The Goddess and the Thief

by Essie Fox

Books of the Month - <b>August</b> eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Goddess and the Thief

December 2013 Book of the Month.

A beguiling, dark and sensual Victorian novel of theft and obsession from the author of The Somnambulist and Elijah’s Mermaid. The fates of an orphan, a Maharajah, a Mystic and a widowed Queen are drawn together in a plot to steal the Koh-i-Noor diamond. This well written Victorian historical fiction is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

The Goddess and the Thief Synopsis

Uprooted from her home in India, Alice is raised by her aunt, a spiritualist medium in Windsor. When the mysterious Mr Tilsbury enters their lives, Alice is drawn into a plot to steal the priceless Koh-i-Noor diamond, claimed by the British Empire at the end of the Anglo-Sikh wars. Said to be both blessed and cursed, the sacred Indian stone exerts its power over all who encounter it: a handsome deposed maharajah determined to claim his rightful throne, a man hell-bent on discovering the secrets of eternity, and a widowed queen who hopes the jewel can draw her husband's spirit back. In the midst of all this madness, Alice must discover a way to regain control of her life and fate...

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Closing date: 31/08/2018

We are offering THREE lucky people the chance to win the Series 4 box set of the hit ITV period drama (RRP: £24.99). 1796: To defend Cornwall and those he loves from an empowered George, Ross must learn to play the political game on a journey that takes him to the nation's capital and into new perils. While Demelza manages the Poldark’s affairs at home, Elizabeth moves to further secure her marriage. Drake struggles in resigning Morwenna to life with Osborne and the Enyses are tested as never before. Prime Minister Pitt calls an election and uncertainty grips the country. While Ross watches Cornwall suffer under the power of Truro’s MP, George Warleggan, Demelza’s infidelity leaves her strained between her husband and a lovesick Hugh, who is set to rival George in the upcoming election. The Enyses contemplate having a child and Elizabeth seeks the same to secure her marriage. Meanwhile, Morwenna uses Osborne’s affair with her sister Rowella to keep the reverend’s advances at bay and Demelza seeks to reconcile rival local Lords Falmouth and Basset. The draw closes on the 31st August and the winner will be notified by the 7th September.

Enter Now

The Goddess and the Thief Press Reviews

Praise for Essie Fox:

 

'delights in the underworld and exotica of Victorian Britain...Memorable and unusual' Sunday Times on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

 

'An obvious comparison is with early Sarah Waters...Intriguing' The Guardian on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

 

'As seductive as a siren's song...Intoxicating...Recommended to all fans of Sarah Waters.' Heat on ELIJAH'S MERMAID

 

'The author captures the essence of Victorian life in this richly textured novel...hugely enjoyable. If you love all things Victorian, you will love this Historical Novel' Society

 

'Dark secrets, hidden pasts and childhood mysteries are the focus in this sensual melodrama...an entertaining slice of Victoriana, rich in historical detail' Marie Claire

If you loved this, you might like these...

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell
New Boy (Hogarth Shakespeare)
Reader, I Married Him
At the Edge of the Orchard

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781409146193
Publication date: 05/12/2013
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409146193
Publication date: 5th December 2013
Author: Essie Fox
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Genres: Books of the Month, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction,
Categories:

About Essie Fox

Before taking up writing Essie Fox worked as an illustrator – designing greetings cards and wrap, and decorative ceramics. She is the creator of The Virtual Victorian www.virtualvictorian.blogspot.com a wonderful guide through the Victorian world. Her debut novel The Somnambulist was selected as a Channel 4 Book Club choice in January 2012 and was shortlisted in the New Writer of the Year category of the 2012 NATIONAL BOOK AWARDS. Essie Fox divides her time between Windsor and Bow in the East End of London.   Click here to read a Q&A with Essie Fox about Elijah's Mermaid.   ...

More About Essie Fox

More Books By Essie Fox

Cover for The Last Days of Leda Grey by Essie Fox
Cover for The Goddess and the Thief by Essie Fox
Cover for Elijah's Mermaid by Essie Fox
View All Books By Essie Fox

Share this book