rebus 30th anniversary newgen books for YA readers twitter
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Book of Unholy Mischief by Elle Newmark
  

The Book of Unholy Mischief

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Debuts of the Month   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

September 2009 Debut of the Month.

Fifteenth century Venice and a street urchin is ‘rescued’ by the Doge’s master chef and taken on as his apprentice. The court life and culinary snippets add depth to the mystery surrounding an ancient book and its dark secrets. The whereabouts of the book becomes the talk of Italy and the obsession of the Doge, and naturally our young apprentice becomes intrigued. There are secrets within secrets here, mounting in a suspenseful read with an unexpected twist or two. Good fun.

Comparison: Robert Goddard, Joanne Harris, Kate Mosse.

If you like Elle Newmark you might also like to read books by Robert Goddard, Joanne Harris and Kate Mosse.

Synopsis

The Book of Unholy Mischief by Elle Newmark

It is 1498, and the whole of Venice is abuzz. Hidden somewhere in the labyrinthine city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power.

Luciano, a penniless orphan, has been plucked from the street and taken on as apprentice to the chef at the doge's palace. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, even suspecting the chef, his maestro, may be concealing valuable information.

But lurking in the wings are some of the most powerful, dangerous men in Venice, and Luciano’s secret will lead him through a perilous maze to the centre of an intrigue that will test his deepest desires and loyalties.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

'Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot' Fanny Blake, Woman & Home

'It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge…In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention' Kirkus Reviews, US

‘Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author’ New Books Magazine

About the Author

Elle Newmark

Elle Newmark is an award-winning writer whose books are inspired by her travels. She and her husband, a retired physician, have two grown children and five grandchildren. They live in the hills north of San Diego.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th September 2009

Author

Elle Newmark

More books by Elle Newmark
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.ellenewmark.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Transworld Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Debuts of the Month
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Historical fiction

ISBN

9780552775212

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools