tudor queens series
Search our site
The Heart of Mars by Paul Magrs Read the opening extract of the brand new Paul Magrs book before its publication on 15/03/2018

The Goddess and the Thief by Essie Fox

The Goddess and the Thief

Historical Fiction   Books of the Month   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

December 2013 Book of the Month.

A beguiling, dark and sensual Victorian novel of theft and obsession from the author of The Somnambulist and Elijah’s Mermaid. The fates of an orphan, a Maharajah, a Mystic and a widowed Queen are drawn together in a plot to steal the Koh-i-Noor diamond. This well written Victorian historical fiction is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

If you like Essie Fox you might also like to read books by Anthony Quinn, Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.


The Goddess and the Thief by Essie Fox

Uprooted from her home in India, Alice is raised by her aunt, a spiritualist medium in Windsor. When the mysterious Mr Tilsbury enters their lives, Alice is drawn into a plot to steal the priceless Koh-i-Noor diamond, claimed by the British Empire at the end of the Anglo-Sikh wars. Said to be both blessed and cursed, the sacred Indian stone exerts its power over all who encounter it: a handsome deposed maharajah determined to claim his rightful throne, a man hell-bent on discovering the secrets of eternity, and a widowed queen who hopes the jewel can draw her husband's spirit back. In the midst of all this madness, Alice must discover a way to regain control of her life and fate...


Praise for Essie Fox:

'delights in the underworld and exotica of Victorian Britain...Memorable and unusual' Sunday Times on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

'An obvious comparison is with early Sarah Waters...Intriguing' The Guardian on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

'As seductive as a siren's song...Intoxicating...Recommended to all fans of Sarah Waters.' Heat on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

'The author captures the essence of Victorian life in this richly textured novel...hugely enjoyable. If you love all things Victorian, you will love this Historical Novel' Society

'Dark secrets, hidden pasts and childhood mysteries are the focus in this sensual melodrama...an entertaining slice of Victoriana, rich in historical detail' Marie Claire

About the Author

Essie Fox

Before taking up writing Essie Fox worked as an illustrator – designing greetings cards and wrap, and decorative ceramics. She is the creator of The Virtual Victorian www.virtualvictorian.blogspot.com a wonderful guide through the Victorian world. Her debut novel The Somnambulist was selected as a Channel 4 Book Club choice in January 2012 and was shortlisted in the New Writer of the Year category of the 2012 NATIONAL BOOK AWARDS. Essie Fox divides her time between Windsor and Bow in the East End of London.

Click here to read a Q&A with Essie Fox about Elijah's Mermaid.

Author photo © Graham Keuteniu

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th December 2013


Essie Fox

More books by Essie Fox
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website


Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co




Historical Fiction
Books of the Month
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites



With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson