win prizes twitter
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens by Isobel Harrop
  

The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens

NewGen - YA Fiction   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Readers will empathise with this witty and honest journal of a girl getting to grips with impending adulthood. You'll find mini novels within the whole interspersed with sketches, photos and captions. It is a must-have for all hipster teenagers and anyone who appreciates the raw creativity of youth. It is by turns both enchanting and poignant. Adults too will enjoy it if they are still young at heart!!

A Piece of Passion from Emily Thomas, Publisher This is a very special book; a funny, profound and heart-lifting scrapbook in the vein of CHOPSTICKS and IMPORTANT ARTIFACTS, and with the narrative charm of Laura Dockrill.
But, as the name suggests, this is Isobel's journal and nobody else's. A diverse and delightful scrapbook of an eighteen-year-old student's life, loves and preoccupations. I spotted Isobel's witty and sometimes slightly heart-breaking tweets while scrolling through Twitter a year or so ago. Something about her sharply observational humour, her innocence and her intelligence really struck me. It seemed as though she was telling the truth about her life, in a refreshingly unguarded way, and her words stayed with me, so I got in touch.
So now, here are Isobel's sketches, photographs and captions, all of which beautifully encapsulate her wit, her life and her considerable artistic talent. I defy anyone not to laugh out loud, and cry a little bit by turns... A sweetheart of a book and one for all teenagers-at-heart (whether eighteen or eighty).

Synopsis

The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens by Isobel Harrop

The Isobel Journal is no ordinary snapshot of a contemporary teenage life.

A charming and vivid narrative scrapbook of the eighteen-year-old author's sketches, mini-graphic novels, photographs and captions, it captures her wit, her observations and her creative talent as she takes us through the three central themes in her life: 'Love', 'Friends, Art and Otters' and 'Me'. Resonant of Laura Dockrill's Mistakes in the background and with the powerful naive illustrative style of cult Japanese artist Yoshitomo Nara, this is a collector's gift for teenagers and all who have the teenage experience still in their hearts.

Reviews

This book is head and eye and mind bliss. I want to print every page onto a t-shirt and wear one everyday to show them off to the world. * Laura Dockrill * For something completely different, teenage girls will enjoy THE ISOBEL JOURNAL ... a witty snapshot of adolescent life today. * Daily Express * A fresh and charmingly frank portrait of teen life which perfectly captures the day-to-day realities of growing up, The Isobel Journal will leave readers excited to see what Harrop will come up with next. * Booktrust *


About the Author

Isobel Harrop

Isobel Harrop is an eighteen-year-old girl from the North West of England, squished somewhere between Manchester and Liverpool. She's just finished college, where she studied A-Level English Literature, English Language and Media Studies. She's got her fingers crossed to go to university next year to carry on doing English Literature somewhere a bit more interesting. This is her first book that wasn't made using the school photocopier and staples. Inspired by Peanuts comics and 1960s design, Isobel loves to draw whenever she gets a chance, with every piece of school work scrawled all over with drawings of imaginary people.

When she isn't working or drawing, you might find her fawning over cute animals on the internet (especially sea otters!), eating vast amount of chocolate in all its forms, and collecting stuff that she doesn't need from charity shops.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th November 2013

Author

Isobel Harrop

More books by Isobel Harrop
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Hot Key Books

Format

Paperback
208 pages

Categories

Art: general interest (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781471402272

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools