The Homecoming of Samuel Lake

by Jenny Wingfield

Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Homecoming of Samuel Lake

One of our Debuts of the Year 2011.

 

July 2011 Debut of the Month.

Funny, wise, heart-stopping and heart-breaking, with a cast of unforgettable characters, The Homecoming of Samuel Lake is a masterpiece of storytelling.

 

A "Piece of Passion" from the publisher...

'I’d almost forgotten what it was like to fall headlong into a novel when I picked up The Homecoming of Samuel Lake. This is a locomotive of a story – fast, fearsome and funny – and introduces Swan Lake, an 11-year-old tomboy like no other.  This is a perfect book to take on holiday – utterly compulsive and emotionally satisfying, in the tradition of The Help and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Pie Peel Society. I’m stunned that a first-time novelist can write a story as accomplished as this, and I hope it captures your heart in the same way it has mine.' Essie Cousins, Editorial Director, 4th Estate and HarperPress

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake Synopsis

It's 1956 and Samuel Lake, a handsome preacher, is voted out of his ministry by yet another congregation, disappointed by his relentless pleas for them to live more charitable lives. Out of options and out of pocket, Samuel and his family are forced to move in with their Arkansas in-laws, the rambunctious Moses clan.

 

At first they thrive in the unruly sea of relatives -- Willa, Samuel's wife, runs the bar for Grandma Calla, while the boys, Noble and Bienville, run riot through the surrounding countryside. But when Swan, their formidable but loveable 11-year-old tomboy, crosses the path of neighbour Raz Ballenger, things take a turn for the worse.

 

Raz Ballenger, horse trainer, is a man who rules both his family and his animals through terror. Used to instant obedience, he is insulted when Swan leaps to his son's defence, an act that sets a whole chain of unexpected and terrible events into motion!

If you loved this, you might like these...

Say When
Before Her Eyes
Symposium
My Absolute Darling

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007348145
Publication date: 07/07/2011
Publisher: HarperPress an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007348145
Publication date: 7th July 2011
Author: Jenny Wingfield
Publisher: HarperPress an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Genres: Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Literary Fiction,
Categories:

About Jenny Wingfield

Jenny Wingfield is an accomplished screenwriter. Her credits include The Man in the Moon (starring Reese Witherspoon), as well as The Outsider (starring Naomi Watts). She lives in Texas and this is her first novel.   Author photo © Lori Harwell

More About Jenny Wingfield

More Books By Jenny Wingfield

Cover for The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield
View All Books By Jenny Wingfield

Share this book