newgen books for YA readers books of the month likeyoulove
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Tuesday's Gone A Frieda Klein Novel by Nicci French
  

Tuesday's Gone A Frieda Klein Novel

Part of the Frieda Klein Series
Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

For Frieda Klein the days get longer, the cases darker... Psychotherapist Frieda Klein thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door. A man's decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder.

Nicci French packshot

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review Blue Monday, the first title in the series . You can read their reviews below.

If you like Nicci French you might also like to read books by Gemma O'Connor, Ruth Rendell and Minette Walters.

Reader Reviews

  • Joan Sidwell - 'Once you start reading this book it is extremely hard to put down, it has an incredibly exciting story line, twists and turns and surprises on every page, at times it actually made me gasp out loud.' Read full review >
  • Suzanne Bellingham - 'A recommended read if you love a good thriller which isn’t scary but keeps you guessing.' Read full review >
  • Andrea Dean - 'This book is very hard to put down. Readers will want to take this book wherever they go to take advantage of every spare minute until the book is finished.' Read full review >
  • Jane Birchall - 'A great, gripping thriller I couldn’t put down! I will certainly look forward to reading other books in the series.' Read full review >
  • Helen Lowry - 'The first book in a series featuring psychotherapist Frieda Klein. The abduction of a young boy, along with a troubled client make Frieda think there is a link between the two.' Read full review >
  • Catherine Ann Dugmore - 'A gripping abduction plot from start to finish.  This book has amazing twists and turns to the very last page.  Addictive with an ending that shocks. Leaves you wanting more of the Frieda Klein Series.' Read full review >
  • Debbie Patrick - 'There were twists in the plot but I had already worked each one of them out before they happened...I found the book quite disappointing.' Read full review >
  • Melanie Rose - 'What a great start to a new series! You think you know what's going to happen next then an unexpected twist happens to keep you wanting more.' Read full review >
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Such a very clever crime thriller which is quite an achievement given the number of stories in this genre.' Read full review >
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'A fast-paced, atmospheric psychological thriller set in London in the run up to Christmas about the abduction of a young boy.' Read full review >
  • Beth Winsor - 'A real page turner, with unexpected twists galore. The characters were very convincing, the plot less so, but an interesting idea which was always gripping.' Read full review >
  • Glenda Worth - 'Psychotherapist Frieda Klein helps investigate an abduction - a great page turning read recommended!' Read full review >
  • Rebecca Cockeram - 'A well written page turner. A little girl is abducted then 22 years later a little boy in similar circumstances. Is there a connection?' Read full review >
  • Jane Priestley - 'A crime novel in which the police are not center stage, this book is refreshingly different. A gripping, riveting read which is highly recommended.' Read full review >

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Tuesday's Gone A Frieda Klein Novel by Nicci French

Nicci French, the bestselling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You , returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with Top Ten Bestseller Blue Monday . Fans of Peter James' Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson's DCI Banks series will love central character psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime. For Frieda Klein the days get longer, the cases darker...Psychotherapist Frieda Klein thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door. A man's decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don't know who it is, how he got there or what happened - and Michelle can't tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion. Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole's past, the more of his victims they encounter - and the more motives they find for murder. Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda's own past are returning to threaten her. Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free - and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate. A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday's Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers. Nicci French knows just how to play on our worst fears. ( Daily Mail ). Nicci French is the pseudonym for Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple live in Suffolk and have written twelve other bestselling novels including Beneath the Skin and Blue Monday , the first thrilling installment in the Frieda Klein series.

The Frieda Klein series:
1. Blue Monday
2. Tuesday's Gone
3. Waiting for Wednesday
4. Thursday's Children

Reviews

'A brilliantly crafted new crime series' Daily Mirror

'This heart-stoppingly good tale sets the bar high for the next seven books - we can't wait to read them!' Good Housekeeping

About the Author

Nicci French

Nicci French was our Guest Editor in April 2014 - click here - to see the books that inspired their writing.

Nicci French is the pseudonym for the writing partnership of journalists Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple are married and live in Suffolk. There are fourteen other bestselling novels by Nicci French, all published by Penguin. Blue Monday was the first thrilling story in the Frieda Klein series, followed by Tuesday's Gone, Waiting for Wednesday, Thursday's Child, Friday on My Mind and Saturday Requiem.

Author photo © Mark Read

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th January 2013

Author

Nicci French

More books by Nicci French
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.niccifrench.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780241950333

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools