Harry Potter House Eds likeyoulove
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Splinter by Sebastian Fitzek
  

Splinter

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012.

An insanely fast-paced, utterly unputdownable psychological thriller from a German bestseller. What if we could permanently erase our most terrifying experiences from memory? And what could go wrong?

Early in this book, it is recognised that 'what is generally held to constitute the difference between man and beast (is) self-awareness. We reflect on why we exist, when we'll die and what happens after death, whereas an animal wastes no thought on whether it's on earth at all (and) can't even recognise itself in a mirror'.

It is impossible to enjoy literary fiction without being able to place oneself into someone else's mind. The more skilful the writer, the easier it becomes to do this and thus the more enjoyable - and certainly empathetic - is the novel.

The core theme of 'Splinter' is the proposition that humans could 'learn to forget' a traumatic or tragic life experience - a state of deliberately induced amnesia that, in erasing the bad experience, would necessarily wipe out the memory of one's whole life.

This consequences of this original and compelling thesis are successfully explored in this compulsively written, thought-provoking and thoroughly enjoyable book.

If you are prepared to try reading it - and we think you should - there is a postscript at the end that you may find worth reading first. It shows that, with the aid of modern pharmaceutical developments, the core theme outlined above (which is openly revealed on the cover of the book) is not as far fetched as you might think.

'Splinter' is already an 'international bestseller'. We are not surprised.

If you like Sebastian Fitzek you might also like to read books by Jo Nesbo, Peter Straub and Mo Hayder.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Splinter by Sebastian Fitzek

Have you ever done something you wish you could forget? Wracked with grief after an accident killed his wife and unborn child, all Marc Lucas wants is to wipe his memory. Until he returns home one night to find that his key doesn't fit in the lock and his wife is alive, well and pregnant - but claims not to recognise him. Marc is drawn into a nightmare world, one where it's impossible to separate reality from fiction. Is he going mad? Or is there a conspiracy at work - one that could cost him his memory, his sanity...even his life.

Reviews

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind meets Inception * Guardian * A taut psychological thriller set against the backdrop of modern Berlin. * The Times * Dazzling * Sunday Times * In the vein of Total Recall or Memento, Splinter is a break neck ride through a collapsing world where the characters and the reader lose contact with what's real. Clear, fast and full of great ideas. * Big Issue *


About the Author

Sebastian Fitzek

Sebastian Fitzek has worked as a journalist and author for radio and TV stations all around Europe, and is now head of programming at RTL, Berlin's leading radio station. His first and subsequent novels have become huge bestsellers in Germany, and he is currently working on his fifth.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st October 2011

Author

Sebastian Fitzek

More books by Sebastian Fitzek
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sebastianfitzek.de/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781848876965

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools