twitter likeyoulove
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Mouths of Babes by Stella Duffy

Mouths of Babes

Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

The fifth in the Saz Martin series is an incredibly absorbing read. It draws you in with tantalizing references to the past, how bullying takes on all forms and how unfortunate actions and their consequences can affect lives long after the event. Stella Duffy has a great flair for creating believable relationships and her characters are well rounded and interesting. Probably her best novel so far.

If you like Stella Duffy you might also like to read books by Simon Kernick, Frank Lean and Lauren Henderson.


Mouths of Babes by Stella Duffy

Saz Martin is settled into new motherhood with her partner Molly and their nine-month-old daughter Matilda. Things have not been easy since the birth - late nights, early mornings, and a sudden death have all taken their toll - but with Molly’s return to full time work and Saz happily taking on the role of Matilda’s prime carer, both women feel they are finally adjusting to parenthood and the demands of their new life.

And then the phone rings. The door knocks. A well-known stranger arrives. Instead of moving forward into her role as a full time mother, Saz is forced to face her past, confronting people and events she had long ago hoped to forget.

In a story of how the sins of our past always come back to haunt us, Stella Duffy reveals secrets no-one knew about Saz Martin, explores why Saz is who she is, and asks is it still possible to believe in our heroes – and our lovers – when their flaws are well and truly exposed?


'She also displays a formidable range of narrative techniques, changing perspectives and launching into flashbacks with the kind of brio that most crime writers seem to shun. But this book shouldn’t just be seen as a great piece of crime writing; it’s a fine novel, as good as anything you’ll read this year from a ‘literary’ imprint’ Independent on Sunday

‘An unsettling, absorbing read’ The Times

‘Fans of Saz Martin, Duffy’s feisty gay private investigator, will welcome her return after an absence of five years… Duffy knows how to build suspense and has created an engagingly human heroine’ Daily Mail

‘A compelling thriller of skilled prose and satiating suspense’ Dazed & Confused

About the Author

Stella Duffy

Stella Duffy has written ten novels, five of them are her Saz Martin series published by Serpent’s Tail – Calendar Girl, Wavewalker, Beneath the Blonde, Fresh Flesh and Mouths of Babes. The other five are non-crime novels published by Sceptre – Singling Out The Couples, Eating Cake, Immaculate Conceit; and Virago – State of Happiness and Parallel Lies.

State of Happiness was long listed for the 2004 Orange Prize, and is in development with Fiesta Productions and Zentropa for whom she is also writing the screenplay. She was co-editor of the anthology Tart Noir, from which her story Martha Grace won the 2002 CWA Short Story Dagger. She has written over thirty short stories and many feature articles and reviews. She has written eight plays including Cell Sell (which she also directed) and Prime Resident for the National Youth Theatre, Crocodiles and Bears for Steam Industry, and The Hand for Gay Sweatshop.

Stella was born in South London, grew up in New Zealand, and has lived in the UK since 1986. She is married to the writer Shelley Silas.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th July 2007


Stella Duffy

More books by Stella Duffy
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website
Loading twitter updates...


Profile Books Ltd


Paperback (b Format)


Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites



Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill