eleanor oliphant debuts of the month
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Bloodsong by Melvin Burgess
  

Bloodsong

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

A sequel to Bloodtide, Bloodsong revisits the two families and their London setting. War has now wholly destroyed the city. Of the Volson’s, only fifteen year old Sigurd remains. Defenceless without the knife given to his father by the gods and passed down to him, he must find a new weapon to fight with so that he can re-forge his country and unite it. Like the heroes from the sagas Sigurd is willing to risk everything to fulfil his destiny and succeed in his quest. Melvin Burgess creates an epic drama in a devastated world.

If you like Melvin Burgess you might also like to read books by Sophie Hannah, Mary Hooper and kevin brooks.

Synopsis

Bloodsong by Melvin Burgess

'Love. Hate. So what? It's family. It's business.' Fifteen-year-old Sigurd, son of King Sigmund, is the last surviving member of the Volson clan. His father's kingdom - the former city of London - is gone. And his father's knife, a gift from the gods, has been shattered to dust. Armed with a powerful sword forged from the remnants of the knife, Sigurd faces death, fire and torment as he travels through Hel and back to unite his country once again. Packed with political intrigue and violence, love, lust and family feuds, Bloodsong is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

Reviews

A gripping story of horrific proportions from a prize-winning author. Publishing News

Dark and tragic as it frequently is, nevertheless pulses with the intensity of lives richly lived and experiences richly recaptured. -- Robert Dunbar Irish Times

Bloodtide was good. This is better. It's the best thing I've read by Melvin Burgess... This is a novel that matches the power of its ancient inspiration and remakes it for another time. -- Cb Books for Keeps

Burgess's great triumph is not so much in inventing new stories as in finding fresh ways of retelling the ones that are themselves in danger of falling into extinction. -- Kathryn Hughes Guardian

Burgess imagination is amazing - he takes you to the brink every time. -- John McLay The Bookseller

Teenage boys with strong stomachs should enjoy it . Independent on Sunday

A thrillingly readable and evocative narrative Daily Telegraph

About the Author

Melvin Burgess

Melvin Burgess was brought up in Sussex and Berkshire. As a child, his reading included The Wind in the Willows and Gerald Durrell's animal stories. He went on to enjoy The Hobbit and Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast books. A generally unconfident student, he became interested in writing when he was twelve and an English teacher praised one of his stories - "it was about the first time I'd ever done anything that got an A. I was so pleased I never stopped." After leaving school, Melvin moved to Bristol where he worked on occasional jobs, mainly in the building industry, and was often unemployed. He started writing in his twenties and wrote on and off for the next fifteen years before The Cry of the Wolf was published in 1990. He moved to London in 1983 and began a small business marbling fabrics for the fashion industry. In 1997 his controversial bestseller Junk won the Guardian Children's Fiction Award and the Carnegie Medal. It was also shortlisted for the 1998 Whitbread Children's Book of the Year. Four of his novels have been shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal.

Melvin Burgess is regarded as one of the best writers in contemporary children's literature. In 1997, his controversial bestseller Junk won the Guardian Children's Fiction Award and the Carnegie Medal. It was also shortlisted for the 1998 Whitbread Children's Book of the Year. Four of his novels have been shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. Melvin lives in Hebden Bridge with his partner.

Photo credit: John Coombes

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Melvin Burgess

More books by Melvin Burgess
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.melvinburgess.net/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Andersen Press Ltd

Format

Paperback
368 pages
Interest Age: From 12 to 17 years

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781849396943

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools