LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Women at Hitler's Table

by Rosella Postorino

eBooks of the Month Family Drama Historical Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Women at Hitler's Table

A quietly powerful book containing an inner core of steely strength. Set in the heart of Hitler’s hideaway lair the Wolfsschanze, this story focuses on Rosa, one of ten women chosen to taste his food in case of poison. Inspired by the true story of one of Hitler’s food tasters, and translated from Italian, this penetrating story concentrates on the intimate to highlight the truth of human behaviour and war. Author Rosella Postorino has the beautiful skill of pointing out the hidden in normality to allow a greater understanding. The seemingly simple story connected to my thoughts, she made me think in a different way, to consider the small things that can turn into an avalanche of awareness. There is one point where the very structure of the Nazi salute is dissected and the shock of realisation that hit has stayed with me. The Women at Hitler’s Table is fascinating, haunting, and a worthy read indeed.

Liz Robinson

The Women at Hitler's Table Synopsis

Inspired by the powerful true story of Margot Woelk, this is a heartbreaking and gripping historical novel for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Beekeeper of Aleppo

East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsshanze - his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war and his enemies circle ever closer.

Ten women are chosen.

Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison.

Twenty-six-year-old Rosa has lost everything to this war. Her parents are dead. Her husband is fighting on the front line. Alone and scared, she faces the SS with nothing but the knowledge every bite might be her last.

Caught on the wrong side of history, how far is Rosa willing to go to survive? 

Win a signed copy of Tidelands by Philippa Gregory!

Win a signed copy of Tidelands by Philippa Gregory!

Closing date: 01/03/2020

The paperback of Philippa Gregory's amazing Tidelands is out this month and we have signed copies of the book to give away! "Awash with atmosphere, passion and suspense, this first novel in a new series by the mistress of popular historical fiction is an immersive, entertaining, feminist-spirited feast." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st March 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Women at Hitler's Table Press Reviews

A beautiful story that draws a line between the expressible and the inexpressible. A story with no options and no way out, just like for the protagonists of certain Greek tragedies'

-Valeria Parrella, Grazia

'This book-which speaks of love, hunger, survival and remorse-will end up engraved on your heart'

-Marie Claire Italy

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Mercies
The King's Evil
With Dark Understandings
Destiny's War Part 1: Saladin's Secret

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008388331
Publication date: 20/02/2020
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008377298
Publication date: 01/08/2019
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Ebook

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008377298
Publication date: 1st August 2019
Author: Rosella Postorino
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Ebook
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Historical Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories:

About Rosella Postorino

Rosella Postorino is an internationally bestselling author and an editor. She speaks fluent English, Italian, French, and German. The Women at Hitler's Table is her first novel to be translated into English.

More About Rosella Postorino

More Books By Rosella Postorino

Cover for The Women at Hitler's Table by Rosella Postorino
View All Books By Rosella Postorino

Share this book