Mouths of Babes

by Stella Duffy

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on Mouths of Babes

The fifth in the Saz Martin series is an incredibly absorbing read. It draws you in with tantalizing references to the past, how bullying takes on all forms and how unfortunate actions and their consequences can affect lives long after the event. Stella Duffy has a great flair for creating believable relationships and her characters are well rounded and interesting. Probably her best novel so far.

Mouths of Babes Synopsis

Saz Martin is settled into new motherhood with her partner Molly and their nine-month-old daughter Matilda. Things have not been easy since the birth - late nights, early mornings, and a sudden death have all taken their toll - but with Molly’s return to full time work and Saz happily taking on the role of Matilda’s prime carer, both women feel they are finally adjusting to parenthood and the demands of their new life.

And then the phone rings. The door knocks. A well-known stranger arrives. Instead of moving forward into her role as a full time mother, Saz is forced to face her past, confronting people and events she had long ago hoped to forget.

In a story of how the sins of our past always come back to haunt us, Stella Duffy reveals secrets no-one knew about Saz Martin, explores why Saz is who she is, and asks is it still possible to believe in our heroes – and our lovers – when their flaws are well and truly exposed?

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

Mouths of Babes Press Reviews

'She also displays a formidable range of narrative techniques, changing perspectives and launching into flashbacks with the kind of brio that most crime writers seem to shun. But this book shouldn’t just be seen as a great piece of crime writing; it’s a fine novel, as good as anything you’ll read this year from a ‘literary’ imprint’ Independent on Sunday

‘An unsettling, absorbing read’ The Times

‘Fans of Saz Martin, Duffy’s feisty gay private investigator, will welcome her return after an absence of five years… Duffy knows how to build suspense and has created an engagingly human heroine’ Daily Mail

‘A compelling thriller of skilled prose and satiating suspense’ Dazed & Confused

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Hanged Man
The Bone Field
The Bone Field
The Witness

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781852424794
Publication date: 24/07/2007
Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
Format: Paperback (b Format)

Book Information

ISBN: 9781852424794
Publication date: 24th July 2007
Author: Stella Duffy
Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
Format: Paperback (b Format)
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites,
Categories:

About Stella Duffy

Stella Duffy has written ten novels, five of them are her Saz Martin series published by Serpent’s Tail – Calendar Girl, Wavewalker, Beneath the Blonde, Fresh Flesh and Mouths of Babes. The other five are non-crime novels published by Sceptre – Singling Out The Couples, Eating Cake, Immaculate Conceit; and Virago – State of Happiness and Parallel Lies. State of Happiness  was long listed for the 2004 Orange Prize, and is in development with Fiesta Productions and Zentropa for whom she is also writing the screenplay. She was co-editor of the anthology Tart Noir, from which her story Martha Grace won the 2002 ...

More About Stella Duffy

More Books By Stella Duffy

Cover for Everything is Moving, Everything is Joined The Selected Stories of Stella Duffy by Stella Duffy
View All Books By Stella Duffy

Share this book