eleanor oliphant Harry Potter House Eds second sister book price comparison join us on facebook
Search our site
Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett Read the opening extract of the brand new Jenn Bennett book before its publication on 27/07/2017

Runaway by Alice Munro
  

Runaway

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £9.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Reputed to be one of the world’s greatest writers and yet she only ever writes short stories, an art form I have little patience for as I do like to lose myself in a book. But these are different, they do stand out, they are very special and they have got to be read.

Comparison: There is nobody else who only writes short stories, so if you read her for those there is no other comparison but you could try William Trevor, Margaret Forster or Jane Yardley.
Similar this month: None.

If you like Alice Munro you might also like to read books by Elizabeth Bowen, Elizabeth Taylor and Edna O'Brien.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Runaway by Alice Munro

At the centre of Runaway are three stories connected into one marvellously rich, long narrative, about Juliet - who escapes from teaching at a girls' school into a wild and passionate love match; then returns to the home of her parents, whose life and curious marriage she finally begins to examine; while in the third part of her story, her vanished child turns up caught in the grip of a religious cult. The whole picture emerges only when all the pieces of the jigsaw are finally in place. The runaway of the disturbing title story is Carla, a congenital 'bolter', who has neighbourly fantasies that take on a frightening afterlife- Elsewhere, a stagestruck girl finds life is more Shakespearean than even she imagines; while Tessa, a young country woman with strange powers cannot foresee what will happen if she makes off with a plausible charmer. Munro's stories unravel layers of the past, and different versions of the truth: her characters learn that if you look too closely at anything - the past, the truth - it may crumble. Runaway is about the power and betrayals, and twists, of love, about lost children, lost chances. There is pain and desolation beneath the surface, like a needle in the heart, which makes them more powerful and compelling than anything she has written. Munro is a magician with words, but also with layers of life and emotion.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

Alice Munro's short stories have an epiphanic quality, in the tradition of Joyce and Chekhov Lesley McDowell, Independent on Sunday

About the Author

Alice Munro

Alice Munro is the author of The Beggar Maid (shortlisted for the Booker Prize) a novel and several outstanding collections of stories, including Open Secrets (winner of the WHSmith Literary Award), and Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage. Her work appears regularly in The New Yorker and she is a winner of the Giller Prize and the Governor General's Prize in her native Canada. She was awarded the 2013 Nobel Prize for Literature.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th January 2006

Author

Alice Munro

More books by Alice Munro
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

alicemunro.ca/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Vintage

Format

Paperback (b Format)
368 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Short stories

ISBN

9780099472254

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools