likeyoulove newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Sapphire Widow by Dinah Jefferies Read the opening extract of the brand new Dinah Jefferies book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Agincourt Bride by Joanna Hickson
  

The Agincourt Bride

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

A superb recapturing of the childhood and young life of Catherine, daughter of mad King Charles VI of France and eventual wife of Henry V, seen through the eyes of her wet nurse and companion. Her beauty fuelled a war. Her courage captured a king. Her passion would launch the Tudor dynasty. The first of a two part series perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

If you like Joanna Hickson you might also like to read books by Elizabeth Chadwick, Philippa Gregory and Sharon Penman.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a signed copy of Circe

Circe

Circe is the amazing sequel to The Song of Achilles by Madelline Miller.

"I remember Circe was one of the challenges met by Odysseus, the one who turned men into pigs. The beautiful character who narrates this story is that same “wicked witch” but a far cry from how Homer portrayed her. She is lovely, misunderstood, wilful and brilliant, a strong woman slowly growing into her power." - Sarah Broadhurst

Get your hands on a SIGNED copy of this innovative new take on Greek Mythology by clicking the button below and entering this prize draw! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winner will be notified by 7 May 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

The Agincourt Bride by Joanna Hickson

When her own first child is tragically still-born, the young Mette is pressed into service as a wet-nurse at the court of the mad king, Charles VI of France. Her young charge is the princess, Catherine de Valois, caught up in the turbulence and chaos of life at court. Mette and the child forge a bond, one that transcends Mette's lowly position. But as Catherine approaches womanhood, her unique position seals her fate as a pawn between two powerful dynasties. Her brother, The Dauphin and the dark and sinister, Duke of Burgundy will both use Catherine to further the cause of France. Catherine is powerless to stop them, but with the French defeat at the Battle of Agincourt, the tables turn and suddenly her currency has never been higher. But can Mette protect Catherine from forces at court who seek to harm her or will her loyalty to Catherine place her in even greater danger?

Reviews

'The sense of period is terrific - filled with characters about whom I cared enormously.'
Barbara Erskine

About the Author

Joanna Hickson

Joanna Hickson spent twenty-five years at the BBC writing and presenting for radio and television. Gripped by Shakespeare's historical plays, Joanna began researching the King Henry V's 'fair Kate' as a schoolgirl and the story of Catherine de Valois and the Tudor genesis has remained with her throughout life. Joanna Hickson lives in an old farmhouse in East Lothian and is married with a large family and a wayward Irish terrier.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd January 2013

Author

Joanna Hickson

More books by Joanna Hickson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
592 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007446971

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools