LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Nothing Man

by Catherine Ryan Howard

Crime / Mystery Star Books Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Nothing Man

Razor-sharp tightrope time with this belter of a read, it is as dramatic and different as it is fabulous. Discover two books in one novel as true crime is enveloped by breathtaking storytelling. Read Eve Black’s memoir as she searches for the man who murdered the rest of her family 20 years ago. Sitting by its side is the story of the killer Jim Doyle as he reads the book and fears he will be unmasked. This has such a clever premise, Catherine Ryan Howard ensures that this is one of the few instances where knowing the identity of the killer actually adds to the intensity and drama. The change from one book to the other doesn’t jar in the slightest, each embraces and calls to the other and the transition is seamless. The tension increases until it is fairly reverberating through the pages. I let myself be carried away in the story, and don’t forget, this is a story, and it works because there is no sneaking a peek at the end! The Nothing Man is a blast of pure reading entertainment, and has been chosen as a LoveReading Star Book.

Have a look at our Ambassador Book Buzz for The Nothing Man.

Liz Robinson

The Nothing Man Synopsis

I was the girl who survived the Nothing Man.

Now I am the woman who is going to catch him...

You've just read the opening pages of The Nothing Man, the true crime memoir Eve Black has written about her obsessive search for the man who killed her family nearly two decades ago.

Supermarket security guard Jim Doyle is reading it too, and with each turn of the page his rage grows. Because Jim was - is - the Nothing Man.

The more Jim reads, the more he realises how dangerously close Eve is getting to the truth. He knows she won't give up until she finds him. He has no choice but to stop her first...

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/03/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from December to March. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: Winterkill by Ragnar Jonasson - Published December 2020 There's Only One Danny Garvey by  David F. Ross - Published January 2021 Deity by Matt Wesolowski - Published February 2021 Smoke Screen by Thomas Enger, Jorn Lier Horst - Published February 2021 Hotel Cartagena by Simone Buchholz  - Published March 2021? Bound by Vanda Symon - Published March 2021 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st March 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Nothing Man Press Reviews

Ryan Howard is a gift to crime writing. - Liz Nugent on Catherine Ryan Howard

Compelling - Skinny on Rewind

Fast-paced and vividly rendered. - Irish Times on Rewind

Chilling and mystifying from the get-go. - Times Crime Club on Rewind

A major new talent in thriller writing. - Daily Mail on Catherine Ryan Howard

Gripping, beautifully written, and genuinely chilling, The Nothing Man had me from page one. Simply stellar. - Meg Gardiner

Expertly crafted - storytelling at its best - Patricia Gibney

The Nothing Man is the most original and chilling thriller I've read in a long time, and is perfect for fans of Serial and The Fall. - Mark Edwards

The queen of high-concept crime fiction strikes again: this is the first novel I've read that really captures the chills and twists of the true crime that obsesses us. Catherine Ryan Howard has always been thrillingly good at what she does but she's just getting better and better with every book... I was utterly wowed. - Jane Casey

If you loved this, you might like these...

Invisible Girl
Trust
The Dark Room
The Coffinmaker's Garden

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781786496614
Publication date: 06/05/2021
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781838951061
Publication date: 06/08/2020
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781786496614
Publication date: 6th May 2021
Author: Catherine Ryan Howard
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Star Books, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Catherine Ryan Howard

Catherine Ryan Howard was born in Cork, Ireland. Prior to writing full-time, Catherine worked as a front desk agent in Walt Disney World, Florida, and most recently was a social media marketer for a major publisher. She is currently studying for a BA in English at Trinity College Dublin.

More About Catherine Ryan Howard

More Books By Catherine Ryan Howard

Cover for The Nothing Man by Catherine Ryan Howard
Cover for Rewind by Catherine Ryan Howard
Cover for The Liar's Girl by Catherine Ryan Howard
View All Books By Catherine Ryan Howard

Share this book