win prizes join us on facebook
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Goddess and the Thief by Essie Fox
  

The Goddess and the Thief

Historical Fiction   Books of the Month   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

December 2013 Book of the Month.

A beguiling, dark and sensual Victorian novel of theft and obsession from the author of The Somnambulist and Elijah’s Mermaid. The fates of an orphan, a Maharajah, a Mystic and a widowed Queen are drawn together in a plot to steal the Koh-i-Noor diamond. This well written Victorian historical fiction is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

If you like Essie Fox you might also like to read books by Anthony Quinn, Susanna Clarke and Tracy Chevalier.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Goddess and the Thief by Essie Fox

Uprooted from her home in India, Alice is raised by her aunt, a spiritualist medium in Windsor. When the mysterious Mr Tilsbury enters their lives, Alice is drawn into a plot to steal the priceless Koh-i-Noor diamond, claimed by the British Empire at the end of the Anglo-Sikh wars. Said to be both blessed and cursed, the sacred Indian stone exerts its power over all who encounter it: a handsome deposed maharajah determined to claim his rightful throne, a man hell-bent on discovering the secrets of eternity, and a widowed queen who hopes the jewel can draw her husband's spirit back. In the midst of all this madness, Alice must discover a way to regain control of her life and fate...

Reviews

Praise for Essie Fox:

'delights in the underworld and exotica of Victorian Britain...Memorable and unusual' Sunday Times on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

'An obvious comparison is with early Sarah Waters...Intriguing' The Guardian on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

'As seductive as a siren's song...Intoxicating...Recommended to all fans of Sarah Waters.' Heat on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

'The author captures the essence of Victorian life in this richly textured novel...hugely enjoyable. If you love all things Victorian, you will love this Historical Novel' Society

'Dark secrets, hidden pasts and childhood mysteries are the focus in this sensual melodrama...an entertaining slice of Victoriana, rich in historical detail' Marie Claire

About the Author

Essie Fox

Before taking up writing Essie Fox worked as an illustrator – designing greetings cards and wrap, and decorative ceramics. She is the creator of The Virtual Victorian www.virtualvictorian.blogspot.com a wonderful guide through the Victorian world. Her debut novel The Somnambulist was selected as a Channel 4 Book Club choice in January 2012 and was shortlisted in the New Writer of the Year category of the 2012 NATIONAL BOOK AWARDS. Essie Fox divides her time between Windsor and Bow in the East End of London.

Click here to read a Q&A with Essie Fox about Elijah's Mermaid.

Author photo © Graham Keuteniu

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th December 2013

Author

Essie Fox

More books by Essie Fox
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.essiefox.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback

Categories

Historical Fiction
Books of the Month
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781409146193

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools