The Very Thought of You

by Rosie Alison

eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Very Thought of You

 

Shortlisted for the prestigious 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction.

 

A beautifully written debut novel about love and loss. When the young Anna Sands is evacuated to a country estate she becomes embroiled in the complicated twists and turns of a love affair she should really know nothing about. A sensitive  and moving coming of age novel.

 

"A fantastic and beautiful description of an evacuee child in wartime. One of those books that you’re likely to remember all your life.”  Alexandra Shulman (Orange Prize for Fiction 2010 judging panel)

The Very Thought of You Synopsis

England, 31st August 1939: the world is on the brink of war. As Hitler prepares to invade Poland, thousands of children are evacuated from London to escape the impending Blitz. Torn from her mother, eight-year-old Anna Sands is relocated with other children to a large Yorkshire estate which has been opened up to evacuees by Thomas and Elizabeth Ashton, an enigmatic childless couple. Soon Anna gets drawn into their unravelling relationship, seeing things that are not meant for her eyes - and finding herself part-witness and part-accomplice to a love affair, with unforeseen consequences. A story of longing, loss and complicated loyalties, combining a sweeping narrative with subtle psychological observation, The Very Thought of You is not just a love story but a story about love.

Win Theatre Tickets for The Importance of Being Earnest

Win Theatre Tickets for The Importance of Being Earnest

Closing date: 04/07/2018

Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest, makes a welcome return to society in this wonderfully witty, deliciously decadent and classic revival and is now playing at the Vaudeville Theatre and we are giving away a pair of tickets to one lucky winner! 'A Trivial Comedy for Serious People', Oscar Wide's masterpiece throws love, logic and language into the air to make one of theatre’s most dazzling firework displays. First performed in 1895, will be played at the Vaudeville Theatre, London from the 20th July up until October 2018.  To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 4 July 2018. The winner will be notified by 13 July 2018,  Good luck!

Enter Now

The Good Book Guide Review

This debut novel is set during the Phoney War just before the invasion of Poland in 1939. Anna Sands aged eight, is sent to an evacuees’ boarding school in North Yorkshire, home of the enigmatic and childless Thomas and Elizabeth Ashton. The people she meets and the secrets this curious little girl uncovers there profoundly affect the course of her future life. An evocative recreation of the austerities and hard-won but deeply felt joys of life during the Second World War.

The Very Thought of You Press Reviews

'Rosie Alison's debut novel grips from start to finish. Without question one of the best debuts I've read in recent years.A - John Boyne An author with a big future. Perfect for fans of Sadie Jones and Ian McEwan.' - The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Poppy Factory
The Way You Look Tonight
The Forgotten Seamstress
Some Day I'll Find You

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781846881008
Publication date: 26/03/2010
Publisher: Alma Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781846881008
Publication date: 26th March 2010
Author: Rosie Alison
Publisher: Alma Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Genres: eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction,
Categories:

About Rosie Alison

Born in 1964, Rosie Alison read English at Keble College, Oxford. She spent over ten years working in television, as a producer-director of arts documentaries (her director credits include The South Bank Show, Omnibus and Grand Designs). Currently Head of Development at Heyday Films in the UK – the production company of the Harry Potter film series – she has recently co-produced two feature films (The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, just released, and the forthcoming film Is There Anybody There?).

More About Rosie Alison

Share this book