LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

A Sacred Storm

by Theodore (Author) Brun

Part of the The Wanderer Chronicles Series

Fantasy Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on A Sacred Storm

A brilliantly conceived Viking epic set in eighth-century Sweden. Bernard Cornwall meets George R.R. Martin in this ambitious, masterful series.

 

Action-packed, evocative and impressively grand in scope, this second installment of The Wanderer Chronicles is a veritable feast of character-driven Viking verve, fusing fantasy with history, and blending detail with brilliant broad brushstroke atmosphere. 

The time and place is 8th century Sweden. Viking Erlan Aurvandil has pledged to serve Sviggar, King of the Sveärs and enemy of Harald Wartooth, King of the Danes. Thus when Wartooth stirs the embers of an ancient feud, Erlan is bound by his oath to remain loyal to Sviggar. Alongside struggles of allegiance, and the brutalities of battlefield conflict, high-stake conflicts of the heart also come into play when the King’s daughter falls for Erlan. Further trying tests of loyalty ensue as the violence escalates, with both the battle scenes and personal struggles evoked with sword-sharp precision. Certainly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwall and George RR Martin, this is a highly readable epic of Shakespearean proportions, with a lightness of touch and sense of otherworldly mystery dancing alongside the high drama of torn loyalties and tragedy.

Joanne Owen

A Sacred Storm Synopsis

Bound by honour. Haunted by loss. 8th Century Sweden: Erlan Aurvandil, a Viking outlander, has pledged his sword to Sviggar Ivarsson, King of the Svears, and sworn enemy of the Danish king Harald Wartooth. But Wartooth, hungry for power, is stirring violence in the borderlands. As the fires of this ancient feud are reignited Erlan is bound by honour and oath to stand with King Sviggar. But, unbeknownst to the old King his daughter, Princess Lilla, has fallen under Erlan's spell. As the armies gather Erlan and Lilla must choose between their duty to Sviggar and their love for each other. Blooded young, betrayed often, Erlan is no stranger to battle. And hidden in the shadows, there are always those determined to bring about the maelstrom of war...

Win a signed copy of The Confessions of Frannie Langton and a packet of Georgian-themed treats!

Win a signed copy of The Confessions of Frannie Langton and a packet of Georgian-themed treats!

Closing date: 02/05/2019

"Gripping Georgian crime scandal, passionate love, powerful Jamaican slave narrative - this consummate debut is a dazzling set of nesting dolls, a multi-layered triumph of storytelling." Joanne Owen, Editorial Expert. We have a signed copy of The Confessions of Frannie Langton to give away. This lucky winner will also receive a packet of Georigian-themed treats for you to enjoy while you devour this brilliant debut! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 2nd May 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

A Sacred Storm Press Reviews

A brilliantly conceived Viking epic set in eighth-century Sweden. Bernard Cornwall meets George R.R. Martin in this ambitious, masterful series.

 

Action-packed, evocative and impressively grand in scope, this second installment of The Wanderer Chronicles is a veritable feast of character-driven Viking verve, fusing fantasy with history, and blending detail with brilliant broad brushstroke atmosphere. 

The time and place is 8th century Sweden. Viking Erlan Aurvandil has pledged to serve Sviggar, King of the Sveärs and enemy of Harald Wartooth, King of the Danes. Thus when Wartooth stirs the embers of an ancient feud, Erlan is bound by his oath to remain loyal to Sviggar. Alongside struggles of allegiance, and the brutalities of battlefield conflict, high-stake conflicts of the heart also come into play when the King’s daughter falls for Erlan. Further trying tests of loyalty ensue as the violence escalates, with both the battle scenes and personal struggles evoked with sword-sharp precision. Certainly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwall and George RR Martin, this is a highly readable epic of Shakespearean proportions, with a lightness of touch and sense of otherworldly mystery dancing alongside the high drama of torn loyalties and tragedy.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Serpent's Mark
Becoming Mrs. Lewis
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
The Moon Sister

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781786490018
Publication date: 07/06/2018
Publisher: Atlantic Books
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781786490018
Publication date: 7th June 2018
Author: Theodore (Author) Brun
Publisher: Atlantic Books
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 704 pages
Genres: Fantasy, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Fantasy, Historical fiction,

About Theodore (Author) Brun

Theodore Brun studied Dark Age archaeology at Cambridge. In 2010, he quit his job as an arbitration lawyer in Hong Kong and cycled 10,000 miles across Asia and Europe to his home in Norfolk. A Sacred Storm is his second novel.

More About Theodore (Author) Brun

Share this book