Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

books of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Secrets of the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette
  

Secrets of the Tudor Court

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Attendant to Anne Boleyn, Mary Howard must learn to play her part well in a dangerous chess game between the court of Henry VIII and that of her father that could change her life and the course of history. It's an unforgettable drama of betrayal, ambition, lost innocence and perseverance and perfect for fans of Phillipa Gregory's novels.

Synopsis

Secrets of the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette

When young Mary Howard receives the news that she will be leaving her home for the grand court of King Henry VIII, to attend his mistress Anne Boleyn, she is ecstatic. Everything Anne touches seems to turn to gold, and Mary is certain Anne will one day become Queen. But Mary has also seen the King's fickle nature and how easily he discards those who were once close to him! Discovering that she is a pawn in a carefully orchestrated plot devised by her father, the duke of Norfolk, Mary dare not disobey him. Yet despite all of her efforts to please him, she too falls prey to his cold wrath. Not until she becomes betrothed to Harry Fitzroy, the Duke of Richmond and son to King Henry VIII, does Mary finds the love and approval she s been seeking. But just when Mary believes she is finally free of her father, the tides turn.

Reviews

'A beautifully written story of wonderful attention to detail. Ms. Bonnette has a unique and vivid style that caught me from the first page and carried me off into the characters, the times and their story. I loved the book.' Diane Hagar, author of The Queen's Mistake

'Throbs with intensity as it lays bare the secret delights of Tudor court life and the sudden, lethal terrors. A tale of innocence and ruthless ambition locked in a love-hate embrace.'

Barbara Kyle, author of The King's Daughter

About the Author

Darcey Bonnette
Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th January 2011

Author

Darcey Bonnette

More books by Darcey Bonnette
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781847562395

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools