The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens

by Isobel Harrop

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults

LoveReading View on The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens

Readers will empathise with this witty and honest journal of a girl getting to grips with impending adulthood. You'll find mini novels within the whole interspersed with sketches, photos and captions.  It is a must-have for all hipster teenagers and anyone who appreciates the raw creativity of youth. It is by turns both enchanting and poignant.  Adults too will enjoy it if they are still young at heart!!

 

A Piece of Passion from Emily Thomas, Publisher  This is a very special book; a funny, profound and heart-lifting scrapbook in the vein of CHOPSTICKS and IMPORTANT ARTIFACTS, and with the narrative charm of Laura Dockrill.
But, as the name suggests, this is Isobel's journal and nobody else's. A diverse and delightful scrapbook of an eighteen-year-old student's life, loves and preoccupations. I spotted Isobel's witty and sometimes slightly heart-breaking tweets while scrolling through Twitter a year or so ago. Something about her sharply observational humour, her innocence and her intelligence really struck me. It seemed as though she was telling the truth about her life, in a refreshingly unguarded way, and her words stayed with me, so I got in touch.
So now, here are Isobel's sketches, photographs and captions, all of which beautifully encapsulate her wit, her life and her considerable artistic talent. I defy anyone not to laugh out loud, and cry a little bit by turns... A sweetheart of a book and one for all teenagers-at-heart (whether eighteen or eighty).

The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens Synopsis

The Isobel Journal is no ordinary snapshot of a contemporary teenage life.

 

                 A charming and vivid narrative scrapbook of the eighteen-year-old author's sketches, mini-graphic novels, photographs and captions, it captures her wit, her observations and her creative talent as she takes us through the three central themes in her life: 'Love', 'Friends, Art and Otters' and 'Me'. Resonant of Laura Dockrill's Mistakes in the background and with the powerful naive illustrative style of cult Japanese artist Yoshitomo Nara, this is a collector's gift for teenagers and all who have the teenage experience still in their hearts.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
One Would Think the Deep
Dark Tracks
The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471402272
Publication date: 07/11/2013
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471402272
Publication date: 7th November 2013
Author: Isobel Harrop
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 208 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction,
Categories: Art: general interest (Children's / Teenage),

About Isobel Harrop

Isobel Harrop is an eighteen-year-old girl from the North West of England, squished somewhere between Manchester and Liverpool. She's just finished college, where she studied A-Level English Literature, English Language and Media Studies. She's got her fingers crossed to go to university next year to carry on doing English Literature somewhere a bit more interesting. This is her first book that wasn't made using the school photocopier and staples. Inspired by Peanuts comics and 1960s design, Isobel loves to draw whenever she gets a chance, with every piece of school work scrawled all over with drawings of imaginary people. When ...

More About Isobel Harrop

Share this book