Time & Tide : A Hew Cullan Mystery

by Shirley McKay

Part of the The Hew Cullan Mysteries Series

Crime / Mystery Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on Time & Tide : A Hew Cullan Mystery

The adventures of Hew Cullan, the young 16th century lawyer continue in this 3rd instalment. A shipwreck in St Andrews leads Hew to Ghent where the discovery of a strange secret tests his principles to the limit.  Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and C J Sansom.

 

The Hew Cullan series:
1. Hue & Cry
2. Fate & Fortune
3. Time & Tide
4. Friend & Foe
5. Queen & Country

Time & Tide : A Hew Cullan Mystery Synopsis

1582, St Andrews. In the swell of a storm, a battered ship is wrecked in St Andrews harbour. Aboard is a young Flemish sailor - the only survivor. The cargo of the ship appears a welcome windfall but it soon brings devastation to the town as petty squabbling turns to hysteria and tragedy. Hew traces the ship to its source in Ghent, where he uncovers a strange secret. Unwilling to allow the law to take its course, he returns once more to the role of advocate and finds his deepest principles being tested to the core.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Is There Life on Mars? The 20 Big Universe Questions
The Day without Yesterday
The Sensorium of God
The Sky's Dark Labyrinth

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781846972188
Publication date: 05/03/2012
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781846971945
Publication date: 17/05/2011
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781846972188
Publication date: 5th March 2012
Author: Shirley McKay
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About Shirley McKay

Shirley McKay was born in Tynemouth but now lives with her family in Fife. At the age of fifteen she won the Young Observer playwriting competition, her play being performed at the Royal Court Theatre Upstairs. She went on to study English and Linguistics at the University of St Andrews before attending Durham University for postgraduate study in Romantic and seventeenth century prose. She was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. Shirley works as a freelance proofreader. Below is a Q&A with with the author.  1. Do you have a favourite character in the book? It has ...

More About Shirley McKay

More Books By Shirley McKay

Cover for 1588: A Calendar of Crime A Novel in Five Books by Shirley McKay
Cover for 1588: A Calendar of Crime A Novel in Five Books by Shirley McKay
Cover for Queen & Country A Hew Cullan Mystery by Shirley McKay
View All Books By Shirley McKay

Share this book