Harry Potter House Eds newgen books for YA readers make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Rome : The Coming of the King by M. C. Scott
  

Rome : The Coming of the King

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

June 2012 Book of the Month.

The second in an excellent Roman historical series following the adventures of the very real Sebastos Pantera, who in AD 65 was Emperor Nero's most trusted and most effective spy. These books are meticulously researched and bring to life the politics, religion and social history of Roman times with fascinating and intriguing stories. Great read for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

If you like M. C. Scott you might also like to read books by Harry Sidebottom, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Rome : The Coming of the King by M. C. Scott

AD 65. Sebastos Pantera, known to his many enemies as the Leopard, is the spy the Emperor Nero uses only for the most challenging and important of missions. Hunting alone, not knowing who he can trust, he must find the most dangerous man in Rome's empire and bring him to bloody justice. But his prey is cunning, subtle and ruthless. Saulos has pledged to bring about the destruction of an entire Roman province and has even now set the means to do so in motion. It will take the strategies of a master hunter to combat the brilliance of Saulos' plan, and so Pantera must set forth into the wild lands of Judaea to set an equally deadly trap for his arch-enemy and nemesis...


Browse inside this book

Reviews

Religious and political tensions, passion and intrigue, superb action sequences and real and imagined characters are seamlessly woven together to create a fascinating and exciting story on a truly epic scale -- LAURA WILSON Guardian A dramatic new version of the past...grippingly sustained -- JANE JAKEMAN Independent Rome: The Coming of the King is an intricately woven, cleverly plotted and exceedingly well-written book. Miss it at your peril! -- BEN KANE Stunningly good. Rome: The Coming of the King gives the reader the extraordinary sense of living within another time and place - smelling its smells, tasting its tastes, thinking its thoughts and dreaming its dreams ... A quite exceptional historical novel -- ANDREW TAYLOR From the deserts and the people who roam them, to the cities and the kings who rule them, MC Scott deftly recreates the dangerous world of a country dominated by Rome. Superbly written and immaculately researched, Rome: The Coming of the King left me desperate to know what happens next! -- DOUGLAS JACKSON


About the Author

M. C. Scott

M. C. Scott qualified as a veterinary surgeon and taught at the University of Cambridge before turning a lifelong passion for the ancient world into a best-selling writing career.

As well as undertaking research in the University library for this series of novels, Scott is noted for the depth, accuracy and textured depictions of life in Roman times - and has spent weeks living in a roundhouse, has learned to make Roman swords and driven horses in harness the better to bring the detail to life. As Chair of the newly formed Historical Writers' Association, Scott is active in the promotion of all forms of historical writing.

For more information on M C Scott and the Rome series of novels, please visit: www.mcscott.co.uk

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th May 2012

Author

M. C. Scott

More books by M. C. Scott
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.mcscott.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corgi Books an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback
496 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780552161794

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools