The Twelve Wishes of Christmas

by Ruby Basu

Relationship Stories Modern and Contemporary Fiction Family Drama Humorous fiction Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Twelve Wishes of Christmas

A feel-good festive feast of unexpected inheritance and unexpected love.

Fireworks of both the fractious and romantic kind flare and spark through Ruby Basu’s The Twelve Wishes of Christmas, a sure-fire treat for fans of Heidi Swain and Sarah Morgan.

Feeling a telling mix of “excitement and slight sense of unease… ever since she found out she’d be spending Christmas in the quintessential small US town of Pineford”, 30-year-old Sharmila has been given a somewhat unusual gift by her late friend Thomas. First up, a free trip to spend the festive season in the picturesque place he grew up in. Secondly, as she only discovers later, the chance to inherit Thomas’ Holly House estate, should she manage to complete the list of festive tasks he’s set her.

Enter Zach, Thomas’ nephew, who knows about the inheritance long before Sharmila does, and is doggedly determined to stop it from happening: “Trust me on this, Lucas. She’s an opportunist. She doesn’t know about the inheritance yet, but maybe she was disappointed all Thomas left her was this all expenses-paid trip. I bet she was expecting something more for her efforts”. Then, little by little, as Pineford glows with snow and sparkling lights, so Sharmila and Zach feel the glow of something neither of them were expecting.

Joanne Owen

The Twelve Wishes of Christmas Synopsis

She's here for the perfect Christmas escape...

When Sharmila discovers her late friend, Thomas, has gifted her the holiday of her dreams, she can't pack her bags fast enough. Arriving in Pineford, it's everything she'd ever hoped for and more.

But she's in for another surprise, because Thomas has left her with one last request: if she completes his Christmas wish list of festive activities, her chosen charity will receive a big donation. Or so Sharmila thinks.

...He's there to reclaim his family's legacy

Little does she know, she's set to inherit Thomas's estate too, much to his nephew Zach's disbelief. Determined not to see his family's legacy left to a stranger, he's come to Pineford to do whatever it takes to stop Sharmila from fulfilling that list.

When Sharmila and Zach meet, neither are prepared for sparks to fly. For Sharmila's sworn off love, and Zach doesn't trust her. But with every passing wish they find themselves growing closer. And amongst the twinkling town lights and fallen snow, Sharmila can feel her heart opening up to Zach. But when she learns he's been keeping a secret from her, can Sharmila forgive him and get the happy-ever-after she's always wished for this Christmas?

The Twelve Wishes of Christmas is the perfect book to snuggle up with on those cosy wintry nights. Perfect for fans of Heidi Swain and Jo Thomas. 

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008471378
Publication date: 25th November 2021
Author: Ruby Basu
Publisher: HarperCollins an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 304 pages
Collections:
Primary Genre Romantic Fiction
Other Genres:

What To Read After The Twelve Wishes of Christmas

A Special Cornish Christmas
The Christmas Bookshop
Flora's Travelling Christmas Shop
Christmas at Lobster Bay

Ruby Basu Press Reviews

Readers LOVE The Twelve Wishes of Christmas

‘Full of Christmas movie magic’ Leonie Mack, author of Italy Ever After

‘Everything shimmered with Christmas magic and the book has the feel-good factor you want form a cosy Christmas read’ NetGalley reviewer ?????

‘The perfect festive feel-good book – one you can wrap up in a blanket with, drinking hot chocolate and getting lost in the story’ NetGalley reviewer ?????

‘A beautiful festive romance’ NetGalley reviewer ?????

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008471378
Publication date: 25/11/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Ruby Basu

Ruby Basu lives in the beautiful Chilterns with her husband, two children, and the cutest dog in the world. She worked for many years as a lawyer and policy lead in the Civil Service. As the second of four children, Ruby connected strongly with Little Women’s Jo March and was scribbling down stories from a young age. A huge fan of romantic movies, Star Wars, and Marvel, she loves creating new characters and worlds while waiting for her superpowers to develop. Follow Ruby Basu on Insitagram: @authorrubybasu

More About Ruby Basu

Share this book