win prizes
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Splinter by Sebastian Fitzek
  

Splinter

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012.

An insanely fast-paced, utterly unputdownable psychological thriller from a German bestseller. What if we could permanently erase our most terrifying experiences from memory? And what could go wrong?

Early in this book, it is recognised that 'what is generally held to constitute the difference between man and beast (is) self-awareness. We reflect on why we exist, when we'll die and what happens after death, whereas an animal wastes no thought on whether it's on earth at all (and) can't even recognise itself in a mirror'.

It is impossible to enjoy literary fiction without being able to place oneself into someone else's mind. The more skilful the writer, the easier it becomes to do this and thus the more enjoyable - and certainly empathetic - is the novel.

The core theme of 'Splinter' is the proposition that humans could 'learn to forget' a traumatic or tragic life experience - a state of deliberately induced amnesia that, in erasing the bad experience, would necessarily wipe out the memory of one's whole life.

This consequences of this original and compelling thesis are successfully explored in this compulsively written, thought-provoking and thoroughly enjoyable book.

If you are prepared to try reading it - and we think you should - there is a postscript at the end that you may find worth reading first. It shows that, with the aid of modern pharmaceutical developments, the core theme outlined above (which is openly revealed on the cover of the book) is not as far fetched as you might think.

'Splinter' is already an 'international bestseller'. We are not surprised.

If you like Sebastian Fitzek you might also like to read books by Jo Nesbo, Michael Marshall and Peter Straub.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Splinter by Sebastian Fitzek

Have you ever done something you wish you could forget? Wracked with grief after an accident killed his wife and unborn child, all Marc Lucas wants is to wipe his memory. Until he returns home one night to find that his key doesn't fit in the lock and his wife is alive, well and pregnant - but claims not to recognise him. Marc is drawn into a nightmare world, one where it's impossible to separate reality from fiction. Is he going mad? Or is there a conspiracy at work - one that could cost him his memory, his sanity...even his life.

Reviews

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind meets Inception * Guardian * A taut psychological thriller set against the backdrop of modern Berlin. * The Times * Dazzling * Sunday Times * In the vein of Total Recall or Memento, Splinter is a break neck ride through a collapsing world where the characters and the reader lose contact with what's real. Clear, fast and full of great ideas. * Big Issue *


About the Author

Sebastian Fitzek

Sebastian Fitzek has worked as a journalist and author for radio and TV stations all around Europe, and is now head of programming at RTL, Berlin's leading radio station. His first and subsequent novels have become huge bestsellers in Germany, and he is currently working on his fifth.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st October 2011

Author

Sebastian Fitzek

More books by Sebastian Fitzek
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sebastianfitzek.de/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781848876965

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools