Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

eleanor oliphant book price comparison
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Mouths of Babes by Stella Duffy
  

Mouths of Babes

Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

The fifth in the Saz Martin series is an incredibly absorbing read. It draws you in with tantalizing references to the past, how bullying takes on all forms and how unfortunate actions and their consequences can affect lives long after the event. Stella Duffy has a great flair for creating believable relationships and her characters are well rounded and interesting. Probably her best novel so far.

If you like Stella Duffy you might also like to read books by Lauren Henderson, Simon Kernick and Frank Lean.

Synopsis

Mouths of Babes by Stella Duffy

Saz Martin is settled into new motherhood with her partner Molly and their nine-month-old daughter Matilda. Things have not been easy since the birth - late nights, early mornings, and a sudden death have all taken their toll - but with Molly’s return to full time work and Saz happily taking on the role of Matilda’s prime carer, both women feel they are finally adjusting to parenthood and the demands of their new life.

And then the phone rings. The door knocks. A well-known stranger arrives. Instead of moving forward into her role as a full time mother, Saz is forced to face her past, confronting people and events she had long ago hoped to forget.

In a story of how the sins of our past always come back to haunt us, Stella Duffy reveals secrets no-one knew about Saz Martin, explores why Saz is who she is, and asks is it still possible to believe in our heroes – and our lovers – when their flaws are well and truly exposed?

Reviews

'She also displays a formidable range of narrative techniques, changing perspectives and launching into flashbacks with the kind of brio that most crime writers seem to shun. But this book shouldn’t just be seen as a great piece of crime writing; it’s a fine novel, as good as anything you’ll read this year from a ‘literary’ imprint’ Independent on Sunday

‘An unsettling, absorbing read’ The Times

‘Fans of Saz Martin, Duffy’s feisty gay private investigator, will welcome her return after an absence of five years… Duffy knows how to build suspense and has created an engagingly human heroine’ Daily Mail

‘A compelling thriller of skilled prose and satiating suspense’ Dazed & Confused

About the Author

Stella Duffy

Stella Duffy has written ten novels, five of them are her Saz Martin series published by Serpent’s Tail – Calendar Girl, Wavewalker, Beneath the Blonde, Fresh Flesh and Mouths of Babes. The other five are non-crime novels published by Sceptre – Singling Out The Couples, Eating Cake, Immaculate Conceit; and Virago – State of Happiness and Parallel Lies.

State of Happiness was long listed for the 2004 Orange Prize, and is in development with Fiesta Productions and Zentropa for whom she is also writing the screenplay. She was co-editor of the anthology Tart Noir, from which her story Martha Grace won the 2002 CWA Short Story Dagger. She has written over thirty short stories and many feature articles and reviews. She has written eight plays including Cell Sell (which she also directed) and Prime Resident for the National Youth Theatre, Crocodiles and Bears for Steam Industry, and The Hand for Gay Sweatshop.

Stella was born in South London, grew up in New Zealand, and has lived in the UK since 1986. She is married to the writer Shelley Silas.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th July 2007

Author

Stella Duffy

More books by Stella Duffy
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

stelladuffy.wordpress.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Profile Books Ltd

Format

Paperback (b Format)

Categories

Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781852424794

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools