win prizes books of the month twitter
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Very Thought of You by Rosie Alison
  

The Very Thought of You

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the prestigious 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction.

A beautifully written debut novel about love and loss. When the young Anna Sands is evacuated to a country estate she becomes embroiled in the complicated twists and turns of a love affair she should really know nothing about. A sensitive and moving coming of age novel.

"A fantastic and beautiful description of an evacuee child in wartime. One of those books that you’re likely to remember all your life.” Alexandra Shulman (Orange Prize for Fiction 2010 judging panel)

If you like Rosie Alison you might also like to read books by Liz Trenow and Richard Madeley.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. This debut novel is set during the Phoney War just before the invasion of Poland in 1939. Anna Sands aged eight, is sent to an evacuees’ boarding school in North Yorkshire, home of the enigmatic and childless Thomas and Elizabeth Ashton. The people she meets and the secrets this curious little girl uncovers there profoundly affect the course of her future life. An evocative recreation of the austerities and hard-won but deeply felt joys of life during the Second World War.
~

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Very Thought of You by Rosie Alison

England, 31st August 1939: the world is on the brink of war. As Hitler prepares to invade Poland, thousands of children are evacuated from London to escape the impending Blitz. Torn from her mother, eight-year-old Anna Sands is relocated with other children to a large Yorkshire estate which has been opened up to evacuees by Thomas and Elizabeth Ashton, an enigmatic childless couple. Soon Anna gets drawn into their unravelling relationship, seeing things that are not meant for her eyes - and finding herself part-witness and part-accomplice to a love affair, with unforeseen consequences. A story of longing, loss and complicated loyalties, combining a sweeping narrative with subtle psychological observation, The Very Thought of You is not just a love story but a story about love.

Reviews

'Rosie Alison's debut novel grips from start to finish. Without question one of the best debuts I've read in recent years.A - John Boyne An author with a big future. Perfect for fans of Sadie Jones and Ian McEwan.' - The Bookseller

About the Author

Rosie Alison

Born in 1964, Rosie Alison read English at Keble College, Oxford. She spent over ten years working in television, as a producer-director of arts documentaries (her director credits include The South Bank Show, Omnibus and Grand Designs). Currently Head of Development at Heyday Films in the UK – the production company of the Harry Potter film series – she has recently co-produced two feature films (The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, just released, and the forthcoming film Is There Anybody There?).

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th March 2010

Author

Rosie Alison

More books by Rosie Alison
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Alma Books Ltd

Format

Paperback

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781846881008

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools