desmond elliott 2017 Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

A Treacherous Likeness by Lynn Shepherd
  

A Treacherous Likeness

Literary Fiction   Books of the Month   Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

August 2013 Book of the Month.

The compelling follow-up to Tom-All-Alone’s. Lynn Shepherd once again uses rigorous research to explore and fictionalise the mysterious, apparent suicide of the first wife of Percy Bysshe Shelley. Perfect reading for fans of Sarah Waters and P.D. James’s Death Comes to Pemberley.

Click here to read the wonderful Lovereading Readers' Reviews for Tom-All-Alone's, the prequel to A Treacherous Likeness.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for A Treacherous Likeness, a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'I was immediately transported to a world full of intrigue and secrecy, where the lives of real heroes collide with imaginary ones...Beautifully written, this is an irresistible read.' Scroll down to read more reviews.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

A Treacherous Likeness by Lynn Shepherd

In the dying days of 1850 the young detective Charles Maddox takes on a new case. His client? The only surviving son of the long-dead poet Percy Bysshe Shelley, and his wife Mary, author of Frankenstein.

Charles soon finds himself being drawn into the bitter battle being waged over the poet's literary legacy, but then he makes a chance discovery that raises new doubts about the death of Shelley's first wife, Harriet, and he starts to question whether she did indeed kill herself, or whether what really happened was far more sinister than suicide. As he's drawn deeper into the tangled web of the past, Charles discovers darker and more disturbing secrets, until he comes face to face with the terrible possibility that his own great-uncle is implicated in a conspiracy to conceal the truth that stretches back more than thirty years. The story of the Shelleys is one of love and death, of loss and betrayal. In this follow-up to the acclaimed Tom-All-Alone's, Lynn Shepherd offers her own fictional version of that story, which suggests new and shocking answers to mysteries that still persist to this day, and have never yet been fully explained.

Reviews

We have asked a select number of members and browsers to review A Treacherous Likeness. You can read their reviews below.

Francesca Ashurst - 'Lynn Shepherd’s stunning new novel ‘A Treacherous Likeness’ is so gripping that I couldn’t put it down. I was immediately transported to a world full of intrigue and secrecy, where the lives of real heroes collide with imaginary ones...Beautifully written, this is an irresistible read.' Click here to read the full review.

Julie Bickerdyke - 'What a book! Lynn Shepherd has created a fabulous story that fits in well with known facts but has the reader shocked and horrified at times...The tale attempts to answer some of the many mysteries surrounding the Shelly’s and does so with very plausibly.' Click here to read the full review.

Sue Broom - 'Lynn Shepherd is such a talented author and is fast becoming one of my favourites...Her writing is a joy. Fluent, lively, fast-paced and enthralling.' Click here to read the full review.

Megan Olwen Williams - 'The twists and turns in the novel never failed to surprise and delight me and meant it was impossible to disengage from the story or lose interest.' Click here to read the full review.

Stephanie Harding - 'This book has a very gothic feel running through it, no doubt because the subject is The Shelleys...A great book to read on a cold, foggy evening curled up in front of the fire.' Click here to read the full review.

Helen Sidebottom
- 'This book tells a complex story of the blindness of love which leads to betrayal and acts of despair.' Click here to read the full review.

Magda North - 'The writing is faultless and the research exquisite. Lynn Shepherd totally nails her era... If you're a fan of the romantic period you would get much more from this book.' Click here to read the full review.


Clare Topping -
' Just when you think that you have figured out the underlying plot the author adds in another twist to prove you wrong and make you change your mind about them all over again. Definitely a worthy follow up to Tom-All-Alone’s.' Click here to read the full review.


Ray Orgill
- 'What caused the death of Harriet, the first wife of poet Percy Bysshe Shelley, murder or suicide? This is the theme running through this immaculately researched novel.' Click here to read the full review.

_____________________________________

Praise for Tom-All-Alone's:

"A brilliant and sinister remake of Bleak House, exposing the vicious underworld of Victorian London. Totally gripping." (John Carey)

"Dickens' world described with modern precision." (The Times)

"Beaitifully written...an absorbing read". (Literary Review)

"A necessary eye for squalor, meticulous research and deft plotting make this a book...you'll be guaranteed to enjoy." (Guardian)

About the Author

Lynn Shepherd

Lynn Shepherd lives near Oxford, with her husband. She studied English at Oxford in the 1980s, and went back to do a doctorate in 2003. In between she spent 15 years in business, first in the City, and later in PR and has been a professional copywriter for the last ten years. She published her first novel Murder at Mansfield Park in 2010. Find out more on www.lynn-shepherd.com.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Lynn Shepherd

More books by Lynn Shepherd
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.lynn-shepherd.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corsair an imprint of Constable and Robinson

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Books of the Month
Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781780331683

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools