debuts of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

There's Always Tomorrow by Pam Weaver
  

There's Always Tomorrow

Romantic Fiction   Debuts of the Month   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

A compelling family drama that will appeal to fans of Maureen Lee, Lyn Andrews, Josephine Cox and Annie Groves. Incredibly vivid and evocative of time and place yet also incredibly gritty and hard-hitting There's Always Tomorrow firmly places Pam Weaver as a tremendous new find for those who love reading historical romance.

If you like Pam Weaver you might also like to read books by Maureen Lee, Alan Bennett and Mary Jane Staples.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

There's Always Tomorrow by Pam Weaver

For better for worse, 'til death us do part! When Dottie's husband Reg receives a mysterious letter through the post, Dottie has no idea that this letter will change her life forever. Traumatised by his experiences fighting in World War II, Reg isn't the same man that Dottie remembers when he is demobbed and returns home to their cottage in Worthing. Once caring and considerate, Reg has become violent and cruel. Dottie just wants her marriage to work and tries hard to please Reg, although nothing she does seems to work. The letter informs Reg that he is the father of a child born out of a dalliance during the war. The child has been orphaned and sole care of the young girl has now fallen to him. He seems delighted but Dottie is far from pleased and struggles with the idea of bringing up another woman's child, especially as she and Reg are further away than ever from having one of their own. However, when eight-year-old Patsy arrives the smile is wiped off Reg's face for Patsy is far from what he had expected. Patsy's arrival opens a whole can of worms and it becomes clear that Reg has been very economical with the truth. But can Dottie get to the bottom of the things before Reg goes too far?

Reviews

`A heartrending story about mothers and daughters.
Kitty Neale

`A vivid and authentic tale about life after the war.
Anne Bennett

`Saga fans everywhere will love it and will be asking for more.
Annie Groves

About the Author

Pam Weaver

Pam Weaver is married with grown-up children. Her first novel, There's Always Tomorrow, was published in 2011.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th July 2011

Author

Pam Weaver

More books by Pam Weaver
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pamweaver.co.uk/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Debuts of the Month
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781847562678

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools