make the most of Lovereading win prizes
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Very Thought of You by Rosie Alison
  

The Very Thought of You

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the prestigious 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction.

A beautifully written debut novel about love and loss. When the young Anna Sands is evacuated to a country estate she becomes embroiled in the complicated twists and turns of a love affair she should really know nothing about. A sensitive and moving coming of age novel.

"A fantastic and beautiful description of an evacuee child in wartime. One of those books that you’re likely to remember all your life.” Alexandra Shulman (Orange Prize for Fiction 2010 judging panel)

If you like Rosie Alison you might also like to read books by Richard Madeley and Liz Trenow.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. This debut novel is set during the Phoney War just before the invasion of Poland in 1939. Anna Sands aged eight, is sent to an evacuees’ boarding school in North Yorkshire, home of the enigmatic and childless Thomas and Elizabeth Ashton. The people she meets and the secrets this curious little girl uncovers there profoundly affect the course of her future life. An evocative recreation of the austerities and hard-won but deeply felt joys of life during the Second World War.
~

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

The Very Thought of You by Rosie Alison

England, 31st August 1939: the world is on the brink of war. As Hitler prepares to invade Poland, thousands of children are evacuated from London to escape the impending Blitz. Torn from her mother, eight-year-old Anna Sands is relocated with other children to a large Yorkshire estate which has been opened up to evacuees by Thomas and Elizabeth Ashton, an enigmatic childless couple. Soon Anna gets drawn into their unravelling relationship, seeing things that are not meant for her eyes - and finding herself part-witness and part-accomplice to a love affair, with unforeseen consequences. A story of longing, loss and complicated loyalties, combining a sweeping narrative with subtle psychological observation, The Very Thought of You is not just a love story but a story about love.

Reviews

'Rosie Alison's debut novel grips from start to finish. Without question one of the best debuts I've read in recent years.A - John Boyne An author with a big future. Perfect for fans of Sadie Jones and Ian McEwan.' - The Bookseller

About the Author

Rosie Alison

Born in 1964, Rosie Alison read English at Keble College, Oxford. She spent over ten years working in television, as a producer-director of arts documentaries (her director credits include The South Bank Show, Omnibus and Grand Designs). Currently Head of Development at Heyday Films in the UK – the production company of the Harry Potter film series – she has recently co-produced two feature films (The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, just released, and the forthcoming film Is There Anybody There?).

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th March 2010

Author

Rosie Alison

More books by Rosie Alison
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Alma Books Ltd

Format

Paperback

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781846881008

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools