books of the month desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

There's Always Tomorrow by Pam Weaver
  

There's Always Tomorrow

Romantic Fiction   Debuts of the Month   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

A compelling family drama that will appeal to fans of Maureen Lee, Lyn Andrews, Josephine Cox and Annie Groves. Incredibly vivid and evocative of time and place yet also incredibly gritty and hard-hitting There's Always Tomorrow firmly places Pam Weaver as a tremendous new find for those who love reading historical romance.

If you like Pam Weaver you might also like to read books by Maureen Lee, Mary Jane Staples and Josephine Cox.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Cornish Gift!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of A Cornish Gift, Fern Britton's festive short story collection - each with a book plate signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

There's Always Tomorrow by Pam Weaver

For better for worse, 'til death us do part! When Dottie's husband Reg receives a mysterious letter through the post, Dottie has no idea that this letter will change her life forever. Traumatised by his experiences fighting in World War II, Reg isn't the same man that Dottie remembers when he is demobbed and returns home to their cottage in Worthing. Once caring and considerate, Reg has become violent and cruel. Dottie just wants her marriage to work and tries hard to please Reg, although nothing she does seems to work. The letter informs Reg that he is the father of a child born out of a dalliance during the war. The child has been orphaned and sole care of the young girl has now fallen to him. He seems delighted but Dottie is far from pleased and struggles with the idea of bringing up another woman's child, especially as she and Reg are further away than ever from having one of their own. However, when eight-year-old Patsy arrives the smile is wiped off Reg's face for Patsy is far from what he had expected. Patsy's arrival opens a whole can of worms and it becomes clear that Reg has been very economical with the truth. But can Dottie get to the bottom of the things before Reg goes too far?

Reviews

'A heartrending story about mothers and daughters.'
Kitty Neale

'A vivid and authentic tale about life after the war.'
Anne Bennett

'Saga fans everywhere will love it and will be asking for more.'
Annie Groves

About the Author

Pam Weaver

Pam Weaver is married with grown-up children. Her first novel, There's Always Tomorrow, was published in 2011.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th July 2011

Author

Pam Weaver

More books by Pam Weaver
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pamweaver.co.uk/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Debuts of the Month
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781847562678

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools