Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

books of the month
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Mouths of Babes by Stella Duffy
  

Mouths of Babes

Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

The fifth in the Saz Martin series is an incredibly absorbing read. It draws you in with tantalizing references to the past, how bullying takes on all forms and how unfortunate actions and their consequences can affect lives long after the event. Stella Duffy has a great flair for creating believable relationships and her characters are well rounded and interesting. Probably her best novel so far.

If you like Stella Duffy you might also like to read books by Lauren Henderson, Simon Kernick and Frank Lean.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Mouths of Babes by Stella Duffy

Saz Martin is settled into new motherhood with her partner Molly and their nine-month-old daughter Matilda. Things have not been easy since the birth - late nights, early mornings, and a sudden death have all taken their toll - but with Molly’s return to full time work and Saz happily taking on the role of Matilda’s prime carer, both women feel they are finally adjusting to parenthood and the demands of their new life.

And then the phone rings. The door knocks. A well-known stranger arrives. Instead of moving forward into her role as a full time mother, Saz is forced to face her past, confronting people and events she had long ago hoped to forget.

In a story of how the sins of our past always come back to haunt us, Stella Duffy reveals secrets no-one knew about Saz Martin, explores why Saz is who she is, and asks is it still possible to believe in our heroes – and our lovers – when their flaws are well and truly exposed?

Reviews

'She also displays a formidable range of narrative techniques, changing perspectives and launching into flashbacks with the kind of brio that most crime writers seem to shun. But this book shouldn’t just be seen as a great piece of crime writing; it’s a fine novel, as good as anything you’ll read this year from a ‘literary’ imprint’ Independent on Sunday

‘An unsettling, absorbing read’ The Times

‘Fans of Saz Martin, Duffy’s feisty gay private investigator, will welcome her return after an absence of five years… Duffy knows how to build suspense and has created an engagingly human heroine’ Daily Mail

‘A compelling thriller of skilled prose and satiating suspense’ Dazed & Confused

About the Author

Stella Duffy

Stella Duffy has written ten novels, five of them are her Saz Martin series published by Serpent’s Tail – Calendar Girl, Wavewalker, Beneath the Blonde, Fresh Flesh and Mouths of Babes. The other five are non-crime novels published by Sceptre – Singling Out The Couples, Eating Cake, Immaculate Conceit; and Virago – State of Happiness and Parallel Lies.

State of Happiness was long listed for the 2004 Orange Prize, and is in development with Fiesta Productions and Zentropa for whom she is also writing the screenplay. She was co-editor of the anthology Tart Noir, from which her story Martha Grace won the 2002 CWA Short Story Dagger. She has written over thirty short stories and many feature articles and reviews. She has written eight plays including Cell Sell (which she also directed) and Prime Resident for the National Youth Theatre, Crocodiles and Bears for Steam Industry, and The Hand for Gay Sweatshop.

Stella was born in South London, grew up in New Zealand, and has lived in the UK since 1986. She is married to the writer Shelley Silas.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th July 2007

Author

Stella Duffy

More books by Stella Duffy
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

stelladuffy.wordpress.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Profile Books Ltd

Format

Paperback (b Format)

Categories

Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781852424794

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools