Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Boy Who Saw

by Simon Toyne

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Books of the Month - <b>September</b> Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Boy Who Saw

April 2018 Book of the Month

In Solomon Creed we were introduced to a mysterious hero, a Jack Reacher/Superman cross with shades of Jason Bourne.  This is his second adventure which, if you’ve not read the first you will certainly be compelled to do so after this.  He is an unusual and involving hero who may or may not be linked to an ancient tomb some 4000 years old or the holocaust now 70 years ago.  He has no memory but an inner drive to do things the reason for which he has no inkling.  I love him.  Here he knows he must save a boy and in doing so unearths a sinister plot with links to the German Reich and the end of the war.  It opens with a gruesome murder of an old Jewish tailor and it is this man’s grandson Solomon must save.  Along with the child’s mother they flee across France in search of three other Jews who survived with the old tailor.  Wonderful chase scenes, near capture, many tense moments and lots of action before they do eventually find one of the other survivors.  Now comes the twist as the plot is turned on its head and an extraordinary confession is revealed.  Wonderful stuff.  We learn lots more about Solomon.  He has escaped a mental institution and is under the care of a Doctor Megellen who does seem awfully sinister!  The plot thickens.  Solomon has extraordinary mental abilities of memory and smell plus fighting skills and superfast reactions.  There is indeed a great mystery surrounding the man which definitely draws you into wanting the next.  Let’s hope it is not too long in coming.  Hugely compelling and highly recommended. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

Sarah Broadhurst

The Boy Who Saw Synopsis

The electrifying new thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author, Simon Toyne. Only one boy can see the darkness. Only one man can save him from it. `Perfect for fans of Lee Child' SUN A MURDER An elderly tailor is found tortured and murdered in the ancient town of Cordes. Written in blood beside the body are the words: FINISHING WHAT WAS BEGUN. A SECRET But the dead man has left a cryptic message for his granddaughter and her son, Leo - one that puts them in immediate danger. A RACE They are forced to go on the run, accompanied by the enigmatic Solomon Creed. What began as small-town murder becomes a race to uncover a devastating secret dating from World War II. The few men who know the truth are being killed by a powerful organization, and only one man stands in its way. Only Solomon Creed can stop the murders. Only he can save the boy.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

The Boy Who Saw Press Reviews

'Wow, what a book. I thought it was powerful and innovative, a riveting blend of action and quest that takes the thriller into territory where thrillers rarely venture' - Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London

'Tense, nail-biting and exciting. The Boy Who Saw is a heart-in-the-mouth race against time thriller and I couldn't put it down. Solomon Creed is one hell of a hero and Simon Toyne is one hell of a writer' - C L Taylor

'Tense, intriguing, mysterious ... everything you could want in a thriller. Toyne has done it again' - Paul Finch, Bestselling author of Strangers

'Emotionally powerful, utterly engaging, beautifully layered, Simon Toyne's new series takes thriller writing to another level. Give me more Solomon Creed!' - Sarah Pinborough, No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

'Simon Toyne is one of my favourites. In Solomon Creed, he's created a hero for the ages. A word of warning: if you have anything else to get done, don't crack open a Toyne thriller' - Gregg Hurwitz, No .1 Sunday Times bestselling author of The Nowhere Man

'The Boy Who Saw is the Pandora's Box of books - once opened it cannot be closed. Toyne's writing brings effortless fluency combined with heart-pounding action. Readers beware ... this is a glorious terror of a tale' - Helen Fields



If you loved this, you might like these...

Origin (Robert Langdon Book 5)
The Midnight Line (Jack Reacher 22)
No Middle Name The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Stories
The Midnight Line (Jack Reacher 22)

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007551651
Publication date: 19/04/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007551668
Publication date: 15/06/2017
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007551651
Publication date: 19th April 2018
Author: Simon Toyne
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 544 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Books of the Month, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Adventure,

About Simon Toyne

Simon Toyne is the bestselling author of the Sanctus trilogy: Sanctus, The Key and The Tower. He wrote Sanctus after quitting his job as a TV executive to focus on writing. It was the biggest selling debut thriller of 2011 in the UK and an international bestseller. His books have been translated into 27 languages and published in over 50 countries. The Boy Who Saw is the second book in a new series of epic thrillers that will span the world and centre around the enigmatic Solomon Creed. Author photo © Toby Madden

More About Simon Toyne

More Books By Simon Toyne

Cover for The Boy Who Saw by Simon Toyne
Cover for Solomon Creed by Simon Toyne
Cover for Solomon Creed by Simon Toyne
View All Books By Simon Toyne

Share this book