Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

books of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

There's Always Tomorrow by Pam Weaver
  

There's Always Tomorrow

Romantic Fiction   Debuts of the Month   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

A compelling family drama that will appeal to fans of Maureen Lee, Lyn Andrews, Josephine Cox and Annie Groves. Incredibly vivid and evocative of time and place yet also incredibly gritty and hard-hitting There's Always Tomorrow firmly places Pam Weaver as a tremendous new find for those who love reading historical romance.

If you like Pam Weaver you might also like to read books by Maureen Lee, Josephine Cox and Mary Jane Staples.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

There's Always Tomorrow by Pam Weaver

For better for worse, 'til death us do part! When Dottie's husband Reg receives a mysterious letter through the post, Dottie has no idea that this letter will change her life forever. Traumatised by his experiences fighting in World War II, Reg isn't the same man that Dottie remembers when he is demobbed and returns home to their cottage in Worthing. Once caring and considerate, Reg has become violent and cruel. Dottie just wants her marriage to work and tries hard to please Reg, although nothing she does seems to work. The letter informs Reg that he is the father of a child born out of a dalliance during the war. The child has been orphaned and sole care of the young girl has now fallen to him. He seems delighted but Dottie is far from pleased and struggles with the idea of bringing up another woman's child, especially as she and Reg are further away than ever from having one of their own. However, when eight-year-old Patsy arrives the smile is wiped off Reg's face for Patsy is far from what he had expected. Patsy's arrival opens a whole can of worms and it becomes clear that Reg has been very economical with the truth. But can Dottie get to the bottom of the things before Reg goes too far?

Reviews

`A heartrending story about mothers and daughters.
Kitty Neale

`A vivid and authentic tale about life after the war.
Anne Bennett

`Saga fans everywhere will love it and will be asking for more.
Annie Groves

About the Author

Pam Weaver

Pam Weaver is married with grown-up children. Her first novel, There's Always Tomorrow, was published in 2011.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th July 2011

Author

Pam Weaver

More books by Pam Weaver
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pamweaver.co.uk/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Debuts of the Month
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781847562678

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools