Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Nocturnes - Five Stories of Music and Nightfall

by Kazuo Ishiguro

Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Nocturnes - Five Stories of Music and Nightfall

Shortlisted for the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction 2010.


A beautiful book of short stories from The Remains of the Day author. All centring around love, this collection of five stories have different settings and characters all equal in charm and wisdom.


May 2010 Guest Editor John Boyne on Kazuo Ishiguro...

I have great admiration for the elegance of Ishiguro’s sentences. In each novel there is a precision and thoughtfulness to the language which suggests a writer completely in control of his craft.

Nocturnes - Five Stories of Music and Nightfall Synopsis

In a sublime story cycle, Kazuo Ishiguro explores ideas of love, music and the passing of time. From the piazzas of Italy to the Malvern Hills, a London flat to the 'hush-hush floor' of an exclusive Hollywood hotel, the characters we encounter range from young dreamers to cafe musicians to faded stars, all of them at some moment of reckoning. Gentle, intimate and witty, this quintet is marked by a haunting theme: the struggle to keep alive a sense of life's romance, even as one gets older, relationships flounder and youthful hopes recede.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Golden House
The English Patient

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780571245000
Publication date: 18/03/2010
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571245000
Publication date: 18th March 2010
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Genres: Literary Fiction, Reading Groups,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan in 1954 and came to Britain at the age of five. He attended the University of Kent and studied English Literature and Philosophy, and later enrolled in an MA in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia. He is the author of the novels A Pale View of Hills (winner of the Winifred Holtby Prize), An Artist of the Floating World (winner of the 1986 Whitbread Book of the Year Award, Premio Scanno, and shortlisted for the 1986 Booker Prize), The Remains of the Day (winner of the 1989 Booker Prize) and When We Were Orphans (...

More About Kazuo Ishiguro

More Books By Kazuo Ishiguro

Cover for The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
Cover for The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
Cover for The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
View All Books By Kazuo Ishiguro

Share this book