LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Saracen's Mark

by S. W. Perry

Part of the The Jackdaw Mysteries Series

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Crime / Mystery

LoveReading View on The Saracen's Mark

An absolute belter of a read and another fabulous addition to the Jackdaw Mysteries series. It’s 1593, Nicholas is recruited by the Queen’s spymaster to travel to Marrakech, while Bianca has to deal with the plague knocking at her door. What a fabulous series this has shaped up to be, start with The Angel’s Mark and follow with The Serpent’s Mark before reading this, to get the full benefit of the tale so far. I just gobbled up the pages as the story fairly roars along battling spies and pirates en route. Marrakech is absolutely fascinating, the descriptions of the plague made me shiver, and the relationship between Nicholas and Bianca edges ever closer. S. W. Perry ensures the sights, smells and sounds of London and Morocco entered my very being. I love this series, it is so, so readable, and I have chosen The Saracen’s Mark as one of my Liz Robinson Picks of the Month.

Liz Robinson

The Saracen's Mark Synopsis

England, 1593: Five years on from the Armada and Elizabeth's kingdom seems secure. But there is always a plot afoot...

Robert Cecil, the Queen's spymaster, needs Nicholas Shelby - reluctant spy and maverick physician - to embark on an undercover mission once again. One that he can't refuse, if he wants to keep Bianca Merton safe.

Crossing the seas to Marrakesh in search of a missing informer, Nicholas hunts the dingy back alleys and dazzling palaces for the truth. But his search reveals a deadly conspiracy, one far more difficult to survive than he'd ever imagined.

And back in London the plague has returned, ravaging the streets and threatening everything he holds most dear...

Win a copy of The Lost Hours and Forgive me by Susan Lewis

Win a copy of The Lost Hours and Forgive me by Susan Lewis

Closing date: 01/05/2021

The Lost Hours by Susan Lewis is a "a satisfying and lively family drama, perfect for those who like a few twists and turns along the way." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of The Lost Hours we're working with HarperCollins to offer a give away a hardback copy of the book as well as a paperback of Forgive Me, also by Susan Lewis This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st May 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Saracen's Mark Press Reviews

The third in Perry's series is as dramatic and colourful as the previous two. - The Sunday Times

An absolute belter of a read and another fabulous addition to the Jackdaw Mysteries series... I just gobbled up the pages as the story fairly roars along battling spies and pirates on route... S. W. Perry ensures the sights, smells and sounds of London and Morocco entered my very being. I love this series. -- Liz Robinson - LoveReading, Picks of the month

The writing is of such a quality, the characters so engaging and the setting so persuasive that, only two books in, S.W. Perry's ingeniously plotted novels have become my favourite historical crime series. - S. G. MacLean on The Serpent's Mark

A satisfyingly convoluted plot. - Sunday Times on The Serpent's Mark

No-one is better than S. W. Perry at leading us through the squalid streets of London in the sixteenth century. - Andrew Swanston on The Serpent's Mark

The Serpent's Mark is an excellent evocation of Elizabethan England, with espionage, intricate conspiracies, strange medical practises and a gripping story. A rattling good read. - William Ryan on The Serpent's Mark

A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure. It immerses you in the late 16th century and leaves you wrung out with terror. This is historical fiction at its most sumptuous. - Rory Clements on The Angel's Mark

Wonderful! Beautiful writing, and Perry's Elizabethan London is so skilfully evoked, so real that one can almost smell it. - Giles Kristian on The Angel's Mark

[With] intrigue and suspense, Perry's diligent research makes the period detail convincing. Fans of S.J. Parris and C.J. Sansom will be pleased. - Publishers Weekly, starred review

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Postscript Murders
The Silent Wife
The Source
Vera Kelly Is Not A Mystery

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781786498991
Publication date: 04/02/2021
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781786498977
Publication date: 02/04/2020
Publisher: Corvus
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781786498991
Publication date: 4th February 2021
Author: S. W. Perry
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Crime / Mystery,
Categories: Historical mysteries, Espionage & spy thriller,

About S. W. Perry

S. W. Perry was a journalist and broadcaster before retraining as an airline pilot. He lives in Worcestershire with his wife and two spaniels.

More About S. W. Perry

More Books By S. W. Perry

Cover for The Heretic's Mark by S. W. Perry
Cover for The Saracen's Mark by S. W. Perry
Cover for The Serpent's Mark by S. W. Perry
View All Books By S. W. Perry

Share this book