When Will There Be Good News?

by Kate Atkinson

Part of the Jackson Brodie Series

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on When Will There Be Good News?

Shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger 2009.


CWA Judges’ comments: ‘A multifaceted and thought-provoking exploration of the aftermath of a savage family killing.’


Winner of the Richard & Judy Best Read 2009.


Reviewed on Richard & Judy's Book Club 2009 on Wednesday 11 February.


When this literary author turned crime writer something very special happened to her work.  The Guardian believes it has made her a better writer, I feel that her lovely style adds an extra dimension to a fascinating tale.  Characters intercept and react, there are many coincidences, twists and turns and it all comes racing together at the end, a bit like a runaway train except, of course, Jackson and Louise’s stories which remain open for the next book.


Comparison: Ian McEwan, Morag Joss, Hilary Mantel.



Sarah Broadhurst

When Will There Be Good News? Synopsis

In rural Devon, six-year-old Joanna Mason witnesses an appalling crime.

Thirty years later the man convicted of the crime is released from prison.

In Edinburgh, sixteen-year-old Reggie works as a nanny for a G.P. But Dr Hunter has gone missing and Reggie seems to be the only person who is worried.

Across town, Detective Chief Inspector Louise Monroe is also looking for a missing person, unaware that hurtling towards her is an old friend -- Jackson Brodie -- himself on a journey that becomes fatally interrupted.


When Will There Be Good News? Press Reviews

'By becoming a crime writer she has – in a way that other “literary” types may wish to note – become a better literary writer than ever: funny, bracingly intelligent and delightfully prickly . . . Kate Atkinson is that rarest of beasts, a genuinely surprising novelist.' Guardian


'Atkinson's world is full of bizarre accidents and meaningless murders, but she celebrates love, laughter and literature so wholeheartedly that I cheered aloud. She is one of the most eccentric of crime writers, and perhaps the sanest. Everybody should read her.' Telegraph


'Deliciously underhanded, echo-filled novel...so rewarding...it shows off an imagination so active that When Will There Be Good News? can barely contain it.' New York Times

If you loved this, you might like these...

Girl, Balancing & Other Stories
Inside the Wave
The House
The Little Friend

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780552772457
Publication date: 02/01/2009
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780385608015
Publication date: 14/08/2008
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780552772457
Publication date: 2nd January 2009
Author: Kate Atkinson
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, and has been a critically acclaimed writer ever since. Her four bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories, starring Jason Isaacs. Her latest novel Life After Life was shortlisted for several prestigious literary prizes including the Women’s (formerly Orange) and the Costa Novel Prize. She was appointed MBE in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.Kate Atkinson was born in York and now lives in Edinburgh.

More About Kate Atkinson

More Books By Kate Atkinson

Cover for A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
Cover for A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
Cover for Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
View All Books By Kate Atkinson

Share this book