The Fallen Blade : Act One of the Assassini

by Jon Courtenay Grimwood

Part of the Assassini Series


LoveReading View on The Fallen Blade : Act One of the Assassini

A Maxim Jakubowski Best Science Fiction selection.

The initial volume in a new trilogy, THE ASSASSINI, by the popular British SF author, this is also his first venture into fantasy. It's Venice in 1407 and Atilo, Duke Marco's chief assassin comes across a teenage vampire and attempts to enroll him as his assistant. Allying the complex politics of the historical city state of the past with a careful blend of supernatural elements works wonders as the author's impeccable research brings the city to life against a blend of larger than life (and often immortal..) characters at work and murderous play. Twisted and ornate thrills by the bucket.

Maxim Jakubowski

The Fallen Blade : Act One of the Assassini Synopsis

Venice, 1407. The city is at the height of its powers. In theory, Duke Marco commands, but Marco is a simpleton so his aunt and uncle rule in his stead. They seem all powerful, yet live in fear of assassins better than their own. On the night their world changes, Marco's young cousin prays in the family chapel for deliverance from a forced marriage. It is her misfortune to be alone when Mamluk pirates break in to abduct her - an act that will ultimately trigger war. Elsewhere Atilo, the Duke's chief assassin, cuts a man's throat. Hearing a noise, he turns back to find a boy drinking from the victim's wound. The speed with which the angel-faced boy dodges his dagger and scales a wall stuns Atilo. He knows then he must hunt him. Not to kill him, but because he's finally found what he thought was impossible - someone fit to be his apprentice. Award-winning author Jon Courtenay Grimwood is a master storyteller. Here, he blends history, politics and dark fantasy in a compelling vision of an alternative Venice.

The Fallen Blade : Act One of the Assassini Press Reviews

'Sharp as a stiletto, dark and dazzling as a masquerade. Grimwood's Venice is totally compelling'
Mike Carey

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Massacre of Mankind
Only Forward
Hide Me Among the Graves
Iron Winter

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781841498461
Publication date: 05/04/2012
Publisher: Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781841498461
Publication date: 5th April 2012
Author: Jon Courtenay Grimwood
Publisher: Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: Fantasy,
Categories: Fantasy,

About Jon Courtenay Grimwood

Jon Courtenay Grimwood has worked as a freelance writer for magazines and newspapers including the Guardian.  He has been shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award twice and the BSFA Award for Best Novel seven times, winning twice.  He lives in Winchester with his wife: novelist and editor of Red magazine, Sam Baker.   Author photo © Charlie Hopkinson

More About Jon Courtenay Grimwood

More Books By Jon Courtenay Grimwood

Cover for 9Tail Fox by Jon Courtenay Grimwood
Cover for Stamping Butterflies by Jon Courtenay Grimwood
View All Books By Jon Courtenay Grimwood

Share this book