eleanor oliphant book price comparison debuts of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

City of Devils by Diana Bretherick
  

City of Devils

Historical Fiction   Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

August 2013 Debut of the Month.

With vivid and lively writing be transported to 19th-century Turin in this gripping debut from the winner of the 2012 GOOD HOUSEKEEPING new novel competition. A must for fans of C. J. Sansom and Imogen Robertson.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

City of Devils by Diana Bretherick

The brightest mind meets the darkest killer 1887 When James Murray, a young Scottish doctor fascinated by the workings of the criminal mind, travels to the vibrant city of Turin, it is to study with Cesare Lombroso, the world-renowned criminologist. But just hours after his introduction to the unconventional Lombroso, the discovery of a horrifically mutilated body in the nearby Piazza Statuto, and a note that appears to implicate the celebrated criminologist himself, changes everything. With the help of his fellow apprentice, Ottolenghi; Tullio, a local investigator; and Lombroso's beautiful but enigmatic housekeeper, Sofia; Murray must put his learning to the test and endeavour to understand the mind of a truly evil serial killer if he is to stop the rapidly escalating bloodbath and clear the name of his mentor. Have Lombroso's many enemies attempted to frame him? Are the notes an accusation or a challenge? And will Lombroso's own influential theories about criminal behaviour help to catch a cunning and ruthless killer? Meet the world's first criminologist in this compelling, fast-paced historical thriller.

Reviews

Bretherick weaves together a number of strands into a complex tale that ends with a genuinely surprising revelation of the identity of the murderer... This is a historical crime novel with real originality and narrative energy. BBC HISTORY MAGAZINE A gripping novel, full of suspense. GOOD HOUSEKEEPING Bretherick delivers shock after shock to the nervous system with deft and deadly style. NORTHERN ECHO


About the Author

Diana Bretherick is an ex-criminal barrister and now a lecturer in criminology and criminal law at Portsmouth University. She won the GOOD HOUSEKEEPING new novel competition in 2012.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Diana Bretherick

More books by Diana Bretherick
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

dianabretherick.wordpress.c...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781409127925

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools