twitter make the most of Lovereading newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Angel of the North by Annie Wilkinson
  

Angel of the North

Family Drama   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

Hull, World War II, the angel is the eldest daughter, Marie, of an ordinary family. She is an auxiliary nurse. Her younger sister and brother are evacuated to escape the terrible bombings. Indeed the bombing devastates the family. Marie has love problems, sibling problems, life problems. All is very tough and yet, as this sort of book demands, she must pull trough. It certainly illustrates how difficult life was during the war years. It is good.

If you like Annie Wilkinson you might also like to read books by Lesley Pearse, Catherine King and Meg Hutchinson.

Synopsis

Angel of the North by Annie Wilkinson

Who can she turn to when life gets tough? April 1941, Hull. Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it. But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe. Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support? A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

About the Author

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th November 2013

Author

Annie Wilkinson

More books by Annie Wilkinson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Sagas

ISBN

9781471115370

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools