books of the month
Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens by Isobel Harrop

The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens

NewGen - YA Fiction   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Readers will empathise with this witty and honest journal of a girl getting to grips with impending adulthood. You'll find mini novels within the whole interspersed with sketches, photos and captions. It is a must-have for all hipster teenagers and anyone who appreciates the raw creativity of youth. It is by turns both enchanting and poignant. Adults too will enjoy it if they are still young at heart!!

A Piece of Passion from Emily Thomas, Publisher This is a very special book; a funny, profound and heart-lifting scrapbook in the vein of CHOPSTICKS and IMPORTANT ARTIFACTS, and with the narrative charm of Laura Dockrill.
But, as the name suggests, this is Isobel's journal and nobody else's. A diverse and delightful scrapbook of an eighteen-year-old student's life, loves and preoccupations. I spotted Isobel's witty and sometimes slightly heart-breaking tweets while scrolling through Twitter a year or so ago. Something about her sharply observational humour, her innocence and her intelligence really struck me. It seemed as though she was telling the truth about her life, in a refreshingly unguarded way, and her words stayed with me, so I got in touch.
So now, here are Isobel's sketches, photographs and captions, all of which beautifully encapsulate her wit, her life and her considerable artistic talent. I defy anyone not to laugh out loud, and cry a little bit by turns... A sweetheart of a book and one for all teenagers-at-heart (whether eighteen or eighty).


The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens by Isobel Harrop

The Isobel Journal is no ordinary snapshot of a contemporary teenage life.

A charming and vivid narrative scrapbook of the eighteen-year-old author's sketches, mini-graphic novels, photographs and captions, it captures her wit, her observations and her creative talent as she takes us through the three central themes in her life: 'Love', 'Friends, Art and Otters' and 'Me'. Resonant of Laura Dockrill's Mistakes in the background and with the powerful naive illustrative style of cult Japanese artist Yoshitomo Nara, this is a collector's gift for teenagers and all who have the teenage experience still in their hearts.


This book is head and eye and mind bliss. I want to print every page onto a t-shirt and wear one everyday to show them off to the world. * Laura Dockrill * For something completely different, teenage girls will enjoy THE ISOBEL JOURNAL ... a witty snapshot of adolescent life today. * Daily Express * A fresh and charmingly frank portrait of teen life which perfectly captures the day-to-day realities of growing up, The Isobel Journal will leave readers excited to see what Harrop will come up with next. * Booktrust *

About the Author

Isobel Harrop

Isobel Harrop is an eighteen-year-old girl from the North West of England, squished somewhere between Manchester and Liverpool. She's just finished college, where she studied A-Level English Literature, English Language and Media Studies. She's got her fingers crossed to go to university next year to carry on doing English Literature somewhere a bit more interesting. This is her first book that wasn't made using the school photocopier and staples. Inspired by Peanuts comics and 1960s design, Isobel loves to draw whenever she gets a chance, with every piece of school work scrawled all over with drawings of imaginary people.

When she isn't working or drawing, you might find her fawning over cute animals on the internet (especially sea otters!), eating vast amount of chocolate in all its forms, and collecting stuff that she doesn't need from charity shops.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th November 2013


Isobel Harrop

More books by Isobel Harrop
Author 'Like for Like'
Loading twitter updates...


Hot Key Books


208 pages


Art: general interest (Children's / Teenage)



Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!


Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney