LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

We Are Blood And Thunder

by Kesia Lupo

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Sci-Fi and Fantasy

LoveReading View on We Are Blood And Thunder

This lithe and lucidly lyrical debut is a delectable treat for fans of inventive, trope-busting fantasy. 

Seventeen-year-old Lena is a cryptling, a person “marked out by their various deformities”. In Lena’s case, this is a dark birthmark on her face. She lives in Duke’s Forest, a magic-loathing, sealed-off city situated beneath a deadly storm cloud. And now Lena’s on the run. Accused of being a mage, she’s been sentenced to death and is desperate to flee Duke’s Forest. Meanwhile, on the other side of the barrier Constance wants to get back inside the city she fled before her own magical powers were discovered. The two women meet when Lena manages to escape, and their alternating narratives make for an un-put-down-able reading experience as it emerges that the storm cloud is actually a spell, and that they alone possess the power to quell it.

Immersive world building, intriguing characters, unexpected twists – this is a smart and atmospheric debut from an author to watch, and comes recommended for fans of Sarah J Maas and Melinda Salisbury.

 

Joanne Owen

We Are Blood And Thunder Synopsis

A stunning and original YA fantasy from a fantastic new talent. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor

In a sealed-off city, a young woman, Lena, is running for her life. She has been sentenced to death and her only way to survive is to trust those she has been brought up to fear - those with magic. On the other side of the locked gates is a masked lady, Constance, determined to find a way back in. Years ago she escaped before her own powers were discovered. But now she won't hide who she is any longer. A powerful and terrifying storm cloud engulfs the city. But this is more than a thunderstorm. This is a spell, and the truth behind why it has been cast is more sinister than anyone can imagine ...

But what neither Lena and Constance realise is that the stormcloud binds them - without it, without each other, neither can get what they desire...

Win A Signed Copy of The House Without Windows

Win A Signed Copy of The House Without Windows

Closing date: 31/10/2019

We have 3 signed copies of The House Without Windows to give away in this brilliant competition! "There are times when someone suggests you make a discovery, a finding that fills your heart and makes it ache. Award-winning Jackie Morris does exactly that here as she introduces the reader, not only to The House Without Windows, but also the author behind the tale." Liz Robison, Expert Reviewer Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st October 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

Starve Acre
In the Time We Lost
Ninth House
The House Without Windows

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408898055
Publication date: 04/04/2019
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408898055
Publication date: 4th April 2019
Author: Kesia Lupo
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Sci-Fi and Fantasy,
Categories: Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage), General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Fantasy, Fantasy romance, Thrillers (Children's / Teenage), Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage),

About Kesia Lupo

Kesia Lupo studied history at Oxford University and creative writing at Bath Spa. She lives in Bristol with her husband and works as a children's book editor, writing in the mornings before work. We Are Blood and Thunder is her first novel.

More About Kesia Lupo

Share this book