Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Michael Tolliver Lives

by Armistead Maupin

eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Michael Tolliver Lives

At last Armistead Maupin returns to one of his most beloved characters from The Tales of the City series. I don’t know anyone who picked up the first in that series and didn’t immediately have to read all the other ones in quick succession! Although this isn’t the next in that series it is about Michael Tolliver 20 years after we last saw him and there are plenty of characters from the old days to get that warm familiar feeling back. Saying that you don’t have to have read Tales of the City  to thoroughly enjoy this book.

The Tales of the City series
1. Tales of the City

2. More Tales of the City

3. Further Tales of the City

4. Babycakes

5. Significant Others

6. Sure of You 

Michael Tolliver Lives Synopsis

Michael Tolliver, the sweet-spirited Southerner in Armistead Maupin’s classic Tales of the City series, is arguably the most beloved gay character in fiction. Now, almost twenty years after ending his groundbreaking saga of San Francisco life, Maupin revisits his all-too-human hero, letting the 55-year-old gardener tell his story in his own voice.

Having survived the plague that took so many of his friends and lovers, Michael has learned to embrace the random pleasures of life, the tender alliances that sustain him in the hardest of times, Michael Tolliver Lives follows its protagonist as he finds love with a younger man, attends to his dying fundamentalist mother in Florida, and finally reaffirms his allegiance to a wise octogenarian who was once his landlady.

While Maupin insists that this book is not, strictly speaking, a continuation of Tales of the City, a reassuring number of familiar faces appear along the way. As usual, the author’s mordant wit and ear for pitch-perfect dialogue serve every aspect of the story-- from the bawdy to the bittersweet. Michael Tolliver Lives is a novel about the act of growing older joyfully and the everyday miracles that somehow make that possible. 

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Bolds' Great Adventure World Book Day 2018
The Nothing
A Place Called Winter
Love + Hate Stories and Essays

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780385612401
Publication date: 18/06/2007
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780385612401
Publication date: 18th June 2007
Author: Armistead Maupin
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback
Genres: eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction, Relationship Stories,

About Armistead Maupin

Armistead Maupin is the author of Tales of the City, More Tales of the City, Further Tales of the City, Babycakes, Significant Others, Sure of You, Maybe the Moon and The Night Listener. The Night Listener became a feature film starring Robin Williams and Toni Collette. Maupin lives in San Francisco with his husband, Christopher Turner.

More About Armistead Maupin

More Books By Armistead Maupin

Cover for The Days of Anna Madrigal by Armistead Maupin
Cover for The Days of Anna Madrigal by Armistead Maupin
Cover for Mary Ann in Autumn by Armistead Maupin
View All Books By Armistead Maupin

Share this book