LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Librarian of Auschwitz

by Antonio Iturbe

Audiobooks of the Month Historical Fiction

The Librarian of Auschwitz Synopsis

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is the story of the smallest library in the world - and the most dangerous.

'It wasn't an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns...'

Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezín ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious books the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the 'living books' - prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be 'borrowed' to educate the children in the camp.

But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children's block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Alexander's Legacy: To The Strongest
The Binding
Confession with Blue Horses
The German House

All versions of this book

ISBN: B07PWFZ3JH
Publication date: 04/04/2019
Publisher: Random House Audiobooks
Format: Audiobook

Book Information

ISBN: B07PWFZ3JH
Publication date: 4th April 2019
Author: Antonio Iturbe
Publisher: Random House Audiobooks
Format: Audiobook
Genres: Audiobooks of the Month, Historical Fiction,
Categories:

About Antonio Iturbe

Antonio Iturbe lives in Spain, where he is both a novelist and a journalist. In researching The Librarian of Auschwitz, he interviewed Dita Kraus, the real-life librarian of Auschwitz. Lilit Zekulin Thwaites is an award-winning literary translator. After thirty years as an academic at La Trobe University in Australia, she retired from teaching and now focuses primarily on her ongoing translation and research projects. Dita Kraus was born in Prague. In 1942, when Dita was thirteen years old , she and her parents were deported to Ghetto Theresienstadt and later to Auschwitz,. Neither of Dita's parents survived. After the war Dita married ...

More About Antonio Iturbe

More Books By Antonio Iturbe

Cover for The Librarian of Auschwitz The heart-breaking international bestseller based on the incredible true story of Dita Kraus by Antonio Iturbe
View All Books By Antonio Iturbe

Share this book