull trough. It certainly illustrates how difficult life was during the war years. It is good.

If you like Annie Wilkinson you might also like to read books by Lyn Andrews, Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.

Synopsis

Angel of the North by Annie Wilkinson

Who can she turn to when life gets tough? April 1941, Hull. Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it. But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe. Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support? A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

About the Author

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th November 2013

Author

Annie Wilkinson

More books by Annie Wilkinson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781471115370

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools