LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Witches of St. Petersburg

by Imogen Edwards-Jones

Books of the Month Fantasy Historical Fiction

The Witches of St. Petersburg Synopsis

Brimming with black magic, sex and intrigue, a gorgeous historical novel for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Santa Montefiore.

The Russian Empire is on the verge of collapse. Revolution is in the air. The starving stalk the streets of St Petersburg and yet the Imperial Court still commute between their estates and organise their lavish balls. Two sisters arrive in the city. Princesses from Montenegro; they are famed for their wild beauty and mystical powers. Initially ridiculed and outcast as the daughters of a provincial 'Goat King', they react in the only way they know how. They befriend the isolated Tsarina Alexandra and, using their gifts, they help her in her increasingly desperate quest to give birth to a son and heir. The circle closes. The girls are the gateway. Gurus, clairvoyants, holy fools and charlatans all try their luck. Then in one last, doomed, throw of the dice, the sisters introduce Rasputin into the Russian Court... Based on the true story of the lives of Princess Militza and Princess Anastasia of Montenegro during the dying days of the Russian Empire, The Witches of St Petersburg is a tale of love, lust, power and betrayal at the heart of the Romanov Court. 

The Witches of St. Petersburg Press Reviews

'Sumptuous historical saga of intrigue and black magic in the time of Rasputin' i Newspaper.

'Rasputin rocks the Romanovs! A richly imagined glimpse into the bizarre world of the Russian court ... A rip-roaring read' Daisy Goodwin.

'With precision and razor-sharp accuracy ... A brilliant take on the historical novel' Candace Bushell.

'Sumptuous, sexy and haunting. I adored this novel' Santa Montefiore.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Swords of Silence: Book 1: The Swords of Fire Trilogy
The Serpent's Mark
An Unsuitable Woman
Becoming Mrs. Lewis

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781788544023
Publication date: 25/10/2018
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788544023
Publication date: 25th October 2018
Author: Imogen Edwards-Jones
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Fantasy, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical fiction,

About Imogen Edwards-Jones

Imogen Edwards-Jones studied Russian at Bristol University. Her first book The Taming of Eagles was about the first 100 days of the collapse of communism. A writer and journalist, she has travelled extensively within the old Soviet Union, studying in Kiev. She is the author of twenty books including the best-selling Babylon series. She is married with two children, lives in London, is a member of the London College of Psychic Studies and an honorary Cossack.

More About Imogen Edwards-Jones

Share this book