win prizes
Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

Splinter by Sebastian Fitzek


Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012.

An insanely fast-paced, utterly unputdownable psychological thriller from a German bestseller. What if we could permanently erase our most terrifying experiences from memory? And what could go wrong?

Early in this book, it is recognised that 'what is generally held to constitute the difference between man and beast (is) self-awareness. We reflect on why we exist, when we'll die and what happens after death, whereas an animal wastes no thought on whether it's on earth at all (and) can't even recognise itself in a mirror'.

It is impossible to enjoy literary fiction without being able to place oneself into someone else's mind. The more skilful the writer, the easier it becomes to do this and thus the more enjoyable - and certainly empathetic - is the novel.

The core theme of 'Splinter' is the proposition that humans could 'learn to forget' a traumatic or tragic life experience - a state of deliberately induced amnesia that, in erasing the bad experience, would necessarily wipe out the memory of one's whole life.

This consequences of this original and compelling thesis are successfully explored in this compulsively written, thought-provoking and thoroughly enjoyable book.

If you are prepared to try reading it - and we think you should - there is a postscript at the end that you may find worth reading first. It shows that, with the aid of modern pharmaceutical developments, the core theme outlined above (which is openly revealed on the cover of the book) is not as far fetched as you might think.

'Splinter' is already an 'international bestseller'. We are not surprised.

If you like Sebastian Fitzek you might also like to read books by Michael Marshall, Alex Kava and China Mieville.

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Splinter by Sebastian Fitzek

Have you ever done something you wish you could forget? Wracked with grief after an accident killed his wife and unborn child, all Marc Lucas wants is to wipe his memory. Until he returns home one night to find that his key doesn't fit in the lock and his wife is alive, well and pregnant - but claims not to recognise him. Marc is drawn into a nightmare world, one where it's impossible to separate reality from fiction. Is he going mad? Or is there a conspiracy at work - one that could cost him his memory, his sanity...even his life.


Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind meets Inception * Guardian * A taut psychological thriller set against the backdrop of modern Berlin. * The Times * Dazzling * Sunday Times * In the vein of Total Recall or Memento, Splinter is a break neck ride through a collapsing world where the characters and the reader lose contact with what's real. Clear, fast and full of great ideas. * Big Issue *

About the Author

Sebastian Fitzek

Sebastian Fitzek has worked as a journalist and author for radio and TV stations all around Europe, and is now head of programming at RTL, Berlin's leading radio station. His first and subsequent novels have become huge bestsellers in Germany, and he is currently working on his fifth.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st October 2011


Sebastian Fitzek

More books by Sebastian Fitzek
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books


320 pages


Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense



The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!