Bloodsong

by Melvin Burgess

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on Bloodsong

A sequel to Bloodtide, Bloodsong revisits the two families and their London setting. War has now wholly destroyed the city. Of the Volson’s, only fifteen year old Sigurd remains.  Defenceless without the knife given to his father by the gods and passed down to him, he must find a new weapon to fight with so that he can re-forge his country and unite it. Like the heroes from the sagas Sigurd is willing to risk everything to fulfil his destiny and succeed in his quest. Melvin Burgess creates an epic drama in a devastated world. 

Bloodsong Synopsis

'Love. Hate. So what? It's family. It's business.' Fifteen-year-old Sigurd, son of King Sigmund, is the last surviving member of the Volson clan. His father's kingdom - the former city of London - is gone. And his father's knife, a gift from the gods, has been shattered to dust. Armed with a powerful sword forged from the remnants of the knife, Sigurd faces death, fire and torment as he travels through Hel and back to unite his country once again. Packed with political intrigue and violence, love, lust and family feuds, Bloodsong is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

Bloodsong Press Reviews

A gripping story of horrific proportions from a prize-winning author.  Publishing News

 

Dark and tragic as it frequently is, nevertheless pulses with the intensity of lives richly lived and experiences richly recaptured. -- Robert Dunbar Irish Times

 

Bloodtide was good. This is better. It's the best thing I've read by Melvin Burgess... This is a novel that matches the power of its ancient inspiration and remakes it for another time. -- Cb Books for Keeps

 

Burgess's great triumph is not so much in inventing new stories as in finding fresh ways of retelling the ones that are themselves in danger of falling into extinction. -- Kathryn Hughes Guardian

 

Burgess imagination is amazing - he takes you to the brink every time. -- John McLay The Bookseller

Teenage boys with strong stomachs should enjoy it . Independent on Sunday

 

A thrillingly readable and evocative narrative  Daily Telegraph

 

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Mystery of Three Quarters
Deadlier
The Narrow Bed
The Narrow Bed

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781849396943
Publication date: 01/08/2013
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780141316215
Publication date: 04/01/2007
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback (b Format)

Book Information

ISBN: 9781849396943
Publication date: 1st August 2013
Author: Melvin Burgess
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, eBook Favourites,
Categories: Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage), Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Melvin Burgess

Melvin Burgess was brought up in Sussex and Berkshire.  As a child, his reading included The Wind in the Willows and Gerald Durrell's animal stories. He went on to enjoy The Hobbit and Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast books. A generally unconfident student, he became interested in writing when he was twelve and an English teacher praised one of his stories  - "it was about the first time I'd ever done anything that got an A. I was so pleased I never stopped."  After leaving school, Melvin moved to Bristol  where ...

More About Melvin Burgess

More Books By Melvin Burgess

Cover for The Lost Witch by Melvin Burgess
Cover for Sara's Face by Melvin Burgess
Cover for Junk by Melvin Burgess
View All Books By Melvin Burgess

Share this book