tudor queens series second sister eleanor oliphant reading groups eligible curtis sittenfeld
Search our site
Give Me the Child by Melanie McGrath Read the opening extract of the brand new Melanie McGrath book before its publication on 27/07/2017

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British by Jeremy Paxman
  

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British

Biography / Autobiography   History   eBook Favourites   

RRP £9.99

Lovereading view...

Sue Baker's View...

The key to the book is in the subtitle, not just a history of Empire but how it has and still continutes to influence Britain. Now only tatters remain but the Empire still lingers in the way we see the World. With empire builders veering all the way from brilliant to bungling, rapacious and the downright mad, it makes, at times, for some uncomfortable – yet compulsive reading. The book ties into a forthcoming BBC 5-part TV series, written and presented by the author.

Like for Like Reading
The Decline and Fall of the British Empire, Piers Brendon
Daughters of Britannia: The Lives and Times of Diplomatic Wives, Katie Hickman

Synopsis

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British by Jeremy Paxman

From the bestselling author of The English comes Empire , Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr. The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings; the way we travel to the way we trade; the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away. In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire. As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable ') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves. Paxman is witty, incisive, acerbic and opinionated...In short, he carries the whole thing off with panache bordering on effrontery . (Piers Brendon, Sunday Times ). Paxman is a magnificent historian, and Empire may be remembered as his finest work . ( Independent on Sunday ). Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for Panorama . He is the author of five books including The English . He is the presenter of Newsnight and University Challenge and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.

About the Author

Jeremy Paxman

Jeremy Paxman is a renowned broadcaster, award-winning journalist and the bestselling author of seven works of non-fiction, including The English, The Political Animal and Empire.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th June 2012

Author

Jeremy Paxman

More books by Jeremy Paxman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jeremypaxman.net/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Viking an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Biography / Autobiography
History
eBook Favourites

Colonialism & imperialism

ISBN

9780670919598

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools