granchester desmond elliott 2017 books of the month
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield
  

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake

Literary Fiction   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Debuts of the Year 2011.

July 2011 Debut of the Month.

Funny, wise, heart-stopping and heart-breaking, with a cast of unforgettable characters, The Homecoming of Samuel Lake is a masterpiece of storytelling.

A "Piece of Passion" from the publisher...

'I’d almost forgotten what it was like to fall headlong into a novel when I picked up The Homecoming of Samuel Lake. This is a locomotive of a story – fast, fearsome and funny – and introduces Swan Lake, an 11-year-old tomboy like no other. This is a perfect book to take on holiday – utterly compulsive and emotionally satisfying, in the tradition of The Help and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Pie Peel Society. I’m stunned that a first-time novelist can write a story as accomplished as this, and I hope it captures your heart in the same way it has mine.' Essie Cousins, Editorial Director, 4th Estate and HarperPress

If you like Jenny Wingfield you might also like to read books by Fanny Flagg, Elizabeth Berg and Rebecca Wells.

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield

It's 1956 and Samuel Lake, a handsome preacher, is voted out of his ministry by yet another congregation, disappointed by his relentless pleas for them to live more charitable lives. Out of options and out of pocket, Samuel and his family are forced to move in with their Arkansas in-laws, the rambunctious Moses clan.

At first they thrive in the unruly sea of relatives -- Willa, Samuel's wife, runs the bar for Grandma Calla, while the boys, Noble and Bienville, run riot through the surrounding countryside. But when Swan, their formidable but loveable 11-year-old tomboy, crosses the path of neighbour Raz Ballenger, things take a turn for the worse.

Raz Ballenger, horse trainer, is a man who rules both his family and his animals through terror. Used to instant obedience, he is insulted when Swan leaps to his son's defence, an act that sets a whole chain of unexpected and terrible events into motion!

Reviews

'With a teeming cast of memorable characters and an often heartbreaking story line, this gracefully written novel is sure to appeal broadly... it is the work of a born storyteller and a good choice for bookclubs'
Booklist

'One of the most promising fictional debuts [with] a potential to thrill'
Publishers Weekly

'Readers will lift up their hands in praise of this layered, old-fashioned tale of sin, grace and retribution. The Homecoming of Samuel Lake has a supreme cast of characters including a flawed but righteous daddy, a makes-your-skin-crawl villain, and the sassiest, truest girl heroine this side of Scout Finch. Can I get an Amen ?'
Susan Rebecca White, author of A SOFT PLACE TO LAND and BOUND SOUTH

'Jenny Wingfield's richly detailed account of good and evil in 1950s Arkansas will captivate anyone who treasures the values of faith and honesty that are a part of America's rural past. Wingfield's sense of people and place is uncanny. After reading The Homecoming of Samuel Lake , you too, will believe in miracles'
Sandra Dallas, New York Times best

-selling author of PRAYERS FOR SALE and WHITER THAN SNOW


About the Author

Jenny Wingfield

Jenny Wingfield is an accomplished screenwriter. Her credits include The Man in the Moon (starring Reese Witherspoon), as well as The Outsider (starring Naomi Watts). She lives in Texas and this is her first novel.

Author photo © Lori Harwell

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th July 2011

Author

Jenny Wingfield

More books by Jenny Wingfield
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperPress an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
336 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007348145

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools