LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Exact Opposite of Okay

by Laura Steven

Part of the Izzy O'Neill Series

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Relationship Stories

The Exact Opposite of Okay Synopsis

A hilarious, groundbreaking young adult novel for anyone who's ever called themselves a feminist . . . and anyone who hasn't. For fans of Louise O'Neill, Holly Bourne and Amy Schumer.

Izzy O'Neill here! Impoverished orphan, aspiring comedian and Slut Extraordinaire, if the gossip sites are anything to go by . . .

Izzy never expected to be eighteen and internationally reviled. But when explicit photos involving her, a politician's son and a garden bench are published online, the trolls set out to take her apart. Armed with best friend Ajita and a metric ton of nachos, she tries to laugh it off - but as the daily slut-shaming intensifies, she soon learns the way the world treats teenage girls is not okay. It's the Exact Opposite of Okay.

Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave and necessary read. For readers of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Doing It by Hannah Witton and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo.

Win a SIGNED copy of The Devil's Apprentice by Kenneth B. Andersen

Win a SIGNED copy of The Devil's Apprentice by Kenneth B. Andersen

Closing date: 30/06/2019

The Devil's Apprentice is the first in the Danish best-selling Great Devil War fantasy series by Kenneth B. Andersen and we have THREE SIGNED copies to give away to our lucky readers! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30 June 2019. The winners will be notified by 12 July 2019. Good luck!

Enter Now

The Exact Opposite of Okay Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

This book is honestly one of the best teen fiction texts of our time. Truly inventive, hard-hitting and relatable. Full review

Rebecca Milne

The Exact Opposite of Okay Press Reviews

'Funny, unapologetic and shameless in the best possible way, this is a YA heroine (and book) that you've never seen before' - Louise O'Neill, award-winning author of Asking for It

'This book will make you laugh out loud, nod in agreement, cringe with recognition, and stand up and cheer. I adored it' - Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones

'I LOVED this book! A really smart, relevant and switched-on exploration of teen sexuality, gender and slut-shaming' - Katherine Woodfine, bestselling author of The Sinclair's Mysteries

 

If you loved this, you might like these...

Queen of Air and Darkness
Call It What You Want
Tulip Taylor
The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405288446
Publication date: 08/03/2018
Publisher: Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405288446
Publication date: 8th March 2018
Author: Laura Steven
Publisher: Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's / Teenage),

About Laura Steven

Laura Steven is an author, journalist and screenwriter from the northernmost town in England. She has an MA in Creative Writing and works at a non-profit organisation supporting women in the creative arts. Her TV pilot, Clickbait, was a finalist in British Comedy's 2016 Sitcom Mission. The Exact Opposite of Okay is her first book for young adults.

More About Laura Steven

Share this book