win prizes books of the month debuts of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron
  

The Poacher's Son

Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £18.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

January 2013 Debut of the Month.

Set in the wilds of Maine this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut. A cop is killed and game warden Mike Bowditch must track down his abusive, hard-drinking father, the prime suspect, to prove his innocence. Brilliant characterisation teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron

Game warden Mike Bowditch returns home one evening to find an alarming voice from the past on his answering machine: his father Jack, a hard-drinking womanizer who makes his living from poaching illegal game. An even more frightening call comes the next morning from the police: they are searching for a cop-killer - and Mike's father is their prime suspect. Now, alienated from the woman he loves and shunned by colleagues who have no sympathy for the suspected cop killer, Mike must come to terms with his haunted past. He knows firsthand of his father's brutality, but is he capable of murder? Desperate and alone, the only way for Mike to save his father is to find the real killer - which could mean putting everyone he loves into the line of fire...

Reviews

An excellent debut - filled with murder, betrayal and a terrific sense of place C J Box A stunning debut...At its heart this is a tale of bitter betrayal, lost hopes and broken dreams. The book has a tautness that is impossible to forget and which left me close to tears. It is also the first in a series. Its successor, Trespasser, also featuring Bowditch, is on the way. Grab him now. Daily Mail Stunning vistas...eye popping scenes The New York Times Book Review This is a compelling, moving and utterly impressive debut Andre Dubus III, author of House of Sand and Fog The Poacher's Son is a haunting tale, and Paul Doiron is a powerful and evocative writer. -- Tess Gerritsen Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut... Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. Publishers Weekly (starred review) One of the best-written debut novels I've read in years. This story has it all-a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting, and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters. -- Nelson Demille this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut... Brilliant characterization teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read. lovereading.com


About the Author

Paul Doiron

A native of Maine, Paul Doiron is a registered Maine Guide and lives by a trout stream with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th January 2013

Author

Paul Doiron

More books by Paul Doiron
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pauldoiron.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Robinson Publishing an imprint of Constable and Robinson

Format

Hardback
336 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781780338156

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools