join us on facebook books of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Secrets of the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette
  

Secrets of the Tudor Court

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Attendant to Anne Boleyn, Mary Howard must learn to play her part well in a dangerous chess game between the court of Henry VIII and that of her father that could change her life and the course of history. It's an unforgettable drama of betrayal, ambition, lost innocence and perseverance and perfect for fans of Phillipa Gregory's novels.

Synopsis

Secrets of the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette

When young Mary Howard receives the news that she will be leaving her home for the grand court of King Henry VIII, to attend his mistress Anne Boleyn, she is ecstatic. Everything Anne touches seems to turn to gold, and Mary is certain Anne will one day become Queen. But Mary has also seen the King's fickle nature and how easily he discards those who were once close to him! Discovering that she is a pawn in a carefully orchestrated plot devised by her father, the duke of Norfolk, Mary dare not disobey him. Yet despite all of her efforts to please him, she too falls prey to his cold wrath. Not until she becomes betrothed to Harry Fitzroy, the Duke of Richmond and son to King Henry VIII, does Mary finds the love and approval she s been seeking. But just when Mary believes she is finally free of her father, the tides turn.

Reviews

'A beautifully written story of wonderful attention to detail. Ms. Bonnette has a unique and vivid style that caught me from the first page and carried me off into the characters, the times and their story. I loved the book.' Diane Hagar, author of The Queen's Mistake

'Throbs with intensity as it lays bare the secret delights of Tudor court life and the sudden, lethal terrors. A tale of innocence and ruthless ambition locked in a love-hate embrace.'

Barbara Kyle, author of The King's Daughter

About the Author

Darcey Bonnette
Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th January 2011

Author

Darcey Bonnette

More books by Darcey Bonnette
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781847562395

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools