join us on facebook book price comparison
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Secrets of the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette
  

Secrets of the Tudor Court

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Attendant to Anne Boleyn, Mary Howard must learn to play her part well in a dangerous chess game between the court of Henry VIII and that of her father that could change her life and the course of history. It's an unforgettable drama of betrayal, ambition, lost innocence and perseverance and perfect for fans of Phillipa Gregory's novels.

Synopsis

Secrets of the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette

When young Mary Howard receives the news that she will be leaving her home for the grand court of King Henry VIII, to attend his mistress Anne Boleyn, she is ecstatic. Everything Anne touches seems to turn to gold, and Mary is certain Anne will one day become Queen. But Mary has also seen the King's fickle nature and how easily he discards those who were once close to him! Discovering that she is a pawn in a carefully orchestrated plot devised by her father, the duke of Norfolk, Mary dare not disobey him. Yet despite all of her efforts to please him, she too falls prey to his cold wrath. Not until she becomes betrothed to Harry Fitzroy, the Duke of Richmond and son to King Henry VIII, does Mary finds the love and approval she s been seeking. But just when Mary believes she is finally free of her father, the tides turn.

Reviews

'A beautifully written story of wonderful attention to detail. Ms. Bonnette has a unique and vivid style that caught me from the first page and carried me off into the characters, the times and their story. I loved the book.' Diane Hagar, author of The Queen's Mistake

'Throbs with intensity as it lays bare the secret delights of Tudor court life and the sudden, lethal terrors. A tale of innocence and ruthless ambition locked in a love-hate embrace.'

Barbara Kyle, author of The King's Daughter

About the Author

Darcey Bonnette
Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th January 2011

Author

Darcey Bonnette

More books by Darcey Bonnette
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781847562395

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools