join us on facebook books of the month eleanor oliphant
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth by M. C. Scott
  

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   

RRP £14.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

June 2012 Book of the Month.

M. C. Scott makes these ancient landscapes jump off the page, with bold and brutal storylines inhabited by touchingly real and compelling characters. After a particularly bloody and catastrophic defeat, the ill-fortuned Twelfth Legion loses its treasured eagle. It is up to Demalion of Macedon and his most trusted legionnaires to risk everything in the fight to get it, and their honour, back. Great read for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

If you like M. C. Scott you might also like to read books by Harry Sidebottom, Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.

Synopsis

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth by M. C. Scott

They are known as the Legion of the Damned...Throughout the Roman Army, the Twelth Legion is notorious for its ill fortune. It faces the harshest of postings, the toughest of campaigns, the most vicious of opponents. For one young man, Demalion of Macedon, joining it will be a baptism of fire. And yet, amid all of the violence and savagery of his life as a legionary, he realises he has discovered a vocation - as a soldier and a leader of men. He has come to love the Twelth and all the bloody-minded, dark-hearted soldiers he calls his brothers. But all that he cares about is ripped from him when, during the brutal Judaean campaign, the Hebrew army inflict a catastrophic defeat upon the legion - not only decimating their ranks, but taking away their soul - the eagle. There is one final chance to save the legion's honour - to steal back the eagle. To do that, Demalion and his legionnaries must go undercover into the city of Jerusalem, into the very heart of their enemy, where discovery will mean the worst of deaths, if they are to recover their pride. And that, in itself, is a task worthy only of heroes.


Browse inside this book

About the Author

M. C. Scott

M. C. Scott qualified as a veterinary surgeon and taught at the University of Cambridge before turning a lifelong passion for the ancient world into a best-selling writing career.

As well as undertaking research in the University library for this series of novels, Scott is noted for the depth, accuracy and textured depictions of life in Roman times - and has spent weeks living in a roundhouse, has learned to make Roman swords and driven horses in harness the better to bring the detail to life. As Chair of the newly formed Historical Writers' Association, Scott is active in the promotion of all forms of historical writing.

For more information on M C Scott and the Rome series of novels, please visit: www.mcscott.co.uk

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th May 2012

Author

M. C. Scott

More books by M. C. Scott
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.mcscott.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Bantam Books (Transworld Publishers a division of the Random House Group) an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month


ISBN

9780593065440

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools