LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Exact Opposite of Okay

by Laura Steven

Part of the Izzy O'Neill Series

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Humour (fiction) Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Exact Opposite of Okay

A witty, sharp, provocative tale full of heart… this is a book that made me smile and ache with sadness, sometimes at the same time. 18 year old Izzy O’Neill finds that the world is bewildering place when explicit photos of her with a politicians son emerge online. Why is she is the one who is trolled, bullied, torn apart in the press? Thank goodness for her friends! Laura Steven has created a spiky, sharp-shooting, wonderfully endearing character in Izzy. Her diary-like entries are vividly expressive, and full of humour and attitude. I wanted to shout and berate the unfairness of the situation, to fling out my arms in protection. Written for Young Adults, I would recommend this for older teens and upwards. Teenagers and adults alike should be aware of the importance of what is written here. The Exact Opposite of Okay is an edgy, penetrating, thoughtful read with a very pertinent sting, I simply adored it.

Liz Robinson

The Exact Opposite of Okay Synopsis

A hilarious, groundbreaking young adult novel for anyone who's ever called themselves a feminist . . . and anyone who hasn't. For fans of Louise O'Neill, Holly Bourne and Amy Schumer.

Izzy O'Neill here! Impoverished orphan, aspiring comedian and Slut Extraordinaire, if the gossip sites are anything to go by . . .

Izzy never expected to be eighteen and internationally reviled. But when explicit photos involving her, a politician's son and a garden bench are published online, the trolls set out to take her apart. Armed with best friend Ajita and a metric ton of nachos, she tries to laugh it off - but as the daily slut-shaming intensifies, she soon learns the way the world treats teenage girls is not okay. It's the Exact Opposite of Okay.

Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave and necessary read. For readers of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Doing It by Hannah Witton and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo.

The Exact Opposite of Okay Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

This book is honestly one of the best teen fiction texts of our time. Truly inventive, hard-hitting and relatable. Full review

Rebecca Milne

The Exact Opposite of Okay Press Reviews

'Funny, unapologetic and shameless in the best possible way, this is a YA heroine (and book) that you've never seen before' - Louise O'Neill, award-winning author of Asking for It

'This book will make you laugh out loud, nod in agreement, cringe with recognition, and stand up and cheer. I adored it' - Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones

'I LOVED this book! A really smart, relevant and switched-on exploration of teen sexuality, gender and slut-shaming' - Katherine Woodfine, bestselling author of The Sinclair's Mysteries

 

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Red Scrolls of Magic
The Angel of Evil
Jackpot
Chessboxer

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405288446
Publication date: 08/03/2018
Publisher: Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405288446
Publication date: 8th March 2018
Author: Laura Steven
Publisher: Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Humour, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's / Teenage),

About Laura Steven

Laura Steven is an author, journalist and screenwriter from the northernmost town in England. She has an MA in Creative Writing and works at a non-profit organisation supporting women in the creative arts. Her TV pilot, Clickbait, was a finalist in British Comedy's 2016 Sitcom Mission. The Exact Opposite of Okay is her first book for young adults.

More About Laura Steven

Share this book