Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth by M. C. Scott

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

June 2012 Book of the Month.

M. C. Scott makes these ancient landscapes jump off the page, with bold and brutal storylines inhabited by touchingly real and compelling characters. After a particularly bloody and catastrophic defeat, the ill-fortuned Twelfth Legion loses its treasured eagle. It is up to Demalion of Macedon and his most trusted legionnaires to risk everything in the fight to get it, and their honour, back. Great read for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

If you like M. C. Scott you might also like to read books by Robert Harris, Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.


Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth by M. C. Scott

They are known as the Legion of the Damned...Throughout the Roman Army, the Twelth Legion is notorious for its ill fortune. It faces the harshest of postings, the toughest of campaigns, the most vicious of opponents. For one young man, Demalion of Macedon, joining it will be a baptism of fire. And yet, amid all of the violence and savagery of his life as a legionary, he realises he has discovered a vocation - as a soldier and a leader of men. He has come to love the Twelth and all the bloody-minded, dark-hearted soldiers he calls his brothers. But all that he cares about is ripped from him when, during the brutal Judaean campaign, the Hebrew army inflict a catastrophic defeat upon the legion - not only decimating their ranks, but taking away their soul - the eagle. There is one final chance to save the legion's honour - to steal back the eagle. To do that, Demalion and his legionnaries must go undercover into the city of Jerusalem, into the very heart of their enemy, where discovery will mean the worst of deaths, if they are to recover their pride. And that, in itself, is a task worthy only of heroes.

Browse inside this book

About the Author

M. C. Scott

M. C. Scott qualified as a veterinary surgeon and taught at the University of Cambridge before turning a lifelong passion for the ancient world into a best-selling writing career.

As well as undertaking research in the University library for this series of novels, Scott is noted for the depth, accuracy and textured depictions of life in Roman times - and has spent weeks living in a roundhouse, has learned to make Roman swords and driven horses in harness the better to bring the detail to life. As Chair of the newly formed Historical Writers' Association, Scott is active in the promotion of all forms of historical writing.

For more information on M C Scott and the Rome series of novels, please visit:

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th May 2012


M. C. Scott

More books by M. C. Scott
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Bantam Books (Transworld Publishers a division of the Random House Group) an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd




Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month



Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown