Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

hold back the stars
Search our site
Once A Pilgrim by James Deegan Read the opening extract of the brand new James Deegan book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Rome : The Coming of the King by M. C. Scott
  

Rome : The Coming of the King

Part of the Rome Series
Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

June 2012 Book of the Month.

The second in an excellent Roman historical series following the adventures of the very real Sebastos Pantera, who in AD 65 was Emperor Nero's most trusted and most effective spy. These books are meticulously researched and bring to life the politics, religion and social history of Roman times with fascinating and intriguing stories. Great read for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

If you like M. C. Scott you might also like to read books by Harry Sidebottom, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a SIGNED copy of The Wanderers and The Horseman!

To mark the release of second book in The West Country Trilogy by Tim Pears, we are giving away a SIGNED copy of both The Horseman and The Wanderers to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 12 February 2018. The winners will be notified by 19 February 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 12/02/2018

Synopsis

Rome : The Coming of the King by M. C. Scott

AD 65. Sebastos Pantera, known to his many enemies as the Leopard, is the spy the Emperor Nero uses only for the most challenging and important of missions. Hunting alone, not knowing who he can trust, he must find the most dangerous man in Rome's empire and bring him to bloody justice. But his prey is cunning, subtle and ruthless. Saulos has pledged to bring about the destruction of an entire Roman province and has even now set the means to do so in motion. It will take the strategies of a master hunter to combat the brilliance of Saulos' plan, and so Pantera must set forth into the wild lands of Judaea to set an equally deadly trap for his arch-enemy and nemesis...


Browse inside this book

Reviews

Religious and political tensions, passion and intrigue, superb action sequences and real and imagined characters are seamlessly woven together to create a fascinating and exciting story on a truly epic scale -- LAURA WILSON * Guardian * A dramatic new version of the past...grippingly sustained -- JANE JAKEMAN * Independent * Rome: The Coming of the King is an intricately woven, cleverly plotted and exceedingly well-written book. Miss it at your peril! -- BEN KANE Stunningly good. Rome: The Coming of the King gives the reader the extraordinary sense of living within another time and place - smelling its smells, tasting its tastes, thinking its thoughts and dreaming its dreams ... A quite exceptional historical novel -- ANDREW TAYLOR From the deserts and the people who roam them, to the cities and the kings who rule them, MC Scott deftly recreates the dangerous world of a country dominated by Rome. Superbly written and immaculately researched, Rome: The Coming of the King left me desperate to know what happens next! -- DOUGLAS JACKSON


About the Author

M. C. Scott

M. C. Scott qualified as a veterinary surgeon and taught at the University of Cambridge before turning a lifelong passion for the ancient world into a best-selling writing career.

As well as undertaking research in the University library for this series of novels, Scott is noted for the depth, accuracy and textured depictions of life in Roman times - and has spent weeks living in a roundhouse, has learned to make Roman swords and driven horses in harness the better to bring the detail to life. As Chair of the newly formed Historical Writers' Association, Scott is active in the promotion of all forms of historical writing.

For more information on M C Scott and the Rome series of novels, please visit: www.mcscott.co.uk

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th May 2012

Author

M. C. Scott

More books by M. C. Scott
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.mcscott.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corgi Books an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback
496 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780552161794

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools