eligible curtis sittenfeld tudor queens series granchester likeyoulove killer on the wall
Search our site
They All Fall Down by Tammy Cohen Read the opening extract of the brand new Tammy Cohen book before its publication on 13/07/2017

Reader Reviewed
An Englishwoman in New York by Anne-Marie Casey
  

An Englishwoman in New York

Family Drama   Debuts of the Month   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

October 2013 Debut of the Month.

Light, engaging and spotted with humour, this tale of a redundant husband relocating to New York with his wife and kids is not what I expected. Wife Lucy sulks, fair enough, but the marriage strengthens, life gets better, friends are made and all is good. The charm of this book is in all the different relationships, choices about child and work and mutual support. An honest, thoroughly pleasing look at modern life.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for An Englishwoman in New York a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'A snappy, funny and highly entertaining depiction of women finding their feet as they move into their 40s...' - Megan Olwen Williams. Scroll down to read more reviews.

If you like Anne-Marie Casey you might also like to read books by Jennifer Weiner, Candace Bushnell and Plum Sykes.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

An Englishwoman in New York by Anne-Marie Casey

This homage to the charm and romance of New York is a coming-of-age novel for grown-ups that will appeal to readers of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary, Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It and Melissa Bank's Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing. When Lucy's husband loses his job and is relocated to New York, she is forced to give up her posh London life and move to a tiny Manhattan apartment. Homesick and resentful at first, Lucy soon finds herself embarking on an exhilarating new affair - no, not with her husband, although she is surprised to find they do still love each other, but with the city itself and the three women she meets at the school gates who, against all odds, become her friends. Christy, married to a wealthy older man, questions her life choice as she fantasizes about her doorman and tries to make peace with her angry stepdaughter. Julia is a workaholic television writer who becomes convinced her family is better off without her, until a neighbour's dog makes her re-think everything. Meanwhile Robyn, bread-winning wife to an aspiring novelist, has had enough. She wants what her friends are having - even if it means an affair with at least one, if not all, of their husbands ...In the tradition of Melissa Bank's The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing, with shades of Sex and the City, An Englishwoman in New York is the perfect coming-of-age novel for grown-ups. This book is published in the US under the title No One Could Have Guessed the Weather 'Very smart, very savvy and very very funny' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister 'Fabulously clever, brilliantly observed' Cathy Kelly 'Readers will find themselves on these pages and revel in the connection ...I loved it' Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

Reviews

We have asked a select number of members and browsers to review An Englishwoman in New York. You can read their reviews below.

Edel Waugh - 'Friendship In The City...If you want a really great escapist read set in one of the coolest cities in the world with some strong women trying to get the most out of life then this is the book for you.' Click here to read the full review.


Sarah Harper -
'It has a distinct feel of 'Sex and the City' to it and the characters are equally likeable and believable. It felt a little like reading about some old friends from my past. Thoroughly enjoyable!' Click here to read the full review.


Jill Peters -
'They say we both speak the same language but in some ways we are far removed from Americans and Lucy quickly discovers this to be somewhat true when she lands in New York...I loved ‘An Englishwoman in New York’ and will look forward to reading more from Anne Marie Casey.' Click here to read the full review.


Sam Sabbarton-Wright -
'An enjoyable and relaxing read. However, this book didn’t live up to my expectations based on the blurb and the references to 'Sex and the City' on the cover.' Click here to read the full review.


Evelyn Barrett -
'A book for anyone who has had their lives turned upside down...Thought provoking, witty and accomplished - a great debut.' Click here to read the full review.


Elisabeth Thomas -
'This is a coming of age novel for the slightly more mature lady as all the characters in the book are the wrong side of 30 and as they all edge ever never to 40, decisions are made to change their lives.' Click here to read the full review.


Carol Attridge -
'I'm really sorry but this book wasn't for me. When I read the title and the synopsis I thought it was, I had enjoyed 'Sex in the City' and all the girly stuff that went with it but I couldnt get into it.' Click here to read the full review.


Julie Viliunas -
'Comical moments, some sadness too, interjected with some surreal scenarios make this an interesting read.' Click here to read the full review.


Jayne Burton -
'I was really looking forward to reading this from the notes on the back of the book, but have to say I was very disappointed.'Click here to read the full review.

Megan Olwen Williams - 'A snappy, funny and highly entertaining depiction of women finding their feet as they move into their 40s...' Click here to read the full review.

Kath Martin - 'This is a good book! I found it a quick read - not because it lacks substance, but because I just couldn't put it down. It's original, witty, entertaining, sophisticated and just very very clever.' Click here to read the full review.

Jane Pepler - 'This is a pleasing read about British born Lucy who has to give up her comfortable lifestyle in London to move to New York when her husband loses his job...The book was beautifully written and felt like a series of short stories with the characters in each story only loosely linked together.' Click here to read the full review.

Sally Doel - 'This is actually quite an unusual book - its quirky characters are linked to each other, but their stories are told as separate narratives...It is well-written and a light and relaxing read.' Click here to read the full review.

Manisha Natha - 'If your looking for a good book to curl up with or just something light to read after a long day then this is the book for you.' Click here to read the full review.

Suzanne Marsh - www.ireadnovels.wordpress.com - 'I was looking so forward to reading this story. Unfortunately for me the story did not have much drama of a story to keep my attention. For me personally I was left disappointed with the story line. However some of the lines are very funny and did make me laugh a lot, many readers will love reading An Englishwoman In New York.' Click here to read the full review.

Joan Hill - 'This is former script editor and producer of Prime TV drama Anne-Marie Casey’s debut novel about a re-location from London to Manhattan and the friendships made through children.' Click here to read the full review.

Praise for Anne-Marie Casey:

'Very smart, very savvy and very very funny'
Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

'Fabulously clever, brilliantly observed'
Cathy Kelly

'Readers will find themselves on these pages and revel in the connection ... I loved it'
Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker

's Wife 'It was sophisticated, witty, with a sharp eye for the ridiculous. I loved it!'
Katie Fforde

'Witty and sasy... a smart, funny book that has as its backdrop vibrant, bustling New York' -- Sunday Express

'Grown-up, superior chick lit: full of wit and clever observations on the cultural differences between London and New York, but also on friendship between women'
Lady

'A subversively charming debut about a group of happily imperfect New Yorkers... Clever and witty: the best kind of summer book' -- Kirkus

'AN ENGLISHWOMAN IN NEW YORK serves up a tasty dose of female bonding in the Big Apple' -- Sunday Times (Ireland)

'Casey's characters make [An Englishwoman in New York] stand out in the canon of contemporary commercial women's fiction. Her writing is sharp and precise and brilliantly visual' -- Sunday Business Post

'A sophisticated and beguiling tale ... witty and wise ... full of quotable one liners and clever observations that manage not to obscure the considerable heart of the novel' -- Irish Independent

'Casey's debut leaves the reader eager for more' -- Publishers Weekly

'A sliding puzzle of a book ... a quick, breezy read' -- New York Observer

'A witty, sophisticated piece of entertainment that doesn't insult our intelligence and isn't written for little girls ... I read this in the garden and it was perfect' -- Saga

About the Author

Anne-Marie Casey

Anne-Marie was a script editor and producer of prime-time television drama for ten years before becoming a writer full time. She has written scripts for films and television series in the UK and Ireland and her stage adaptation of Little Women was staged at the Gate Theatre in Dublin in 2011. An Englishwoman in New York, her first book, was inspired by her experiences living in Manhattan with her family and her love/love relationship with the City. She is married to the novelist Joseph O'Connor. They now live in Dublin, Ireland, with their two sons.

Author photo © Brigid Harney Applebee Studios,

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th October 2013

Author

Anne-Marie Casey

More books by Anne-Marie Casey
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.annemariecasey.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of John Murray General Publishing Division

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Debuts of the Month
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781848548336

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools