10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books.

We Are Blood And Thunder

"Magic * Secrets * Female-led fantasy 13+/YA"

View All Editions

£7.99 £7.19

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

LoveReading Says

LoveReading Says

This lithe and lucidly lyrical debut is a delectable treat for fans of inventive, trope-busting fantasy. 

Seventeen-year-old Lena is a cryptling, a person “marked out by their various deformities”. In Lena’s case, this is a dark birthmark on her face. She lives in Duke’s Forest, a magic-loathing, sealed-off city situated beneath a deadly storm cloud. And now Lena’s on the run. Accused of being a mage, she’s been sentenced to death and is desperate to flee Duke’s Forest. Meanwhile, on the other side of the barrier Constance wants to get back inside the city she fled before her own magical powers were discovered. The two women meet when Lena manages to escape, and their alternating narratives make for an un-put-down-able reading experience as it emerges that the storm cloud is actually a spell, and that they alone possess the power to quell it.

Immersive world building, intriguing characters, unexpected twists – this is a smart and atmospheric debut from an author to watch, and comes recommended for fans of Sarah J Maas and Melinda Salisbury.

 

Joanne Owen

Find This Book In

Primary Genre Fantasy
Other Genres:

About

Author

You Might Also Like...

Twilight - Twilight Saga Book 1

Stephenie Meyer

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

Storm Glass

Maria V Snyder

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99