win prizes debuts of the month
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Agincourt Bride by Joanna Hickson
  

The Agincourt Bride

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.99

Download an extract Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

A superb recapturing of the childhood and young life of Catherine, daughter of mad King Charles VI of France and eventual wife of Henry V, seen through the eyes of her wet nurse and companion. Her beauty fuelled a war. Her courage captured a king. Her passion would launch the Tudor dynasty. The first of a two part series perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

If you like Joanna Hickson you might also like to read books by Suzannah Dunn, Elizabeth Chadwick and Sharon Penman.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Agincourt Bride by Joanna Hickson

When her own first child is tragically still-born, the young Mette is pressed into service as a wet-nurse at the court of the mad king, Charles VI of France. Her young charge is the princess, Catherine de Valois, caught up in the turbulence and chaos of life at court. Mette and the child forge a bond, one that transcends Mette's lowly position. But as Catherine approaches womanhood, her unique position seals her fate as a pawn between two powerful dynasties. Her brother, The Dauphin and the dark and sinister, Duke of Burgundy will both use Catherine to further the cause of France. Catherine is powerless to stop them, but with the French defeat at the Battle of Agincourt, the tables turn and suddenly her currency has never been higher. But can Mette protect Catherine from forces at court who seek to harm her or will her loyalty to Catherine place her in even greater danger?

Reviews

'The sense of period is terrific - filled with characters about whom I cared enormously.'
Barbara Erskine

About the Author

Joanna Hickson

Joanna Hickson spent twenty-five years at the BBC writing and presenting for radio and television. Gripped by Shakespeare's historical plays, Joanna began researching the King Henry V's 'fair Kate' as a schoolgirl and the story of Catherine de Valois and the Tudor genesis has remained with her throughout life. Joanna Hickson lives in an old farmhouse in East Lothian and is married with a large family and a wayward Irish terrier.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd January 2013

Author

Joanna Hickson

More books by Joanna Hickson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
592 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007446971

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools