Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Swords of Silence: Book 1: The Swords of Fire Trilogy

by Shaun Curry

Fantasy Historical Fiction

Swords of Silence: Book 1: The Swords of Fire Trilogy Synopsis

In Hizen Province, Father Joaquim Martinez has been quietly tending to the life of his village - but his faith is about to be tested. When the country's military dictator - the Shogun - outlaws Martinez's religion, his and the villagers' lives are thrown into turmoil. Where once new ideas and beliefs had been accepted - with European Jesuits welcoming more than 100,000 converts into the Catholic faith - now the nation is shutting itself off from outside influences.

Those who won't recant or accept banishment face a sentence of death. With the threat of a massacre looming, and the Shogun's Samurai closing in, Father Martinez must decide if he's willing to risk everything for the villagers he's come to think of as family. The Swords of Fire Trilogy, set in 17th century Japan, is inspired by actual historical events.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Prince of Mirrors
The Serpent's Mark
An Unsuitable Woman
Becoming Mrs. Lewis

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780310101307
Publication date: 19/09/2019
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780310101307
Publication date: 19th September 2019
Author: Shaun Curry
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Genres: Fantasy, Historical Fiction,

About Shaun Curry

More About Shaun Curry

Share this book