The Flowers of Ballygrace

by Geraldine O'Neill

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on The Flowers of Ballygrace

A 1950’s setting for an enchanting saga that really does capture the period.  A gentle read, full of incident, engagingly portrayed.

Similar this month: None but try Katie Flynn.
Comparison: Catherine Cookson, Maeve Binchy, Rose Doyle.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Flowers of Ballygrace Synopsis

Kate Flowers has spent all her young life by the banks of the Grand Canal in Ballygrace. Her dreams of becoming a nurse and leaving the quiet countryside of her home have been put aside to concentrate instead on looking after Mary, her widowed mother, as well as keeping an eye on her volatile brother, Brendan, who works on the barges.

Kate's life seems set to be run by the rhythms of the canal. Her days are spent keeping house for the family, with occasional nights out dancing with her friends. But when Brendan introduces her to handsome young boatman, Michael O'Brien, a new life beckons.

Life for the whole Flowers family is about to change - but in ways they could never have imagined, as both joy and tragedy are close at hand. Kate, Mary and Brendan must learn to look again at themselves - and each other - and find love and strength in the most unexpected of places for their family to bloom.

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Closing date: 24/05/2018

Molly Green is back this spring, with the perfect read for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Grantchester'. Celebrating Molly Green's newest release 'An Orphan's War' we are giving away 10 copies of this book to TEN lucky winners. War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love, loss and war.   To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 24 May 2018. The Winners will be notified by 4 June 2018. Good luck!

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Missing Wife
If You Were Me
A Time for Courage
Love Me or Leave Me

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780752881515
Publication date: 13/06/2007
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback (a Format)

Book Information

ISBN: 9780752881515
Publication date: 13th June 2007
Author: Geraldine O'Neill
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback (a Format)
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories:

About Geraldine O'Neill

Geraldine O’Neill grew up in Cleland, a small mining village, in Lanarkshire, Scotland. The second of six children, she was educated in St Mary’s Primary in Cleland then Holy Cross High School in Hamilton. Whilst working as a teacher in the local primary school in Ireland, Geraldine helped start up a local writers’ group which is still going strong 13 years later.  She is an accomplished public speaker, and was President of Tullamore Toastmasters in 2002. She started up a Book Circle in Tullamore which is now in its 6th year, and one of their meetings was broadcast live ...

More About Geraldine O'Neill

More Books By Geraldine O'Neill

Cover for Music Across the Mersey by Geraldine O'Neill
View All Books By Geraldine O'Neill

Share this book