Fate & Fortune : A Hew Cullan Mystery

by Shirley McKay

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on Fate & Fortune : A Hew Cullan Mystery

We loved the debut adventure Hue and Cry and the follow up is equally good. This time we find Hew Cullan the young 16th century lawyer disillusioned with the law but a move to Edinburgh turns things around when love and murder both cross his path. These books are perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and C J Sansom. It’s historical crime at its intriguing best.

 

The Hew Cullan series:
1. Hue & Cry
2. Fate & Fortune
3. Time & Tide
4. Friend & Foe
5. Queen & Country

Fate & Fortune : A Hew Cullan Mystery Synopsis

1581: young St Andrews academic Hew Cullan is unhappy with his life and disillusioned with the law. After his father's death he is invited by the advocate Richard Cunningham to complete his legal education in Edinburgh as Richard's pupil at the bar. Among his father's things Hew finds a manuscript entitled 'In Defence of the Law', directed to the Edinburgh printer, Christian Hall. At first, he resists its influence, but when a young girl is found dead on the beach at St Andrews, he is left unsettled and confused. He resolves to take the book to press and agrees to Richard's offer. Embarking on his new life in the capital, he falls in love. His relationships are fraught with lies and secrets and lead to brutal murder on the borough muir. Hew suspects a link with the dead girl on the beach. As he begins his desperate search to find the killer, he finds that the truth lies closer to home.

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Closing date: 31/08/2018

We are offering THREE lucky people the chance to win the Series 4 box set of the hit ITV period drama (RRP: £24.99). 1796: To defend Cornwall and those he loves from an empowered George, Ross must learn to play the political game on a journey that takes him to the nation's capital and into new perils. While Demelza manages the Poldark’s affairs at home, Elizabeth moves to further secure her marriage. Drake struggles in resigning Morwenna to life with Osborne and the Enyses are tested as never before. Prime Minister Pitt calls an election and uncertainty grips the country. While Ross watches Cornwall suffer under the power of Truro’s MP, George Warleggan, Demelza’s infidelity leaves her strained between her husband and a lovesick Hugh, who is set to rival George in the upcoming election. The Enyses contemplate having a child and Elizabeth seeks the same to secure her marriage. Meanwhile, Morwenna uses Osborne’s affair with her sister Rowella to keep the reverend’s advances at bay and Demelza seeks to reconcile rival local Lords Falmouth and Basset. The draw closes on the 31st August and the winner will be notified by the 7th September.

Enter Now

Fate & Fortune : A Hew Cullan Mystery Press Reviews

'Intoxicating mix of dramatic crime and repressed passion'
NEW BOOKS

If you loved this, you might like these...

Is There Life on Mars? The 20 Big Universe Questions
The Day without Yesterday
The Sensorium of God
The Sky's Dark Labyrinth

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781846971808
Publication date: 18/04/2011
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781846971808
Publication date: 18th April 2011
Author: Shirley McKay
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories:

About Shirley McKay

Shirley McKay was born in Tynemouth but now lives with her family in Fife. At the age of fifteen she won the Young Observer playwriting competition, her play being performed at the Royal Court Theatre Upstairs. She went on to study English and Linguistics at the University of St Andrews before attending Durham University for postgraduate study in Romantic and seventeenth century prose. She was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. Shirley works as a freelance proofreader. Below is a Q&A with with the author.  1. Do you have a favourite character in the book? It has ...

More About Shirley McKay

More Books By Shirley McKay

Cover for 1588: A Calendar of Crime A Novel in Five Books by Shirley McKay
Cover for 1588: A Calendar of Crime A Novel in Five Books by Shirley McKay
Cover for Queen & Country A Hew Cullan Mystery by Shirley McKay
View All Books By Shirley McKay

Share this book