A Step in the Dark

by Judith Lennox

eBooks of the Month Family Drama

LoveReading View on A Step in the Dark

Shortlisted for the Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2007. A magnificent epic novel set in India and Scotland that's full of passion, tragedy and a family's darkest secrets. Brilliantly drawn characters with a well-conceived storyline to savour and plenty of twists and turns will ensure you are completely engrossed through until the final page. Deservedly on the shortlist of the 2007 Romantic Novelists' Award.

A Step in the Dark Synopsis

It`s 1915 when young Bess Ravenhart, recently widowed, leaves her baby son Frazer with her mother-in-law, Cora, while she sails from India to Britain to set up a home. But Cora has no intention of returning Frazer to his mother`s care. Though Bess makes a new life in Edinburgh and knows the joy – and pain – of motherhood with further children, her heart always aches for the little boy she left behind. When Frazer travels to Scotland twenty years later, it seems Bess`s dreams of a reconciliation will come true. But Frazer trails danger in his wake, and it`s possible that not only he but also Bess and her whole family will live to rue the day of his return…

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Secret of the Deverills
Still Me
Thin Air
Paris for One and Other Stories

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780755331321
Publication date: 17/05/2007
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780755331314
Publication date: 07/08/2006
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780755331321
Publication date: 17th May 2007
Author: Judith Lennox
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 640 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama,
Categories: Sagas,

About Judith Lennox

Judith Lennox was born in Salisbury, Wiltshire. She read English at Lancaster University and now lives in Cambridgeshire with her husband and three sons. She is the author of highly praised and topselling novels, including the following titles: The Secret Years, The Winter House, Some Old Lover's Ghost, Footprints on the Sand, The Shadow Child, The Dark-Eyed Girls, and Written on GlassPhotograph © Robin Matthew

More About Judith Lennox

More Books By Judith Lennox

Cover for One Last Dance by Judith Lennox
Cover for One Last Dance by Judith Lennox
Cover for Before the Storm by Judith Lennox
View All Books By Judith Lennox

Share this book