book price comparison behind her eyes sarah pinborough hold back the stars the spy paulo coelho new year new you 17
Vouchers


The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron
  

The Poacher's Son

Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

January 2013 Debut of the Month.

Set in the wilds of Maine this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut. A cop is killed and game warden Mike Bowditch must track down his abusive, hard-drinking father, the prime suspect, to prove his innocence. Brilliant characterisation teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read.

Synopsis

The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron

Game warden Mike Bowditch returns home one evening to find an alarming voice from the past on his answering machine: his father Jack, a hard-drinking womanizer who makes his living from poaching illegal game. An even more frightening call comes the next morning from the police: they are searching for a cop-killer - and Mike's father is their prime suspect. Now, alienated from the woman he loves and shunned by colleagues who have no sympathy for the suspected cop killer, Mike must come to terms with his haunted past. He knows firsthand of his father's brutality, but is he capable of murder? Desperate and alone, the only way for Mike to save his father is to find the real killer - which could mean putting everyone he loves into the line of fire...

Reviews

An excellent debut - filled with murder, betrayal and a terrific sense of place C J Box A stunning debut...At its heart this is a tale of bitter betrayal, lost hopes and broken dreams. The book has a tautness that is impossible to forget and which left me close to tears. It is also the first in a series. Its successor, Trespasser, also featuring Bowditch, is on the way. Grab him now. Daily Mail Stunning vistas...eye popping scenes The New York Times Book Review This is a compelling, moving and utterly impressive debut Andre Dubus III, author of House of Sand and Fog The Poacher's Son is a haunting tale, and Paul Doiron is a powerful and evocative writer. -- Tess Gerritsen Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut... Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. Publishers Weekly (starred review) One of the best-written debut novels I've read in years. This story has it all-a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting, and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters. -- Nelson Demille this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut... Brilliant characterization teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read. lovereading.com


About the Author

Paul Doiron

A native of Maine, Paul Doiron is a registered Maine Guide and lives by a trout stream with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th January 2013

Author

Paul Doiron

More books by Paul Doiron
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pauldoiron.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Robinson Publishing an imprint of Constable and Robinson

Format

Hardback
336 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781780338156

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools