Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

twitter book price comparison
Search our site
Once A Pilgrim by James Deegan Read the opening extract of the brand new James Deegan book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth by M. C. Scott
  

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

June 2012 Book of the Month.

M. C. Scott makes these ancient landscapes jump off the page, with bold and brutal storylines inhabited by touchingly real and compelling characters. After a particularly bloody and catastrophic defeat, the ill-fortuned Twelfth Legion loses its treasured eagle. It is up to Demalion of Macedon and his most trusted legionnaires to risk everything in the fight to get it, and their honour, back. Great read for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

If you like M. C. Scott you might also like to read books by Conn Iggulden, Robert Harris and Harry Sidebottom.

Win a SIGNED copy of The Wanderers and The Horseman!

To mark the release of second book in The West Country Trilogy by Tim Pears, we are giving away a SIGNED copy of both The Horseman and The Wanderers to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 12 February 2018. The winners will be notified by 19 February 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 12/02/2018

Synopsis

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth by M. C. Scott

They are known as the Legion of the Damned...Throughout the Roman Army, the Twelth Legion is notorious for its ill fortune. It faces the harshest of postings, the toughest of campaigns, the most vicious of opponents. For one young man, Demalion of Macedon, joining it will be a baptism of fire. And yet, amid all of the violence and savagery of his life as a legionary, he realises he has discovered a vocation - as a soldier and a leader of men. He has come to love the Twelth and all the bloody-minded, dark-hearted soldiers he calls his brothers. But all that he cares about is ripped from him when, during the brutal Judaean campaign, the Hebrew army inflict a catastrophic defeat upon the legion - not only decimating their ranks, but taking away their soul - the eagle. There is one final chance to save the legion's honour - to steal back the eagle. To do that, Demalion and his legionnaries must go undercover into the city of Jerusalem, into the very heart of their enemy, where discovery will mean the worst of deaths, if they are to recover their pride. And that, in itself, is a task worthy only of heroes.


Browse inside this book

About the Author

M. C. Scott

M. C. Scott qualified as a veterinary surgeon and taught at the University of Cambridge before turning a lifelong passion for the ancient world into a best-selling writing career.

As well as undertaking research in the University library for this series of novels, Scott is noted for the depth, accuracy and textured depictions of life in Roman times - and has spent weeks living in a roundhouse, has learned to make Roman swords and driven horses in harness the better to bring the detail to life. As Chair of the newly formed Historical Writers' Association, Scott is active in the promotion of all forms of historical writing.

For more information on M C Scott and the Rome series of novels, please visit: www.mcscott.co.uk

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th May 2012

Author

M. C. Scott

More books by M. C. Scott
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.mcscott.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Bantam Books (Transworld Publishers a division of the Random House Group) an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month


ISBN

9780593065440

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools