Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British by Jeremy Paxman
  

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British

Biography / Autobiography   History   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

Sue Baker's View...

The key to the book is in the subtitle, not just a history of Empire but how it has and still continutes to influence Britain. Now only tatters remain but the Empire still lingers in the way we see the World. With empire builders veering all the way from brilliant to bungling, rapacious and the downright mad, it makes, at times, for some uncomfortable – yet compulsive reading. The book ties into a forthcoming BBC 5-part TV series, written and presented by the author.

Like for Like Reading
The Decline and Fall of the British Empire, Piers Brendon
Daughters of Britannia: The Lives and Times of Diplomatic Wives, Katie Hickman

Win 1 set of all 6 Wolfson Shortlisted Books

Awarded by the Wolfson Foundation each year since 1972, the Wolfson History Prize has become synonymous with celebrating outstanding history. Now in its 46th year, it remains Britain’s foremost history prize, promoting standards of excellence in scholarly history for a general audience.

The set of all 6 shortlisted books are up for grabs for one lucky winner.

The Wolfson History Prize 2018 Shorlisted books have recently been announced.

wolfson

This set includes:

Out of China by Robert Bickers
The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris
A Deadly Legacy
by Dr. Tim Grady
Black Tudors by Mirana Kaufmann
Heretics and Believers by Peter Marshall
Heligoland by Jan Ruger

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 05 June 2018. The winner will be notified by 18 June 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/06/2018

Synopsis

Empire What Ruling the World Did to the British by Jeremy Paxman

From the bestselling author of The English comes Empire , Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr. The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings; the way we travel to the way we trade; the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away. In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire. As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable ') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves. Paxman is witty, incisive, acerbic and opinionated...In short, he carries the whole thing off with panache bordering on effrontery . (Piers Brendon, Sunday Times ). Paxman is a magnificent historian, and Empire may be remembered as his finest work . ( Independent on Sunday ). Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for Panorama . He is the author of five books including The English . He is the presenter of Newsnight and University Challenge and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.

About the Author

Jeremy Paxman

Jeremy Paxman is a renowned broadcaster, award-winning journalist and the bestselling author of seven works of non-fiction, including The English, The Political Animal and Empire.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th February 2012

Author

Jeremy Paxman

More books by Jeremy Paxman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jeremypaxman.net/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Viking an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Biography / Autobiography
History
eBook Favourites

Colonialism & imperialism

ISBN

9780670919598

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools