Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

tudor queens series
Search our site
The Guilty Wife by Elle Croft Read the opening extract of the brand new Elle Croft book before its publication on 25/01/2018

City of Devils by Diana Bretherick
  

City of Devils

Historical Fiction   Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Reading Groups   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

August 2013 Debut of the Month.

With vivid and lively writing be transported to 19th-century Turin in this gripping debut from the winner of the 2012 GOOD HOUSEKEEPING new novel competition. A must for fans of C. J. Sansom and Imogen Robertson.

Win a SIGNED copy of The Wanderers and The Horseman!

To mark the release of second book in The West Country Trilogy by Tim Pears, we are giving away a SIGNED copy of both The Horseman and The Wanderers to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 12 February 2018. The winners will be notified by 19 February 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 12/02/2018

Synopsis

City of Devils by Diana Bretherick

The brightest mind meets the darkest killer 1887 When James Murray, a young Scottish doctor fascinated by the workings of the criminal mind, travels to the vibrant city of Turin, it is to study with Cesare Lombroso, the world-renowned criminologist. But just hours after his introduction to the unconventional Lombroso, the discovery of a horrifically mutilated body in the nearby Piazza Statuto, and a note that appears to implicate the celebrated criminologist himself, changes everything. With the help of his fellow apprentice, Ottolenghi; Tullio, a local investigator; and Lombroso's beautiful but enigmatic housekeeper, Sofia; Murray must put his learning to the test and endeavour to understand the mind of a truly evil serial killer if he is to stop the rapidly escalating bloodbath and clear the name of his mentor. Have Lombroso's many enemies attempted to frame him? Are the notes an accusation or a challenge? And will Lombroso's own influential theories about criminal behaviour help to catch a cunning and ruthless killer? Meet the world's first criminologist in this compelling, fast-paced historical thriller.

About the Author

Diana Bretherick is an ex-criminal barrister and now a lecturer in criminology and criminal law at Portsmouth University. She won the GOOD HOUSEKEEPING new novel competition in 2012.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Diana Bretherick

More books by Diana Bretherick
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

dianabretherick.wordpress.c...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback

Categories

Historical Fiction
Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Reading Groups


ISBN

9781409127925

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools