Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Real Britannia Our Ten Proudest Years - The Glory and the Spin

by Colin Brown

Biography / Autobiography History

Real Britannia Our Ten Proudest Years - The Glory and the Spin Synopsis

1215: The Magna Carta. 1415: Henry V. 1588: Defeat of the Spanish Armada. 1688: The Bill of Rights. 1815: Waterloo. 1833: Abolition of the slave trade. 1928: Women's suffrage. 1940: Dunkirk and Churchill's last stand. 1945: Creation of the welfare state. 1982: Falklands War. Was the longbow behind the victory at Agincourt, or was it just that the English are better in mud? Did Queen Elizabeth I know the Armada had capitulated when she drafted one of history's most inspiring speeches? Where did Wellington meet his Waterloo? Were the Falklands testament to Mrs Thatcher's steel or a grasping, imperial folly?

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Light in the Dark
Breaking and Mending
The Last Hillwalker
On Chapel Sands

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781851689521
Publication date: 01/11/2012
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781851689521
Publication date: 1st November 2012
Author: Colin Brown
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Format: Hardback
Genres: Biography / Autobiography, History,

About Colin Brown

Colin Brown is author of the acclaimed history Whitehall: The Street That Shaped a Nation. Formerly political editor of the Sunday Telegraph and Independent on Sunday, deputy political editor of the Independent, and correspondent for the Guardian, he covered breaking news in Downing Street and Westminster for over 30 years. He lives in London.

More About Colin Brown

More Books By Colin Brown

Cover for Glory & B*llocks The Truth Behind Ten Defining Events in British History by Colin Brown
View All Books By Colin Brown

Share this book