LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

KNIFE EDGE

by Kerry Buchanan

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense Literary Fiction eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of KNIFE EDGE

This gripping, graphic debut crime thriller set in Northern Ireland reels with real-life grit, twists and tangled tension.

Kerry Buchanan’s Knife Edge debut will surely entice crime thriller enthusiasts to add her to their future must-read-everything-by-this-author list. Packed with pace and tension, and cleverly-told from multiple points of view, it’s fair to say this will have thriller fans on a knife edge.

The action centres around Nic. After reluctantly going clubbing with a friend, Nic wakes up bound at the wrists by “hard plastic zip-ties”. Then, after witnessing her friend being cut by their captor, Nic makes a run for it. Later, in hospital, she’s questioned by Detectives Asha Harvey and Aaron Birch. But when the detectives visit the scene, there’s no sign of Nic’s friend or the killer. All trace has vanished - they have a missing man and a missing murderer on their hands. The investigation takes readers deep into the world of forensics as a murderous, cruel cat and mouse game unfolds, with Nic playing a pivotal role in the inquiry. 

Buchanan’s writing is taut, and vividly descriptive with it - there’s a lot of graphic detail. The author is also strong when it comes to creating a sense of place, and in conveying her characters’ inner lives. Stirring stuff for fans of pacey in-your-face thrillers with a satisfying undercurrent of psychological insights.

Joanne Owen

KNIFE EDGE Synopsis

A MESMERIZING BREAK-OUT CRIME THRILLER FULL OF BREATHTAKING TWISTS

Nic always hated clubbing.

She only went out that night because she’d promised a friend.

She wakes up, naked and bound in an abandoned cottage in the middle of nowhere. Dappled light comes in through a dirty window. Her body is covered in cuts. Across the room her friend groans in pain.

A shadow passes the window. He’s back.

He picks up a knife. He begins to cut her friend. In that moment of bloody frenzy, Nic wrenches free and runs.

She’s finally safe. But this is just the beginning.

Detectives Asha Harvey and Aaron Birch arrive at the scene hours later. There is no body, there is no sign of the killer. It’s as if it never happened.

YOU THINK YOU KNOW HOW IT ENDS? THINK AGAIN.

Fans of Lynda La Plante, Tana French, Patricia Gibney, Brian McGilloway and Helen H. Durrant will devour this electrifying crime thriller by one of Northern Ireland’s newest talents.

About This Edition

ISBN: B08ZJPQNCB
Publication date: 15th April 2021
Author: Kerry Buchanan
Publisher: Joffe Books
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a paperback copy of The Serial Killer's Wife alongside a Colourblock Papier notebook.

Win a paperback copy of The Serial Killer's Wife alongside a Colourblock Papier notebook.

Closing date: 30/06/2021

The Serial Killer's Wife by Alice Hunter is out now and to celebrate we are working with AVON to offer a copy of the paperback as well as a Colourblock Papier notebook.  "A snaking twisting ride into the middle of a young family torn apart by allegations of murder." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

COFFIN COVE
THE SILENT LISTENER
Penguin Lost
King Death

Other editions of this book

ISBN: B08ZJPQNCB
Publication date: 15/04/2021
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9781789317527
Publication date: 14/04/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

Share this book