Angel of the North

by Annie Wilkinson

eBooks of the Month Family Drama

Angel of the North Synopsis

Who can she turn to when life gets tough? April 1941, Hull. Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it. But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe. Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support? A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

If you loved this, you might like these...

With a Kiss and a Prayer
A Family Secret
The Woman in the Wood
Dead to Me

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471115370
Publication date: 07/11/2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471115370
Publication date: 7th November 2013
Author: Annie Wilkinson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Annie Wilkinson

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

More About Annie Wilkinson

More Books By Annie Wilkinson

Cover for Winning A Wife by Annie Wilkinson
View All Books By Annie Wilkinson

Share this book