rebus 30th anniversary books of the month eleanor oliphant
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Pleasures of Men by Kate Williams
  

The Pleasures of Men

Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

With an elegant style and thrilling plot, The Pleasures of Men reveals the dark, beating heart of corrupt London during Queen Victoria's reign.

If you like Kate Williams you might also like to read books by Julian Fellowes, Sarah Waters and Ian McEwan.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

The Pleasures of Men by Kate Williams

It's Spitalfields, 1840. Catherine Sorgeiul lives with her Uncle in a rambling house in London's East End. She has few companions and little to occupy the days beyond her own colourful imagination. But then a murderer strikes, ripping open the chests of young girls and stuffing hair into their mouths to resemble a beak, leading the press to christen him The Man of Crows. And as Catherine hungrily devours the news, she finds she can channel the voices of the dead ...and comes to believe she will eventually channel The Man of Crows himself. But the murders continue to panic the city and Catherine gradually realizes she is snared in a deadly trap, where nothing is as it first appears ...and lurking behind the lies Catherine has been told are secrets more deadly and devastating than anything her imagination can conjure.

Reviews

A wonderfully ripe, imaginative and gripping piece of Victorian pastiche, with a spider's web of a plot and a spine-tingling atmosphere of menace and suspense The Times Fans of Sarah Waters will love this Good Housekeeping The Pleasures of Men shares with Wolf Hall an ambitious, challenging concern with form combined with a pitch-perfect historical ear ... This intoxicating and disturbing novel is properly thrilling and extraordinarily well-written. Kate Williams is already an accomplished biographer; The Pleasures of Men shows a soaring talent let loose Independent on Sunday A dark story of murder and obsession Elle Catherine Sorgeuil's obsession with a series of murders of young girls in London's East End enmeshes her in deceit, betrayal and danger. A spine-tingling, seductive thriller Woman and Home An intense, intelligent and hugely entertaining read The Guardian Historian Kate Williams successfully makes the move from non-fiction, creating a society, and protagonist, on the brink of hysteria Psychologies A sure-footed evocation of seamy Victorian London Sunday Telegraph Part-bodice-ripper, part-slasher, the book's elaborate plot moves along at a brisk clip with a nod to the likes of Sarah Waters and Peter Ackroyd Daily Mail As crowded with sensation as a Victorian parlour with furniture The Scotsman Not since Sarah Waters have I seen so much lesbian sex in a historical novel -- Mariella Frostrup Radio 4 Open Book Williams creates an extraordinary world with unforgettable characters and a dark heart - highly recommended The Bookseller An eerie murder mystery set in the corrupt heart of Victorian London Marie Claire Good Book Club pick This is a fast-paced thriller written by an expert on all things Victorian. Fans of Sarah Waters and Michel Faber will revel in this charged and colourful Victorian epic The Bookseller Mesmerising, elegant and compelling The Lady


About the Author

Kate Williams studied her BA at Somerville College, Oxford where she was a College Scholar and received the Violet Vaughan Morgan University Scholarship. She then took her MA at Queen Mary, University of London and her DPhil at Oxford. Kate's first book was England's Mistress: the Infamous Life of Emma Hamilton and her second, Becoming Queen was about the passionate youth of Queen Victoria and Princess Charlotte. She was also a consultant on the movie Young Victoria which starred Emily Blunt and Rupert Friend and has appeared on the Today programme and as a guest reviewer on Newsnight Review in addition to presenting a programme about Queen Victoria for BBC2's Timewatch.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

19th January 2012

Author

Kate Williams

More books by Kate Williams
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kate-williams.com
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Michael Joseph Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780241951392

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools