Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Guilty Wife by Elle Croft Read the opening extract of the brand new Elle Croft book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British by Jeremy Paxman
  

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British

Biography / Autobiography   History   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

Sue Baker's View...

The key to the book is in the subtitle, not just a history of Empire but how it has and still continutes to influence Britain. Now only tatters remain but the Empire still lingers in the way we see the World. With empire builders veering all the way from brilliant to bungling, rapacious and the downright mad, it makes, at times, for some uncomfortable – yet compulsive reading. The book ties into a forthcoming BBC 5-part TV series, written and presented by the author.

Like for Like Reading
The Decline and Fall of the British Empire, Piers Brendon
Daughters of Britannia: The Lives and Times of Diplomatic Wives, Katie Hickman

Synopsis

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British by Jeremy Paxman

From the bestselling author of The English comes Empire , Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr. The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings; the way we travel to the way we trade; the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away. In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire. As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable ') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves. Paxman is witty, incisive, acerbic and opinionated...In short, he carries the whole thing off with panache bordering on effrontery . (Piers Brendon, Sunday Times ). Paxman is a magnificent historian, and Empire may be remembered as his finest work . ( Independent on Sunday ). Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for Panorama . He is the author of five books including The English . He is the presenter of Newsnight and University Challenge and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.

About the Author

Jeremy Paxman

Jeremy Paxman is a renowned broadcaster, award-winning journalist and the bestselling author of seven works of non-fiction, including The English, The Political Animal and Empire.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th June 2012

Author

Jeremy Paxman

More books by Jeremy Paxman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jeremypaxman.net/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Viking an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Biography / Autobiography
History
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Colonialism & imperialism

ISBN

9780670919598

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools